We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Xmas Get Together”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Springfield Motel & Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Our Xmas Get Together”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our family spent Christmas here and occupied all of the rooms , It is one of the nicest places we have stayed , Our unit had recently been refurbished , with all quality fittings especially the spa bath , utter bliss , the scenery is beautiful and most of all the hosts Amber and Andy are great , hopefully we will get back there soon ..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 821Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    10
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
27
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
235 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed one night on our way south via Arthurs Pass. The "motel" we had was a converted 50 or so year old weather board house. The lounge and bedroom has been upgraded to a good standard as had the bathroom only there was no bench space in the bathroom. The kitchen was ancient with some of the cupboard doors very loose. The stove was rather old but worked.
In the bedroom there was only one bedside light. There were only two electric sockets so once the electric blankets were plugged in then the bedside light could not be used.

The electric blankets were not plugged in and one cord was buried under the mattress.

A good flat screen TV but mounted closer to the roof than the floor so not easy to watch. If the kitchen was fixed up and the other issues above sorted would still be an old house but at least the guest would feel they did matter. It was very clean and quiet. The heat pump never really got the place cosy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Perfect stop over when travelling to or from Arthur’s Pass. A small motel located in a quiet area away from the main road and not far from the station on the Trans Alpine rail line. Recently re-furbished conversion with large fully equipped kitchen (including dishwasher,cooker and large fridge-freezer), separate lounge area and self contained bedroom. Free wifi available.
Would have no hesitation about stopping here again if needing accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onholidayalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Ive stayed here a few times now, and its primo. Very comfortable and secure. Fantastic amenities, and great spa. Highly recommended stay. Fully functional kitchen and on demand movies. Relaxing backdrop with rural views of the southern alps.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waltchristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed in the motel unit on the 17th as a stop before our drive across the infamous Arthurs Pass, all beautifully refurbished with all the comforts you need and more. This unit is all self contained and could easily stay here for much longer, it has a fully equipped kitchen. Thanks Amber beautiful little place, best wishes to you and your family. Also enjoyed a meal at the pub

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itslucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Cosy and comfortable, clean and great amenities.
Nice warm fire and a well equiped kitchen to come home to after being out all day.
Friendly and helpful host. Nothing was a problem.
Wireless Internet access and a washing machine and drier for clothes.
Close to skifields, Lake Coleridge and the gateway to the Southern Alps.
Highly recommended....would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a double bed and a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooshnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My parents and I are so happy we found this place to spend a night while travelling the South Island. Amber Louise is a fantastic host and it's clear that she loves what she does. The Lodge was super comfortable for us - we were lucky (sorry Amber!) that no one else checked in so we could enjoy it on our own. This really is a home away from home. Clean, bright and very comfortable. Highly recommended....we'll let others know about you for sure. Best of luck to you and your family!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahlooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
18.0 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
247 reviews
13.5 mi away
Oxford Village Motel
Oxford Village Motel
#1 of 2 in Oxford
45 reviews
14.2 mi away
Darfield Motel
Darfield Motel
#1 of 1 in Darfield
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Ashley Gorge Holiday Park
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Motel & Lodge

Property: Springfield Motel & Lodge
Address: 37 Tramway Road, Springfield 7649, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Springfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Springfield Motel & Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Springfield Motel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing