We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Grand Mayan was a wonderful experience. The water slide, lazy river and the wave pools were so much fun. The jungle walk was incredibly beautiful. The variety of quality resteraunts would please anyone. The event staff had something for you to do at all times, or you could find a quiet corner and do nothing.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwilli3038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear dwilli3038 :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, the pools, grounds and We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.
Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,654
    814
    362
    158
    150
See reviews for
1,574
786
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My girlfriends and I just returned from the Grand Mayan NV. We have stayed at 3 other Mayan resorts so we have a good idea of the "Mayan experience". Background info on the property - the Mayan is connected to 2 other resorts (Lux & Bliss) & there are shuttles that will take you where ever you want to go on any of the 3 properties. This is one of the things that impressed us is that we never waited more than 2-3 minutes for a shuttle during our week trip.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom, which was comparably to other GM resorts. We like that the room has multiple sink & "work stations" so that multiple people can get ready at the same time. I will say that the king bed was VERY HARD so if you have back issues, you may have a difficult time sleeping. The pull out couches were comfortable & the air/fans worked extremely well.

The resort is EXTREMELY clean & staff work very hard to keep it that way. I will say that there was a cleaning agent that was used in our room (& throughout the resort) that instantly gave me a headache, so when we would return to the room after housekeeping was there, we immediately had to open the sliding doors to air the place out.

We like to go off property to get a feel for the local flare, but we did eat at the resort for a few meals. The food was excellent (especially the Italian restaurant), but we did feel that the prices were a little steep. We were not especially impressed with the quality of drinks at the restaurant or the pool.

The pools & beach area had plenty of chairs & space so you could choose if you wanted to be in the shade or sun.

Since we did not agree to participate in the time share talk (& we are not Mayan owners), they put us in a room on the back side of the resort facing the parking deck, which was fine with us - we don't spend a tremendous amount of time there anyway. Also, the internet charge was ridiculous - something like $98 per week - that's just crazy. We don't sit on our devices all day/night, but it would have been nice to be able to check in every once in a while, but we didn't at those prices. Again - not a deal breaker for us - just something to be aware of. I would recommend the tower we stayed in (can't remember the exact name but it was the tower where check in was located). We felt like it was in the center of everything.

Each of us got massages, which I would describe as average. The spa area was nice & had options like the hydro pool, sauna, whirlpool, etc. that you could use before your treatment.

The resort is a 1 stop shop - you never have to leave. They have a grocery store, pharmacy, flower shop, alcohol store, jewelry shop, ice cream shop, craft venue all on the property; but you pay for the convenience. We went to Walmart to pick up a few supplies ($7 taxi ride/10 minute ride) & went downtown Puerto Vallarta ($18 taxi ride/20-25 minute ride) because there is not much around NV - they don't have a "downtown area", which we were disappointed in. We probably wouldn't stay at this resort again since it was out of the way & only for that reason. Otherwise, if you don't want to venture off the property, this is the place for you. Great/helpful staff, clean property, great food & overall very relaxing.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower where check-in is located & the higher the floor the better the view & les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank illinoisworkaholic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear illinoisworkaholic1 :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, the spa and you perceived the resort’s cleanliness. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice hotel, the complex of hotels is very nice, the restaurants are great specially Del Lago for breakfast is just awesome, the other restaurants are a little bit expensive. The plaza is great option for shopping the prices are not so different from the ones that you get outside. Rooms are

Transportation can be a little bit delayed but if you request it to any personnel they would help you.

All personnel is caring about your needs and have a big smile when helping, really helpful.

Room Tip: Better to get a sea view room, if you are not able to get it a lower room would have a better view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalo_estebanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Lalo_estebanes :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options and The Plaza. It is nice to learn you think our property is beautiful.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We are always happy to find out we have achieved this.

It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our check in at the Grand Mayan was easy and Luis at the front desk was most helpful. The door that separates the 1bedroom from the studio (2nd bedroom) was locked, so we called the front desk and maintenance was there in 5 minutes to fix it. I was impressed with the followup call to insure all was okay. The room was immaculate and the fabulous pools and excellent service are what you'd expect at a five star resort in Mexico. The breakfast buffet at Cafe Del Lago is marvelous and absolutely not to be missed. The cost of the burgers at Custom Burger are a bit steep but the atmosphere and quality of the food more than make up for it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uptik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Uptik:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your stay with us at The Grand Mayan. We are happy you enjoyed our food options and we are happy to receive your kind comment about our staff, as they always look to exceed all our guests’ expectations. We are certain Luis will gladly receive your feedback.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a very clean resort, rooms were very nice and spacious. Best pools ever with a bar in the middle of the pool. Just really relaxing! the staff was nice and helpful. The food was exceptional of course GONG was my favorite, then Havanna Moon, the Punta Arena but never no need to leave unless you are headed to Walmart for room snacks which you should because the supermarket on the resort is pricey... We will def.. return to the Grand Mayan.

Room Tip: We had the one bedroon suite with a plunge pool on the balcony and jacuzzi in the bedroom very fun!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kakes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Kakes K :
Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, you perceived the resort’s cleanliness and thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand Mayan with a couple that traded their timeshare for a week here. It was a lovely resort with a ton of pools, two swim up bars and a great beach.

Time share staff: Everyone was right - they don't let you check in without the sales pitch. We were ready for them - didn't want to give up 4 hours of a 5 day vacation. We had to say "no thanks," many times - but then were left alone. NOTE: If you say "no," be prepared to ask someone other than the timeshare folks (the last people you talk with) directions to your room. They literally told us the opposite direction. Good grief.

We stayed in May and it wasn't crowded at all, which was really nice. Our 2-bedroom suite was huge and lovely. We were worried it was really far away...and it was a ways away from the front entrance, but super close to the pools and beach which was much preferred by our group. The landscaping and grounds of the resort were amazing. We didn't have any children, so avoided all kid-like pools and it was great.

We bought some groceries and beer at the on-site grocery store, which was a little more expensive than normal but not bad. We had grand plans to check out some off-site restaurants (recommended on various forums here) but since we were only on vacation for 5 days we ended up staying on the resort for the whole time. We had a small breakfast and then took advantage of the two happy hours at the pool - 12:00 noon and 5:00 (bless them). The poolside food is pretty good...sandwiches, hamburgers, tacos, etc.

I was disappointed by the onsite resort restaurants. We at out at Havana Moon one night - beautiful setting, but the cuban sandwich was not very good and service was very slow. Ate at Gong - which was fine, but nothing amazing. Ended up eating poolside or ordering pizza room delivery the rest of the time. (do not recommend the pizza). That being said - after 5-6 days, our room bill was much less than I expected for food and drinks by the pool every day.

Great place to sit back and relax, unplug, etc. Beautiful location with the ocean and mountains. Beach is super clean and has lots of chairs and umbrellas. Pools are great. I wouldn't want to be here if this place was "full capacity," but mid-May was a great time for weather and not a lot of people. Very good recommendation. Perfect for our needs for less than a full week vacation. Getting off the resort was more difficult than it should be. For a short trip - that fine. Any longer though and that might have been more of an issue for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsmbridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Dsmbridget :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased you enjoyed our beautiful landscaping, grounds, pools, the beach and some our food options.

We are grateful for your feedback and hope you allow us to host your vacations again.

With all good wishes,
.

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klamath falls
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The best pools I have ever seen. So very clean. Great restaurant. Great service. Every grand Mayan hotels I have been to has been great. It isn't a all inclusive but the food is so great quality that it's worth paying individual. We do not spend as much at a all inclusive because we do not drink. Also you do not gain that extra 10 lbs lol

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazydonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Crazydonak :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities, the pools and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We are always happy to find out we have achieved this.

It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Property: The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing