We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great atmosphere, interesting menu”
Review of Bird in Hand

Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampshire, uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, interesting menu”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

we went on a Saturday night without booking and they were very accomadating, waiting less than 20 mins with our drinks we were seated in the restaurant side of the pub which is busy and noisy but in a great atmosphere way! We had lovely bread and butter to start and an amazing seafood sharing board. The main meals were fairly expensive for pub food and mine was excellent- steak and interesting veg/sauces .Unfortunately my husbands choice was terrible - Thai beef which sounded great but was so fragrent and spicy almost inedible ! such a shame as it sounded so good. But all in all it was a lovely evening with great staff and atmosphere so we will be back and recommend to friends (just don't order the thai beef!!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hyl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    128
    55
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Have missed out on this pub for years!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Shamefully, although we live locally, have not visited this pub for some years but will certainly be visiting again very soon!
Warm welcome from the staff, excellent range of bitters including local brews and unusual lunch menu.
Had a shared fish platter and it was so fresh and tasty and very good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jillisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Very knowledgeable staff and good food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We popped in last night for an early supper and whilst there weren't that many eating (it was the evening of Easter Monday) the staff made us very welcome.

The waiter in particular is extremely knowledgeable regarding both all the food and wine and obviously is extremely professional in his approach - giving good recommendations for matching food and wine.

We shared two 'bird in the hand' platters - one fish (with crab cakes, pepper squid, smoked salmon salad and another fishy thing) and one general (beautiful mushroom soup, carrot and celeriac gratin, quinoa stuffed peppers and a meaty thing). The only one left was the quinoa dish which tasted just a bit too healthy to us!

Main courses were venison wellington which my friends adored, as did another friend who had the harissa flavoured lamb. Personally I went for the peppered tuna with pesto which was both delicious and extremely colourful.

For those who live locally, you can get a loyalty card which meant (as we went with friends who are close by) we got a free bottle of wine and 10% off the bill!

Which meant the whole thing was £30 per head - which is pretty good in this day and age for a couple of courses plus wine and a couple of rounds of beer as starters!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulousy varied menu”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

First time I have been here and would certainly come again if in area - great service and staff really friendly and helpful. Great to see a different and varied menu which appealed to all tastes and generations but also standard pub grub too. Good beer with guest ales, apparently constantly changing. We booked and I guess this would be advisable. Large car park.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We had an impromptu lunch here today. Food was very good indeed, beer and cider excellent, and service was good too. Came to £39 for the two of us. Altogether, a very good experience - we'll be back !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bird in Hand also viewed

Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Horndean, Waterlooville
 

Been to Bird in Hand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing