We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Red Lounge - Cowplain
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Waterlooville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Took mother here a week or so ago at around 1730.
Ordered steak and I must say I put it on par to Nicolinos steaks. The service was amazing the young guy and lady in there were great and couldn't be more helpful.
This is the first time we had been here and will be going again.
Great place just to pop in for a cold drink in the warm weather if passing by...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    74
    41
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“food tastes of old chip fat - AWFUL”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We ate in the Red Lounge in Cowplain today and I had a special Balsamic fillet steak with potato rosti and asparagus priced at £16.95. I had high hopes for this but it was awful. The steak was tough and stringy, not what you would expect from a fillet but worst of all was the potato rosti. This was shop bought, more of a round hash brown than a rosti and tasted of old used cooking oil - YUCK!. The taste of this overwhelmed anything else and I could still taste it after we left the restaurant. Would not go again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

we were the only customers and the burgers took 45min. they had nice beeft meat but were not rested so the juices soaked the buns. my partner said she didnt really enjoy her burger which sucks when you take her for a meal, pay good money and let her down. sorry lover!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We could tell they were busy”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After going to this restaurant for around 4 years, this was the most disappointed that we have ever been. The food was long in coming out (we waited nearly an hour) and when our ribs did come out, the usual succulent meat that falls off the bone which we are accustomed to were not up to standard - they were tough, dry, and grisly; the chips were clearly bottom of the basket. We asked for sauces which we did not get (but were charged for), salt and pepper, finger bowls (normally standard with the ribs?) and when we got the bill we had been charged for things which we did not have although this was happily amended.

The service was shoddy, the waitresses/waiters were clearly new and had not been adequately trained and were all very flustered. Not the usual 5* experience, and we certainly not be rushing back, which is a shame given our loyalty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrannF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas evening out.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Best steaks in the area,good friendly service. Can be a bit noisy at weekends, but does give atmosphere

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnK265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lounge - Cowplain also viewed

Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Lounge - Cowplain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing