We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in Baja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
Ranked #2 of 4 Los Barriles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Day trip to La Paz beaches with friends included an overnight for our group of five couples. We were welcomed at the end of a long HOT day with a smile and welcome Margaritas then were given rooms with wonderful clean comfy beds and nice AC. The views are spectacular and they provided dinner on the terrace with their chef's tasty selections. There was a full moon rising over the water so it really couldn't have been a more spectacular setting. We planned to snorkel the next morning but the south swell was running and a bit rough for our group so we swam and enjoyed a late breakfast. Such quiet and truly a paradise away from it all. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucycs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Short:
The best staff ever. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, and million dollar views on perhaps the best beach in the world. Quite reasonable prices all amenities considered.

Long:
We had no intention of visiting Punta Pescadero. We were on a budget roadtrip of Baja, camping on desolate beaches, crashing in budget hotels, fishing, diving, camping, and soaking in sun. After fishing in Los Barilles that morning, we found ourselves diving the beach just below Punta Pescadero Resort. Thats when it all went wrong. On what was easily the most beautiful dive of our trip, I got into a fight with a jelly fish and I lost, big time.

After some pretty wicked muscle contractions started, we rushed up the hill to the resort and asked for any help they could provide. The staff immediately jumped into action providing medical aides like benadryl and vinegar and comfort items like water/coffee, etc... Oh and a great cocker spaniel puppy to keep my mind off the pretty overwhelming pain.

After I started to improve, we asked to take a room and were quickly shown to a nearby room (which, as we said above was beautiful) at standard rate (they could have charged us through the nose, it was very kind of them to accommodate us quickly and without gouging us).

We hid in the comfortable room for most of the next 24-hours. I'd even recovered enough by sunset to appreciate the incredible location we'd stumbled across.

Though all this ordeal the staff showed themselves to be wonderful, the accommodations top notch, and Punta Pescadero is so much more "real Baja" than anything in Los Cabos. If you're looking for a wonderful Baja vacation, please look them up. We'll certainly be back (if perhaps this time wearing full skinsuits on our dives).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GrantNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We didn't stay here but boy would I like to. It's a long, bumpy drive to get there but worth it to see the view and experience the peaceful setting. The bartender made us some lovely cocktails and we had lunch. Later we walked down to the beach and snorkled a bit. People staying at the resort said it was a great place to do a family/group kind of stay. Because other things are a ways away you can focus attention right there. There is a beach, a pool, a bar, a restaurant. Prepare for a quiet, fun, beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Punta Pescadero is accessed by a one lane dirt road along the beach north of Los Barrilles on the East Cape of the Baja Peninsula. It is far away from the crowds and noise of Cabo. Quite and relatively unchanged{I have been a frequent visitor there for 20+years}, it is a great location for fishing, diving, kayaking or just plain relaxing. The rooms have great ocean views, and are large and air-conditioned. Good food is served outside on a concrete deck overlooking the Sea of Cortez. The waters are usually clear, calm, and warm, with some occasional brisk breezes and surf. The staff is courteous and helpful, with virtually everyone speaking English well. There is no significant shopping or entertainment, so be forewarned. The bar is quiet, but serves a great margarita and has all of the usual great Mexican beers. A great getaway for relaxation and romance.

Room Tip: I like rooms 1, 2, or 3 as they are convenient to the pool and are a bit newer and upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodfansGraniteBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Be prepared for a scary drive to the hotel. There are two options - dirt road along the ocean or winding road in mountains with potholes. Either way I'd recommend renting a jeep. Beautiful location right on the beach. Nice beach where we could snorkel, kayak, suntan and swim. It is away from everything, so be prepared to have a quiet get away. Loved the bar!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheesehea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Punta Pescadero is extremely remote. You have the ocean and the desert, this hotel is okay but the location is what sells it! You will hardly see anyone if you stay on the beach which is more like pebbles than sand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melimo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Probably 99% of the passengers who arrive at the pleasant airport of Cabo San Lucas, after they endure the line for immigration, head south to Cabo itself, which is a wonderful place for a holiday but is definitely Mexico-Lite. You can easily get swallowed up into a Cabo resort and wake up not knowing what country you are in. Then there are the 1% (or fewer) gringos who head north, into dusty Baja itself. It's a land of desert and mountains bounded by the Pacific on one side and the Sea of Cortez on the other. It's real Mexico, at least real in terms of being Baja Mexico, which is really not the same mainland Mexico but genuine nevertheless. Keep going north for about an hour and you reach the small community of Los Barriles. It sports restaurant, a small supermarket and a wonderful laid-back atmosphere. Go a few miles more and you will find Punta Pescadero. It's perched on a cliff overlooking the Sea of Cortez and is a thoroughly first world place to stay with a spectacular view, a handy 3500 foot airstrip in case you get wanderlust, a small pool, crisp sheets, great service, and a marvelous bar overlooking the spectacular sea. You can be energetic and fish or dive, or you can just do all that people do when they do nothing. Try doing nothing here. You'll find that nothing at Punta Pescadero has a lot going for it. Then go on to explore even more of Baja - such as the metropolis of La Paz. That's another story. Whatever, prepare for stretches of dirt roads that are like washboards, dust, adventure, and a generally great time. I promise that you will know where you are. It's also likely that you'll love being there.

Room Tip: Be prepared to chat with others on the bar terrace. They come from all over and generally have inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Barriles
8.2 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
242 reviews
4.7 mi away
Las Terrazas Del Cortes
Las Terrazas Del Cortes
#1 of 2 in El Cardonal
21 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
681.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Los Barriles Hotel
Los Barriles Hotel
#4 of 4 in Los Barriles
61 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hacienda de Palmas
Hacienda de Palmas
#1 of 1 in La Ribera
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas

Address: P.O. Box 326 | Lapaz BCS, Los Barriles 23000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Barriles
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Los Barriles
Price Range: £130 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing