We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
Marival Resort & Suites(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$723
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$655
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$378
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$264
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$656
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$391
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Jalisco(Nuevo Vallarta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,706)
Filter reviews
5,706 results
Traveller rating
2,012
2,018
976
422
278
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,012
2,018
976
422
278
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssir georgesports baradult pooldon rafaelflamingo restaurantplaza bargourmet restaurantjunior suitethomson repsasian buffetmattress toppergreat holidaymain buffetevery other dayfamily poolentertainment teamspecialty restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
3,155 - 3,160 of 5,706 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Myself and my boys loved this hotel, the beach, the food, the people. Great holiday, passed too quickly. I thought for the size of the hotel, the two pools were not nearly big enough but the beach was there and always enough loungers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Staff were excellent the animation team were the best we have come across in our travels.The
hotel is tired although we were told it had a refurb 2013/2014. I find that hard to believe as our
room had faults. Drawers without runners, sink that would not drain properly, sink that would not hold water and a bath that leaked. The food was very good and the themed resturants were
excellent. It was so safe to go on the local bus. Would I go again no. I was told it was a low price
as it had just come on the market after a time of not being used and to expect prices to rise in
the future. No it is at its top price now unless major changes are made.

Room Tip: pool view sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We're fast losing interest in the all inclusive hotel and this experience confirms the downward spiral in our expectations.
True, at least one of the al a carte restaurants performed reasonably well in both service and food presentation...think it was called the Sir or St George.
Steakhouse was quite good........Asian themed restaurant was buffet service...OK for a change of scene with food likewise.
This hotel is in one large building and a little bit of a novelty when most others in our recent experience have been blocks of rooms in large grounds....some of us enjoy a stroll after dinner.
There are many positive things in this hotel, however, from our point of view it was a little too holiday camp.
Perhaps we're getting a little older now and don't accept the shortfall in quality of service...imagination in entertainment.
Anyway, I wouldn't really put anyone off, neither would I be enthusiastic about going there again unless it was significantly lower in price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pebblesWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our third visit to Mexico and our second to the Puerto Vallarta region and the first at the Riu Vallarta. The resort is clean and beautifully kept. The rooms are very comfortable. The staff are marvellous. The food is very good and varied between all of the restaurants. There is bar service on the beach and at the pool including the very necessary swim up bar.

We found the music around the pool to be very loud and at times annoying with a constant thump, thump, thump. When we tried of that we headed to the beautiful beach that had more than enough loungers available. The only disappointment we had was in the Nirvana asian restaurant. As with the other specialty restaurant, this one required reservations. We had made a reservation for a later time. When we arrived we found that this was a buffet as opposed to table service. It seemed that the staff wanted to close up and go home because when we got up to return to the buffet our plates cutlery and beverages were cleared away and we had to flag a server down in order to get utensils and water.

When travelling to Mexico we always bring our own soap and shampoo as we're never to sure if they will be provided. An essential to any all inclusive is your own large insulated cup with a lid and straw. The glasses provided at the bars are very small. Bring your own from home because they are very expensive in the resort gift shop.

Room Tip: The room we had with a partial view of the sea also over looked the courtyard. This room was a little noisier until midnight due to the entertainment below. This was not a problem for us as the entertainment closed down at midnight. We were able to sleep with our patio door open so that we could hear the gentle sound of the surf.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MacBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Recently returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel with my partner, and we both enjoyed it very much. The hotel at best would reflect a 4 star rating over here. The staff were friendly, helpful and always efficient without hounding for tips. They clearly cared for the hotel and the maintenance and upkeep was regular yet unobtrusive. We travelled with Thomson, and the check in service was quick which after such a long journey was much appreciated. We used all 3 speciality restaurants during our stay, which unlike at some resorts, you could use as many times as you liked so long as you made a reservation. I recommended the Sir George in particular although be prepared for big portions! The weather was unpredictable in that it rained almost everyday, and there were some big storms, yet on the whole it was very hot and humid. Just laying on a lounger you could break a sweat! We went on three trips (3 for 2) through the vallarta adventure centre - yelapas and pizota day trip, dolphin extreme and rhythms of the night. All three were excellent; to a high standard and great value for money. Overall we loved the holiday and would go back.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if possible
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Holidayer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews