We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for our first time to Mexico!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Grand Mayan and the other resorts on the property are absolutely beautiful. The landscaping is stunning. Our room was amazing! We did say yes to the time share gig so that we could upgrade to an ocean view-worth the wasted morning (although they are very persistent don't like to take a "no" for an answer). Restaurants were very good but expensive. We had a kitchen in our room so we bought groceries from Walmart and ate breakfast, lunch, and some dinners in (no barbecues or ovens, just a range top, microwave, and fridge.
All the employees working there were so friendly. The only really bad thing are the beds. Very hard!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Valerie V :
Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn our staff’s service was efficient. They work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most enjoyable experience ever. It is pleasing to learn that you also enjoyed our food options and the breathtaking landscape.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,558 - 1,564 of 3,559 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a great family trip to Neuvo Vallarta. We love the Grand Mayan and all they have to offer. Very nice facility, great pools, great service, nice beaches and excellent staff! We had a very relaxing time. Just what the doctor ordered!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Shannon S :
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our pools, the facilities and really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very good hotel is special for the whole family and for all occasion
And the price is worked
And the food is amazing and they make the most effort to meek your stadia very comfortable try and you will see the deference

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blancag63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Blancag63:
We are pleased you chose to stay at The Grand Mayan for your vacation. We are delighted to find out that you enjoyed our resort.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have been going to the Mayan resort for probably 8 years, and that must be like "dog years" in the timeshare w orld, because the resort has changed SO rapidly in that that time period. It used to be quiet and low key, now it has become very elaborate, and there are plans to make it more so. First I will say that we always enjoy our stay there. We are members of the Grand Mayan, and we love the hotel, and we like the extremely firm mattress, and it doesn't bother us not to have an ocean view, because we stay at the pool (the quite Mayan Palace pool) all day anyway. The staff are always super friendly, and the resort is always sparklingly clean. With the creation of "Grand Luxxe" etc, the resort has really expanded. I recognized hardly anything since the last time I had visited which was 3 years ago. We loved the new creperie with espresso bar, and the boutique had a greatly expanded selection of women's clothing, even though I didn't buy anything.
Second, I will say that if you don't want to take a sizable chunk out of one of your vacation days, then don't do the "owners update". I actually wanted an update, so I did it, and found out the plans for expansion, and Cirque du Soleil, which is already starting at Riviera Maya location. But the managers do not want to hear "no" when you don't want to "upgrade" your membership, and that is tiring. It is impossible to escape. My assigned customer service agent Melia was very nice. But is takes a lot longer than the advertised 90 minutes to get "updated".
Third, I will say that my husband and I really enjoyed the meals at the resort. We ate at Punta Arena twice and had delicious seafood. Probably more expensive than if we had taken a taxi out somewhere, but it was nice to walk to the restaurant along the beautiful ocean and to sit right next to the ocean and enjoy a delicious meal then walk back. We also enjoyed Tramanto and the chocolate lava cake dessert (our favorite dessert anywhere in the world) and also Havana Moon. Poolside lunch at the Mayan Palace pool was very good too.
The reason I give the resort a "4" instead of a "5" is due to the growth. Compared to how it used to be, it almost seems like they are taking it too far. If you like a large resort, you will like it just fine. The resort NEVER feels crowded even when it is full, except maybe at the chairs around the Grand Mayan pool.

Room Tip: I don't think you have a choice over an ocean front room vs city/ mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear snowy_and_sunny :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our food options at the new creperie, Punta arena, Tramonto and Havana Moon. We are happy as well that you liked pools, and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!


Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Grand Mayan was a wonderful experience. The water slide, lazy river and the wave pools were so much fun. The jungle walk was incredibly beautiful. The variety of quality resteraunts would please anyone. The event staff had something for you to do at all times, or you could find a quiet corner and do nothing.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwilli3038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear dwilli3038 :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, the pools, grounds and We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.
Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My girlfriends and I just returned from the Grand Mayan NV. We have stayed at 3 other Mayan resorts so we have a good idea of the "Mayan experience". Background info on the property - the Mayan is connected to 2 other resorts (Lux & Bliss) & there are shuttles that will take you where ever you want to go on any of the 3 properties. This is one of the things that impressed us is that we never waited more than 2-3 minutes for a shuttle during our week trip.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom, which was comparably to other GM resorts. We like that the room has multiple sink & "work stations" so that multiple people can get ready at the same time. I will say that the king bed was VERY HARD so if you have back issues, you may have a difficult time sleeping. The pull out couches were comfortable & the air/fans worked extremely well.

The resort is EXTREMELY clean & staff work very hard to keep it that way. I will say that there was a cleaning agent that was used in our room (& throughout the resort) that instantly gave me a headache, so when we would return to the room after housekeeping was there, we immediately had to open the sliding doors to air the place out.

We like to go off property to get a feel for the local flare, but we did eat at the resort for a few meals. The food was excellent (especially the Italian restaurant), but we did feel that the prices were a little steep. We were not especially impressed with the quality of drinks at the restaurant or the pool.

The pools & beach area had plenty of chairs & space so you could choose if you wanted to be in the shade or sun.

Since we did not agree to participate in the time share talk (& we are not Mayan owners), they put us in a room on the back side of the resort facing the parking deck, which was fine with us - we don't spend a tremendous amount of time there anyway. Also, the internet charge was ridiculous - something like $98 per week - that's just crazy. We don't sit on our devices all day/night, but it would have been nice to be able to check in every once in a while, but we didn't at those prices. Again - not a deal breaker for us - just something to be aware of. I would recommend the tower we stayed in (can't remember the exact name but it was the tower where check in was located). We felt like it was in the center of everything.

Each of us got massages, which I would describe as average. The spa area was nice & had options like the hydro pool, sauna, whirlpool, etc. that you could use before your treatment.

The resort is a 1 stop shop - you never have to leave. They have a grocery store, pharmacy, flower shop, alcohol store, jewelry shop, ice cream shop, craft venue all on the property; but you pay for the convenience. We went to Walmart to pick up a few supplies ($7 taxi ride/10 minute ride) & went downtown Puerto Vallarta ($18 taxi ride/20-25 minute ride) because there is not much around NV - they don't have a "downtown area", which we were disappointed in. We probably wouldn't stay at this resort again since it was out of the way & only for that reason. Otherwise, if you don't want to venture off the property, this is the place for you. Great/helpful staff, clean property, great food & overall very relaxing.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower where check-in is located & the higher the floor the better the view & les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank illinoisworkaholic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear illinoisworkaholic1 :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, the spa and you perceived the resort’s cleanliness. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice hotel, the complex of hotels is very nice, the restaurants are great specially Del Lago for breakfast is just awesome, the other restaurants are a little bit expensive. The plaza is great option for shopping the prices are not so different from the ones that you get outside. Rooms are

Transportation can be a little bit delayed but if you request it to any personnel they would help you.

All personnel is caring about your needs and have a big smile when helping, really helpful.

Room Tip: Better to get a sea view room, if you are not able to get it a lower room would have a better view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalo_estebanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Lalo_estebanes :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options and The Plaza. It is nice to learn you think our property is beautiful.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We are always happy to find out we have achieved this.

It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Varadero
Hotel Villa Varadero
#15 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,622 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,297 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Náutico Turístico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 795
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing