We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great simple lodging in a quiet community on the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Distinctive yurt design.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Distinctive yurt design.
Enter and enjoy Interior, with bed, shower, toilet and self contained kitchen..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Distinctive yurt design.
Enter and enjoy
Interior, with bed, shower, toilet and self contained kitchen..
Views of the Sea of Cortez from the yurts.
Sit outside and enjoy the views and wonderful sea breezes.
Note the individual soaking tub which use natural hot spring water.
Our two-story yurt.
The exterior staircase to extra sleeping space
The quiet neighborhood and just steps from the beach.
Looking back toward the small community of Spa Buena Vista.
Cows on the beach, two blocks from the yurts
Beautiful sunrises that light up the sky.
Heading out!
Some of the world's best fishing is in our backyard, the Sea of Cortez
Good restaurants nearby, all reasonably priced.
Surprisingly the desert produces lots of citrus in nearby San Bartolo.
Each yurt has it's own toilet.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Los Barriles, Baja California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Tricia L
BISHOP
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great simple lodging in a quiet community on the Sea of Cortez”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent two nights over new year and were lucky enough to meet the owner John. He was personable and close by but gave all the guests plenty of privacy. The yurts were simply appointed and tidy. Having spent a different new year on the Sea of Cortez camping, this was pretty deluxe. We could cook on the two-burner stove out of the wind and even check our email with fast wifi. We could bathe and use the facilities behind a thick wall behind our bed.

What made our stay especially wonderful were the hot tubs for each yurt. While we had to make sure we drew the tub by 6ish in the evening, it was no problem. It was nice to be able to wash off the salt water, look at the stars, and have a beer before making or going to dinner.

If you are expecting the Ritz and if using bins for your toilet paper (many places in Baja have fragile septic systems) grosses you out, this is not the place for you. If hearing your travelmate shower or use the loo grosses you out, this is not the place for you. If interesting local construction and having access to a lovely beach and sea in a quiet part of the world appeals, you've come to the right place.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2017
Tricia,
Thank you for your kind words. We agree that the yurts are simple and fun, and the location is primo.
we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that your return to Baja soon.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericeast
Sainte-Adele, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Paradise , felt like i was a kid again”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
8
people found this review helpful

Though modest the Yourts provided us with a place to call home for 2 nights.
Enjoyed feeling like a kid again at 63

Our Host , John , though absent gave us all the right directions to get there without ever searching for the place.

The people we met on site and all around were so friendly I felt I had been there for 2 weeks after just a few hours. The entire area is clean , people extremely friendly everywhere , food in restaurants is good and not so expensive. Fresh seafood is everywhere available,

Sights around Buena Vista abound, walks on the beach easy and confortable,
I would definitely recommend it to every Los Cabos Visitor to spend a few nights in the area.

For people looking for a little more than the Yourts - Palma del Cortez is a very good alternative at USD 160.00 per night .

Come on people , go and have fun
While in Buena Vista Community we went to San Antonio to La Cascada , an Oasis with a 43 ft waterfall down the San Augusto Canyon, don't miss this - part of Sierra La Laguna cost 90 pesos each - remember your entrance fees protect nature and keeps the place pristine.

Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodonnell...
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beginning and ending every day with the sound of waves crashing on the beach”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
10
people found this review helpful

We spent the majority of our 9 day vacation at the Ramadas in the sleepy town of Spa Buena Vista. We stayed in Yurt #2, with amazing views of the Sea of Cortez. A bit windy (note the owner's description of the winter climate, don't expect to go snorkeling), although it is a kiteboarder's dream! The hotel next door has a bar and restaurant which we took advantage of quite a bit. You can rent ATVs to get around on the beach or back and forth to town. Would suggest renting a car, would definitely do that next time.

Margarita, the woman who manages the property, was SO unbelievably sweet and generous. She even gave us a ride to town and helped interpret our conversation with the woman at the bus depot.

Part of their charm is also their downfall- you really are exposed to the elements (at least in Yurt #2). The last couple nights we were attacked by mosquitos so I'm thinking a net is in order, or bring some strong mosquito repellant.

We were able to cook every night in the kitchenette, and we used the outdoor tub quite a bit which was fed (during the day, not sure if you can use it at night) by the warm mineral springs underground. Not hot, but warm and natural water. Actually used that in lieu of the showers indoors which weren't warm most of the time. Think "glamping".

You can walk barefoot down to the beach which is only a block away. All the streets here are just SAND. It's lovely. Oh, and don't be surprised if on one of these walks you turn a corner and see cows and horses just chilling out on the corner. So great.

It is a very special place, and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a way to visit Baja on a budget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The shower's water temperature
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D...
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in February 2014

Basic, quiet a great place if you are looking to relax, close to beach about 40min walk north on beach to Los Barillas

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justaname...
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As long as you are ok with bugs this place is WONDERFUL!!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

So affordable and so close to the sea... not to mention peace and quiet yet close to lots of things to do in Los Barriles (as long as you have a car.) If i come back to the area, i am totally staying here again. Super, super simple. No frills. But the location for those who want to affordably be near the sea is wonderful! And for lovers of peace and quiet like i am, this place can not be beat. Loved my stay! Do know that lots if bugs do get it in as there are cracks and open crevices everywhere and that without a car, it is a challenge to get in and out of Los Barriles where there is food, bars, and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: close to sea, affordability, and quiet
Liked least: not a good place to stay unless you have a car/rental and bugs
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean K
Buena Vista Baja Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“UNIQUE SAFE TRANQUIL LODGELIKE VISIT”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014
9
people found this review helpful

Everything I needed for a simple visit was here; linens, pots and pans, refrigerator, cookstove, internet, no TV and a small store I could walk to for basics.(I did have a car). It was similar to renting a cabin in a park in the United States. The area is safe and the evenings are balmy enough that I left my door open overnight and awoke to look out at the Sea of Cortez. Burros, birds, organic farmers visit on Friday,and the beach a block away was grand. I took advantage of amenities at the Spa at Buena Vista and enjoyed their local mineral water hot tub, 2 section pool, restaurant, shaded lounge chairs, kayaks and beach. My personal 4 foot wide, outdoor tub next to the yurt was delicious. Yes, I plan on returning and withheld the excellent rating only because this simple experience is not for everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbo S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace, tranquility and the pursuit of exploration.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
6
people found this review helpful

If your looking for the most laid back and relaxing vacation then this is your place. Granted it is a bit rustic but I thought of it as camping with added amenities. So many things to do but hiking involved in most. If I could say in one word the key to my wonderful experience it would be
"Margarita". No it's not the drink. It is the manager of the property. She goes above and beyond to insure your stay is worry free. Thank you Margarita !!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: Remoteness
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing