We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT RESORT”
Review of Hotel Riu Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We went in for a great price due to funjet vacation charter flight deal with hotel.
we upgraded to junior suite and got room on the top floor dead center of resort so the view of pool and ocean was great. We went in with two boys 8 and 4 yr old and got kicked out of swim up bar pool due to kids not allowed and spend time in kids pool and beach with drinks run to bar every 30 min.
food buffet was pretty decent ate there most of the time went to Chinese food once was disappointed.
hotel staff was very helpful no issues

Room Tip: upgrade to junior suite and get rooms in middle of resort . resort is U shaped so in middle you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Rajesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,904 - 2,910 of 5,415 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Bad experience at this hotel understaffed no one would bring us a glass of water when eating some staff was rude we had to move to another resort.we had a bad first day but it ended up moving to another riu where we had a good vacation afterall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 99martinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

i have just returned today from riu vallarta, i read all reviews before i went, but was not prepare for constant bad belly` my whole family suffered repeated upset stomaches, spoke to many holiday makers most of which suffered to.
Another thing that kind of surprised me was the number of thefts by the pool, there was many complaints of people having cameras phones money and one time room key
stolen, please be aware and protect your valuables by the pool,
the setting is beautiful, lovely pools but we only used adult pool and it was not really clean, family picked up bad ear infections whilst there so did some other guests, so be aware and if you enjoy a swim and suffer with ears take ear plugs. the water in pool is very warm which is not nice as you want to cool down but cannot especially in afternoons, kids are not supposed to be in adult pool but this is hit and miss as first when we arrived they said no kids then they said over 12 could go in are they not kids? it got annoying at times as you could not get away from them. gardens, the beach is not white sands but sands you find in uk.
Sea very murky lots of seaweed in it not very clean.
rooms are are not 5 star more like 3 star, we was on 7th floor facing square my toilet over flowed several times they move me into my second week but miserable
spanish manager was useless. move to family room woke uo covered in insect and ants all over bathroom. went complain they fumigated my room. next day i came back from pool toilet overflowing all sewage over bathroom floor my son reported it they never came, i went they came i was so shocked as cleaner used old towels and just wet it in sink to clean,, no disinfectant. i went to see reception manager he is just so rude i felt i complained all the time. thompsons rep got thing sorted at times, but i felt a pain keep complaining.
my soap was stolen on 3rd day but dear friends whom we met laughed and said you can't complain about this lol but it was not funny to me....
best part of my holiday was meeting some really beautiful people whom made our holiday pleasant carol and jack from swansea. and many more,
if the hotel get there act together and sort out pool temperature and better pool cleaning and food handling would be better. saw the catering team reheat fresh food with food that was left out on many occasions.
better control of kids in adults pool and properly set age to 17 not 12 may be better,

if you are going here take fan and flannel as it is so so unbearably hot and humid most days and evening are worst.

if you book a room standard room for 4 be warned they have 2 mall double beds pushed together , unless you got small children then this is useless for 4 adults.

thompsons dreamliner flight. not all it is cranked up to be, economy seats leg room is good so don't pay extra, the chair width not great. food terrible breakfast coming back a wrap disgusting take you food in your allied just no fruit and drink. you have to pay £45 exit fee when you leave country only the brits seem to pay others don't,
with all problems i had i would not recommend as it kinder put dampers on my holiday.
hope it helps

Room Tip: it dependson if you like noise or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My family went on a 2 week holiday to Mexico's Pacific Coast in the area of Puerto Vallarta in the resort of Nuevo Vallarta and stayed in the Riu Vallarta. The holiday company, Thomson, had returned to this hotel for the 1st time in 7 years.
When we walked into the lobby we were blown away. It was stunning and we thought 'WOW, we can see why it cost what it did'. The first few days were excellent but sadly it went downhill rapidly after that. The quality and choice of food throughout the holiday was EXCELLENT but the service after that first few days was SHOCKING. Tables not being cleared (even having to clear them OURSELVES), drinks orders either not being taken or taking ages to get to us, waiting TWENTY minutes for a fresh pot of coffee that when it arrived was TEPID & BITTER and the staff were sullen and dour faced. With the exception of 2 waiters, 2 waitresses and the maitre d, the rest of the staff couldn't even raise a smile between them, I kid you not. I know it's hard work, hot and a long day but the last thing holiday makers want to see is dour faced staff. We found that Mexican holiday makers were served first and this was especially true at the bars. I suffered from this on 3 separate occasions and between the whole family it happened all too often. The pool was DISGUSTING. Dead flies, bits of skin, hair, etc. all floating on top. Now all this is to be expected however in the Riu Merengue the pool lads swept the surface of the pool every hour to keep this down whereas the only time this happened in the Vallarta was first thing in the morning. I went in the pool ONCE and had to shower afterwards. Minibars were SUPPOSED to be restocked every 2nd day. Sometimes it took anywhere between 4 and 7 days. The entertainment team were completely different in how they operated compared to the Riu Merengue. They very seldom got people up to dance and with the exception of 2 they remained pretty anonymous. In 14 days there were NINE dance shows, hardly what I would call a VARIED programme.
My family and I are not alone in our opinion of this hotel as we spoke to SIX different British families and they ALL felt exactly the same and indeed they in turn had spoken to other Brit families and they too felt the same. There was one couple on honeymoon and NOTHING was done for them to mark this, whereas another couple in another hotel had flowers and champaign etc laid on for them.
The Thomson reps, Kia and Tom, were very good and we have NO complaints about them.
So all in all this hotel is rated by Thomson as a 4T hotel but in our opinion it only rates as a 2T. We would go back to the area but NOT THE HOTEL.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
13  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Buffet was ok, but concerned with everyone touching handles that were not long enough and sometimes put back in the food. Drinks were plenty a lil water downed. Bed was super hard, walls are super thin. Pool was packed and you have to be up by 9:00 to get your own lounge, otherwise you're in direct sun. Beach was swim able but water is churned so not clear. Umbrellas are $10.00 per day and not part of hotel. Staff was always very pleasant , but you get what you pay for here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Cannot fault the staff-always working & friendly! If you're looking for a relaxing time away though this is not the hotel for you. Loud music by the pool all day. Lobby packed always! Kids everywhere. Stained sheets yuck.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Another great stay in a Riu Hotel, as usual the staff are professional, friendly, courteous and hard-working.

The rooms, grounds, communial areas are clean and tidy. The food was nice although very repetative, the bar staff worked very hard would recommend trying a "Mudlside" although you will not see it on the cocktail list.

I have seen reviews where people complain about the noise, unfortunately you cannot control the volume of people whilst under the influence of alcohol but when you go to Mexico you know that you are going to get young Americans dropping over the boarder and having a blow out on alcohol with the States having a drinking age of 21 but we have all been young and know what it's like.

There is a little market stall on the beach and although they walk around showing their goods, you are not constantly bothered. the local bus stops outside and is worth the experience.

Riu Hotels are definately worth staying at

Room Tip: Try and get a room high up and hope that you are on the left-side wing although sound will travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank AndyCorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
3.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Varadero
Hotel Villa Varadero
#16 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Jalisco
ClubHotel Riu Jalisco
#19 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,571 reviews
3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Vallarta

Address: Av de Los Cocoteros s/n | Lote Hotelero G, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £131 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-story building * 3 km / 1.86 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.62 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Riu Vallarta Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing