We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fisherman's Hotel is More than Comfortable”
Review of Los Barriles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Barriles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Los Barriles B&B and Inns
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fisherman's Hotel is More than Comfortable”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I'll add my voice to the chorus of praise for the Los Barriles Hotel. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The shower was also roomy and afforded plenty of hot water, which is not always guaranteed in a Mexican hotel. There's a nice pool as well. This is not a full-service hotel. The only amenity is free coffee in the morning. If you've come to Los Barriles to fish, the hotel will help you find a panga. The desk found us Tito, who took us out to catch a marlin for $240, which by third-party referred panga charters in Baja is a very good rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    30
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
30
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It's been quite awhile since I stayed at the Los Barriles Hotel, but it was a very enjoyable stay. The rooms are very pretty and comfortable. The pool and surrounding area are just gorgeous. The staff is very nice and helpful. There's a small palapa bar right by the pool. Internet available. And it's just a short walk to the beach, restaurants and shops. All thumbs up.

Room Tip: All room locations seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Barriles, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Although I have posted pics from time to time I realized I had never gotten around to reviewing this Hotel. We have stayed here, on and off for 3 years running, with consistantly good visits.
This hotel is just a few short blocks to the beach, next door to a restaurant and walking distance to a market, shops and more restaurants. The rooms, although basic, are clean with great a/c and steps from a inviting pool. Parking is close and the area is very safe.. The whole town of Los Barriles can be negotiated by quad or ATV and is a great alternative to the larger cities of Cabo and La Paz. Great fishing also! The staff at the hotel is great and I think you will enjoy the overall experiance.

Room Tip: We always bring a flashlight anywhere we travel in Baja, never know when the lights might go out.If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank corndoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stumbled on this hotel after a recommendation that we stop in Los Barriles. We had no concrete plans during the first half of our trip to BCS, so we spent an afternoon in town & stayed the night here. Our room was large, clean & affordable, the staff very friendly, and the pool area gorgeous. We didn't swim in it but enjoyed hanging out & drinking beer by it. Our only complaint was the fridge in our room had been turned off & smelled horrible so we had to leave our food & drinks in our cooler. Not a big deal though. Would definitely stay there again if we get back that way.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IamMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The rooms are large, clean, have great A/C, and are well cleaned and provided daily with fresh fluffy towels. The pool was nice and clean (it had just been refilled when we were there). The staff was responsive although our first night was interrupted by unwanted visitors to the pool (at least some not being guests of the hotel) who made noise well into the early morning. For birders we were greeted by what seems to be a resident Xantus's Hummingbird which is endemic to the cape.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterginsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We just stayed for one night on our way to La Paz. The hotel is on the road but a bit set back so there is no problem with street noise (certainly not with the A/C running). Very clean large rooms, A/C works great. The receptionist we met in the evening was very friendly.

On the downside, they charged us for our 14 year old son to stay in our room. This seemed unreasonable since he slept in one of the two beds which were there anyway and did not use any resources (none of us even used the pool). They also wanted a surcharge for payment by credit card so we paid in cash (turned out, with the exchange rate they proposed, it was cheaper to pay in USD which is what we did). No breakfast is included but they brew a pot of coffee and provide styro cups and non-dairy creamer which you can have at the pool. When asked for a place to have breakfast, they pointed to a restaurant a few blocks down the road.

Overall, not a bad place at all. But compared to other places we have stayed at in the area, more expensive (with the charge for our kid) and less amenities.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is by no means a luxury resort, even though they try. If you like fishing, this is the place to go. Been coming to this area for the last 18 years and will always come back for the fishing...has nice ammenties, a spa with massage, nice resturant (good food...not great). Use the pool, its not a beach place, sand is coarse. Many good local restaurants close by

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ACMan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Barriles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#3 of 4 in Los Barriles
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
133 reviews
20.9 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Barriles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Barriles Hotel

Property: Los Barriles Hotel
Address: Apartado, Postal #50, Los Barriles 23501, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Barriles
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Los Barriles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Barriles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Los Barriles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing