We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our first visit”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

During our visit we had a great time. Loved the activities they had, loved the grounds. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Visit the Cafe Del lago Restaurant-Great buffet on the resort grounds. Good food and good prices. Use the golf carts to get to and from on the resort, a very nice feature, esp after choosing to walk day one and two, day three it was nice to just relax and enjoy the ride.

However, rooms with NO microwave, fridge or coffeemaker. It would have been nice to wake up and be able to make a pot of coffee before starting our day and storing a bottle of water in a fridge. And the room smelled like mold. Also know that some of the restaurants on the resort are closed on certain days, and certain times, so read up on that.

Also, there is NO free internet. You have to pay to use your own device (kinda spendy), or use their computers, which they charge a good price to use.

It would have been nice to get a free ride back to the airport, as they offer to pick you up for free when you get off the plane, which is very nice especially after such a long plane ride.

BEWARE-timeshare people say they are ok with you declining, and they will let you go after your time is up, which we were told would take 90min, with no badgering. SO not the case, we were there for 3 hours!

Room Tip: We were not offered a good room, were stuck on the side with the parking garage, was like hearing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boscheec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Boscheec :
Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayan. We are happy you enjoyed our food options, the grounds and really thank you for your kind comment about some our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,724
    831
    364
    159
    152
See reviews for
1,634
803
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second visit and it was even better than the first. The service was impeccable , the staff was so friendly and helpful. When we left I realized my diamond wedding rings were left behind. I immediately called and the management staff jumped right on it. They found my lost rings and had them shipped to me. I was thrilled beyond words. Needless to say, ". We will be back".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Deb H :
Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to find out that our staff was welcoming as this is what we strive for every day. We are happy as well that you recovered your wedding ring.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My mom has been a member of the grupo Vidante since they opened their first hotel and our last visit to the Grand Mayan in June 2014 left us with the impression that they only want to drain customers' wallets while,providing a bad service. Don't get me wrong there are some valuable people that provide excellent customer service like the manager Alejandro at the front desk who was able to solve our problems and the entertainment group by the pool that really want you to have a good time. Greetings to Chino and Gio by the way. Anyway my fists complain is that it basically takes 30 minutes just to get out of the resort. New changes were made and the valet parking is far away from the hotel. You have to give them the keys of your car then you have to walk through a bar called "santuario" just to be able to ride a golf cart that takes you to the actual hotel. It is exhausting and complicated especially for older people. Also people were able to leave the hotel to buy groceries to the nearby super market by the service door that allowed you to walk about two blocks to the store, but now that door is closed to guests and you have to ride two golf carts that will take you to the main entrance and then walk about 1 km to the store. I'm not kidding but it will take you about an hour just to do that. Another complaint is that they charge $25 pesos per box (a grey plastic container) pesos to take your groceries from your car to your room. Your average shopping haul may use up to 4 boxes, that means that you have to pay 100 pesos just to have your groceries taken to your room! That is ridiculous since it is not guests' fault that the valet parking is far from the hotel. This service should be provided for free since it is the guests that experience the nuisance and discomfort of having to walk and then ride a golf cart just to get to the hotel. The internet fee is ridiculous too. Most hotels in the area like Sheraton provide wifi for free while the Grand Mayan wants to charge you $300 dollars for a week of the service.... Be aware of hidden fees like water bottles and coffee bags from the room. We were charged for them when we didn't even use them. The ladies that cleaned our room also threw away some items like water bottles and containers that we see still using. I called the concierge to complain and they told me that they wee gonna send me a couple of water bottles as an apology for their mistake, but the water bottles never came! Also, when filling the bath tub the water was greenish and disgusting. I only like this hotel because of the lazy river and pool amenities but I will not recommend it to,people that want to explore Nuevo Vallarta or Vallarta because it takes forever to get out of the complex. This resort is more for people that want to chill by the pool and don't go out,

Room Tip: Tip the people from the front desk to get a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Lia S :
We are pleased you chose to stay at The Grand Mayan for your vacation. We are delighted to find out that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. It will be our privilege to share it with them, specifically the staff mentioned.

However, we are disappointed we did not meet all your expectations and learn about the inconveniences experienced while staying with us. For that reason, all pertaining areas will receive your feedback and we will continue working hard to achieve excellence.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit our resort again.

Best regards,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here in June '14, where we had an Ocean View (which we had to attend their presentation to get). The hotel is pristine with amazing amenities, awesome pools, and excellent service.

The resort was very loud at night, not necessarily from guests. All night long you could hear the pool pumps running, staff cleaning, and halls echoed anytime somebody walked through them. The beds were hard and not very comfortable.

Their are very few restaurants in the area off grounds, meaning you were stuck to eat at one of the overpriced eateries on resort property. Just to give you an example of pricing, a hamburger at "Custom Burger" was minimum $18, not including fries or drink. The burger shop was the most reasonable, everything else just went up from their.

The grounds look amazing and we had fun, but I would not stay in this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesW7967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear JamesW7967:

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to know you liked our premises and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

We are surprised to learn about the inconveniences experienced. Your observations will be shared with all areas concerned as guest feedback is important to us, and ultimately is how we measure our success. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

We hope you allow us to make your next stay an unforgettable one.

Warmest regards,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We travel to the Mayan Resort twice a year and stay four or five weeks. We always have a good time, and the last few times we have upgraded. Kimberlee Wolfe has been our sales lady, and we have been well satisfied with the direction our ownership has taken. Our favorite passtime is dancing, and the Santuaria has added a good dance band and good entertainment. We go early before the crowd and have a delightful time dancing to the music of Bobby and his band or Al and Zoe who usually appear at that time. We will be going back in October to spend another wedding anniversary on the dance floor. By going so often and staying as long as we do, the employees seem like family. The waitresses at the Santuaria know what we like to drink and where we usually sit. They all make us feel very special. The whole resort is beautiful and our favorite place to stay when away from home.

Room Tip: We have not been disappointed in any of the rooms in which we have stayed, and we probably spend mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnnyb1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Johnnyb1232014 :

We are pleased you chose to stay at The Grand Mayan for your vacation. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. It will be our privilege to share it with them, specifically the staff mentioned; we are certain they will be delighted to receive it. We are also happy that you consider our resort to be beautiful and you selected it to celebrate such a special occasion, happy belated anniversary!

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Love this resort, i do own with Vida Vacations and this is our favorite resort to visit so far. Soon need to visit Los Cabos, i hear it is much smaller giving it a more small town feel with Los Cabos within walking distance

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear brentferg7:

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at The Grand Mayan. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I read all of the reviews and was worried about the "sales pitch" that was mentioned. When you get off of the plane the sales guys are waiting for you to offer "free Breakfast for only 90 minutes of your time!" Went to the Grand Mayan and was offered the breakfast presentation that we declined as we are members of Global Connections.
No worries, smile and wave....

Went to Wal-Mart and was offered presentation and then again along the boardwalk. Only complaint was the daily calls from the Grand Mayan asking us if we had reconsidered the breakfast presentation. No thank you...

Didn't get a room overlooking the pool- but the rooms were fabulous! 2 bedroom with common area and kitchen. Restaurants are good on site and got rid of rental car after 1 day as decided that didn't need it! Everything is close or a quick cab ride to town.
Took trip for daughter's high school graduation and she and her 20 year old brother made quick friends and were at the pool or beach all day as they have numerous planned activities. My wife and I did our thing during the day and then we hooked back up at night for a dinner on the resort.

Just know that you will be asked about time shares....it doesn't matter where you are- just smile and say no and go on about your day..there is a LOT to do and we had a GREAT time staying here

Room Tip: check in is at 5 p.m. After a long flight I was a little irritated that we couldn't get in earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Don H :

Thank you so much for choosing The Grand Mayan for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We are pleased to learn you and your loved ones had a wonderful vacation. That you enjoyed our food options and you had fun with the activities available during your stay.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
1,990 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,189 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Property: The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing