We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beginning and ending every day with the sound of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Distinctive yurt design.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Distinctive yurt design.
Enter and enjoy Interior, with bed, shower, toilet and self contained kitchen..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Distinctive yurt design.
Enter and enjoy
Interior, with bed, shower, toilet and self contained kitchen..
Views of the Sea of Cortez from the yurts.
Sit outside and enjoy the views and wonderful sea breezes.
Note the individual soaking tub which use natural hot spring water.
Our two-story yurt.
The exterior staircase to extra sleeping space
The quiet neighborhood and just steps from the beach.
Looking back toward the small community of Spa Buena Vista.
Cows on the beach, two blocks from the yurts
Beautiful sunrises that light up the sky.
Heading out!
Some of the world's best fishing is in our backyard, the Sea of Cortez
Good restaurants nearby, all reasonably priced.
Surprisingly the desert produces lots of citrus in nearby San Bartolo.
Each yurt has it's own toilet.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Los Barriles, Baja California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
jodonnell...
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beginning and ending every day with the sound of waves crashing on the beach”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
10
people found this review helpful

We spent the majority of our 9 day vacation at the Ramadas in the sleepy town of Spa Buena Vista. We stayed in Yurt #2, with amazing views of the Sea of Cortez. A bit windy (note the owner's description of the winter climate, don't expect to go snorkeling), although it is a kiteboarder's dream! The hotel next door has a bar and restaurant which we took advantage of quite a bit. You can rent ATVs to get around on the beach or back and forth to town. Would suggest renting a car, would definitely do that next time.

Margarita, the woman who manages the property, was SO unbelievably sweet and generous. She even gave us a ride to town and helped interpret our conversation with the woman at the bus depot.

Part of their charm is also their downfall- you really are exposed to the elements (at least in Yurt #2). The last couple nights we were attacked by mosquitos so I'm thinking a net is in order, or bring some strong mosquito repellant.

We were able to cook every night in the kitchenette, and we used the outdoor tub quite a bit which was fed (during the day, not sure if you can use it at night) by the warm mineral springs underground. Not hot, but warm and natural water. Actually used that in lieu of the showers indoors which weren't warm most of the time. Think "glamping".

You can walk barefoot down to the beach which is only a block away. All the streets here are just SAND. It's lovely. Oh, and don't be surprised if on one of these walks you turn a corner and see cows and horses just chilling out on the corner. So great.

It is a very special place, and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a way to visit Baja on a budget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The shower's water temperature
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D...
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in February 2014

Basic, quiet a great place if you are looking to relax, close to beach about 40min walk north on beach to Los Barillas

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justaname...
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As long as you are ok with bugs this place is WONDERFUL!!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

So affordable and so close to the sea... not to mention peace and quiet yet close to lots of things to do in Los Barriles (as long as you have a car.) If i come back to the area, i am totally staying here again. Super, super simple. No frills. But the location for those who want to affordably be near the sea is wonderful! And for lovers of peace and quiet like i am, this place can not be beat. Loved my stay! Do know that lots if bugs do get it in as there are cracks and open crevices everywhere and that without a car, it is a challenge to get in and out of Los Barriles where there is food, bars, and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: close to sea, affordability, and quiet
Liked least: not a good place to stay unless you have a car/rental and bugs
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean K
Buena Vista Baja Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“UNIQUE SAFE TRANQUIL LODGELIKE VISIT”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014
9
people found this review helpful

Everything I needed for a simple visit was here; linens, pots and pans, refrigerator, cookstove, internet, no TV and a small store I could walk to for basics.(I did have a car). It was similar to renting a cabin in a park in the United States. The area is safe and the evenings are balmy enough that I left my door open overnight and awoke to look out at the Sea of Cortez. Burros, birds, organic farmers visit on Friday,and the beach a block away was grand. I took advantage of amenities at the Spa at Buena Vista and enjoyed their local mineral water hot tub, 2 section pool, restaurant, shaded lounge chairs, kayaks and beach. My personal 4 foot wide, outdoor tub next to the yurt was delicious. Yes, I plan on returning and withheld the excellent rating only because this simple experience is not for everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbo S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace, tranquility and the pursuit of exploration.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
6
people found this review helpful

If your looking for the most laid back and relaxing vacation then this is your place. Granted it is a bit rustic but I thought of it as camping with added amenities. So many things to do but hiking involved in most. If I could say in one word the key to my wonderful experience it would be
"Margarita". No it's not the drink. It is the manager of the property. She goes above and beyond to insure your stay is worry free. Thank you Margarita !!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: Remoteness
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattitoot...
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet reprieve from cold north”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Great little gem of a place to go. Reasonably priced great value for your money. As I was traveling alone I was not sure how secure I would feel. The location is beautiful the community is safe and friendly, mostly people who have second homes down there from US and Canada. The Yurt was clean and neat and provided all the basic necessities that I would need. I did not have a car but which would have been a problem if I hadn't made some friends as Los Barriles is a couple of miles a way. Great get away from CT and snow!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: no water from the street on sunday .....therefore weak shower
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackandI
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed 31 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Our yurt was good value for the money, and had all the essentials. We had a really hard time finding them when our flight was delayed and we arrived after dark, but ended up finding someone in town who escorted us :) Better signage would help a lot. The kitchen is sparsely equipped but serviceable. Spa is quiet, and it was wonderful falling asleep with the sound of the surf and spending many relaxing days there. On the days without wind, there was good snorkeling right on the beach. The neighbours were friendly, and we enjoyed the town of Los Barriles. We recommend the taco stand next to the grocery store, and Los Piscis restaurant. A great relaxing holiday, and we fell in love with Spa Buena Vista and will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Quaint, in a lovely, quiet community and just steps to miles of beach!
Liked least: No hot water.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing