We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry! didn't quite deliver”
Review of Hotel Riu Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We're fast losing interest in the all inclusive hotel and this experience confirms the downward spiral in our expectations.
True, at least one of the al a carte restaurants performed reasonably well in both service and food presentation...think it was called the Sir or St George.
Steakhouse was quite good........Asian themed restaurant was buffet service...OK for a change of scene with food likewise.
This hotel is in one large building and a little bit of a novelty when most others in our recent experience have been blocks of rooms in large grounds....some of us enjoy a stroll after dinner.
There are many positive things in this hotel, however, from our point of view it was a little too holiday camp.
Perhaps we're getting a little older now and don't accept the shortfall in quality of service...imagination in entertainment.
Anyway, I wouldn't really put anyone off, neither would I be enthusiastic about going there again unless it was significantly lower in price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pebblesWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,716 - 2,722 of 5,237 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our third visit to Mexico and our second to the Puerto Vallarta region and the first at the Riu Vallarta. The resort is clean and beautifully kept. The rooms are very comfortable. The staff are marvellous. The food is very good and varied between all of the restaurants. There is bar service on the beach and at the pool including the very necessary swim up bar.

We found the music around the pool to be very loud and at times annoying with a constant thump, thump, thump. When we tried of that we headed to the beautiful beach that had more than enough loungers available. The only disappointment we had was in the Nirvana asian restaurant. As with the other specialty restaurant, this one required reservations. We had made a reservation for a later time. When we arrived we found that this was a buffet as opposed to table service. It seemed that the staff wanted to close up and go home because when we got up to return to the buffet our plates cutlery and beverages were cleared away and we had to flag a server down in order to get utensils and water.

When travelling to Mexico we always bring our own soap and shampoo as we're never to sure if they will be provided. An essential to any all inclusive is your own large insulated cup with a lid and straw. The glasses provided at the bars are very small. Bring your own from home because they are very expensive in the resort gift shop.

Room Tip: The room we had with a partial view of the sea also over looked the courtyard. This room was a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MacBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Recently returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel with my partner, and we both enjoyed it very much. The hotel at best would reflect a 4 star rating over here. The staff were friendly, helpful and always efficient without hounding for tips. They clearly cared for the hotel and the maintenance and upkeep was regular yet unobtrusive. We travelled with Thomson, and the check in service was quick which after such a long journey was much appreciated. We used all 3 speciality restaurants during our stay, which unlike at some resorts, you could use as many times as you liked so long as you made a reservation. I recommended the Sir George in particular although be prepared for big portions! The weather was unpredictable in that it rained almost everyday, and there were some big storms, yet on the whole it was very hot and humid. Just laying on a lounger you could break a sweat! We went on three trips (3 for 2) through the vallarta adventure centre - yelapas and pizota day trip, dolphin extreme and rhythms of the night. All three were excellent; to a high standard and great value for money. Overall we loved the holiday and would go back.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Holidayer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed in the Rui Vallarta late July to mid August 2014, with my family. When the doors of the plane opened, the heat was so full on, it was as though you were in a sauna.

Tom, our Rep greeted us at the airport. It was only a short ride to our hotel. Check-in was smooth...We picked up a cool and refreshing drink and left our luggage aside and made our way to our room. Within 10 minutes our luggage arrived.

We were going to sleep it off, after our 12 hour flight from Gatwick, but thought it best to carry on.

All the staff worked extremely hard at the hotel to make our holiday memorable. A special thank you to my "buddy" David, our Waiter in the morning during the 2 weeks stay, and to Laura in the Flamengo for lunch. Both worked their socks off.

I would wake up every morning at 6.00 for my daily exercise and would see all the staff cleaning/clearing the grounds for the guests - mopping the floors, clearing the beach, washing the lampposts...They never stopped. Our rooms were spotless, with fresh towels everyday, and the fridge topped up with: Pepsi, Seven Up, water and beers...

Our entertainment team worked some long hours from 09.00-11.30, and sometimes they would stay up with my 18 yr old daughter partying on in to the night at Senior Frog and few other of the nightclub...My daughter felt safe there and the Reps looked after her really well. I had no problems with leaving her out with her friends/Reps till the early hours of the morning...Special (million thanks per my daughter) thanks to Alan (manager), Choco, Josue, Charlotte, Violeta and Marimar, for all the entertainment during the 2 weeks. Thoroughly enjoyed the Circus show, International Show, Michael Jackson and Grease.

The food was excellent, plenty to choose from for my 11 yr old boy and it was always fresh...Some beautiful fresh fruits, seafood and puddings (fresh green juice)...Just great!!

The pool was awesome and clean - the Lifeguard was always on hand to make sure the children were safe.

Such a beautiful resort, met some great people and the staff were amazing.


Loved it and would return again.

Thank you to ALL the staff at the Rui Vallarta!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms would be suitable...The entertainment finishes at 11.30, and you will have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
20  Thank Gerard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Returned from Riu Vallarta July 28th. ( I reviewed it in July but I don't see my review, so here I go again)
My Opinion: Very nice Hotel, very clean considering it was over crowded in July.
80% were locals at the hotel, 18% from UK and US and 2 % Canadians.

Food was delicious, always fresh and large variety.
Customer service, outstanding
Staff, WOW they are fast and work hard.... we were impressed.
Beach nice but water is not like CUBA
Pools... needed lot of cleaning, have not been cleaned all week we were there, they were dirty..
Room was satisfactory, hard beds like rock.. small hard pillows... I expected better from RIU.

Coffee: Well, we couldn't find anyone in the hotel that makes a good cup of coffee? Not sure what the cappuccino was? sock water or latte?
Cuba Coffee is awesome !

Disappointment: Last year I took my boyfriend to Bahamas Riu for his B/Day. Staff didn't do anything for him other than bartenders got him so drunk ! I was not impressed, I had to intervene to stop serving him.

As a repeat guest, This time, we went to Riu Vallarta for my B/Day.. we emailed the hotel in advance regards that. We got there and I did not receive anything at ALL ! No rom upgrade, they were full, no Ala Carte, we couldn't even get a reservation in any of the Restaurant.

Matter of fact, there was no welcome drink but long wait to check in and it was so hot in the lobby.

I would go again but not Summer Vacations, too many locals, I have never seen so many kids in a resort as I did at this one and they were not very friendly or polite. Very pushy to a point they will push you while you are getting your food at the buffet or at a adult swim up bar, just so they can get it before you and boy, do they stack their plates and glasses.. Wow they eat a lot.

Note To RIU Management: Repeat guests should get something for their loyalty to return.

As a repeat Guest in any Cuban Hotels, especially Memories CSM, we are always upgraded to better rooms at no charge and for birthday always get a cake and bottle of champagne and invite to Management Private Dinner.

So, I prefer Cuban vacations just because they are more courteous and never over crowded.
Beach and Ocean is the most beautiful I ever seen.

RIU.. Beautiful, but not much personal attention to repeat guests and Ala Carte Reservations forget it... 8-10 am only?

Room Tip: Higher Floors, better A/C and quitter. All rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank xxxsunnyd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have just returned from a two week family holiday and I was blown away by how friendly the staff were and clean the hotel were the riu staff provided excellent activities throughout the day I loved the parties on the beach and my daughter aged 7 loved kids club thanks to josh and charlotte who made her feel so welcome, the hotel is thriving and the bar staff do everything to get you a drink that you require thank you to vanesa for keeping my drink topped up, the waiters during the day were fab didnt have to lift a finger and tended to our needs for drinks etc and I esp loved how the children were treated to ice pops in an afternoon I would return in the future lively atmosphere, families welcome, clean pools something for everyone thank you for an amazing two weeks in mexico :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sarahlou9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Little late for this review as i was there in late April '14 for a 2 week vacation. Better late than never as they say. Hotel`s about minutes away from Bucerias but about half hour from PV. Stepped off the plane to the beautiful warmth that i love and began my awesome vacay with a short 20 min. bus ride to the resort. Resort looked so grand when driving up to it, and the Lobby didn't disappoint. What a fabulous resort ! Totally what i want in a Mexican vacation , from the beautiful ambiance & decor to the fantastic service. I was flying Solo , so it was nice that it felt like they were going to great lengths to make me feel comfortable & welcome ! Were met off the bus in that beautiful Lobby with a fella with cool fresh punch while we waited in line for our rooms to be assigned. But i was one of the lucky ones , i got past a long wait time and went to my room right away.
Loved my room on the 8th floor outside facing on other side away from the courtyard which i heard could be noisy at night, but a ocean view. Either way i don't think it would of bothered me. Room was clean and well stocked with whatever i needed. Housekeepers were awesome !
The whole resort was beautiful and well maintained , from the housekeepers to the kitchen staff and the groundskeepers could always be seen hard at work keeping up the beauty of the resort, Which had beautiful lush landscaping . Wish i could have tipped more as these people work so hard , with long hours.
The Don Rafael Buffet was awesome , always very good with a huge selection.There's birds flying around, but hard to control with outdoor access , they do their best with netting etc but oh well , so long as they don't poop on my food LOL. I only went to the Al-a-Carte restaurants twice , because i was so happy with the service, selection and quality at the buffet. Plus the staff got to know me, they automatically brought my drinks as i come in the door, now that's service ! My memory fails me on the names of the staff names but they were SUPER ! and besides going to the Al-a-Carte took away time from my pool time , wasting all that time getting purdy for the fancy restaurant's was not in my vacation plans LOL
Talking of the pool, My fave place was the adult pool. It was beautiful and the staff were AWESOME ! even the lifeguard Lucas was always hard working going way above his duties, cleaning up glasses left around the place etc and the drinks were smashing , everybody got to try their BBC's (Bailey's Bananas & Coconut cream) lip smacking good , but watch out after a few they sneak up on you LOL
Went on few excursions , the pub crawl in PV ( i even remember it all LOL) , Deep Sea Fishing (Lance Bouma from the Calgary Flames was on the boat, nice guy), a snorkeling trip, and on my own with a couple i met at the resort i went to the PV Zoo which was actually the best, i got to cuddle some baby tigers, cheetahs and bengal tigers and play with some monkeys , keep an eye on your stuff , that one monkey is a pick pocket ! LOL
I also went into Bucerias for a few hours by cab (cost bout $8)
Overall the best vacation i've ever had , Fabulous resort, made some new friends and got a awesome relaxing time too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside away from courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
7.8 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,547 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#19 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,793 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,889 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Vallarta

Address: Av de Los Cocoteros s/n | Lote Hotelero G, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £120 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 9-story building * 3 km / 1.86 miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 1 km / 0.62 miles from Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Riu Vallarta Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing