We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service a little patchy”

Red Lounge - Cowplain
Ranked #12 of 78 Restaurants in Waterlooville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
south coast
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Service a little patchy”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a nice meal here recently, however, the service was really patchy and at times very slow. The staff are all very pleasant but we had to ask for bits of our meal to come that had been forgotten.....shame.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank no1blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    76
    41
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
“My birthday”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Went last night for a birthday meal which my children organised with balloon and cake.
Had a fantastic time, the steaks and ribs were lovely, our male waiter was very good and polite.
Always have a good time here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely lobster.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Went for a birthday meal. Food was very good, it was very busy, but service was good. Myself and my husband both had lobster and steak and it was delicious and cooked perfectly to our specification.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LKBickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A mixed opinion... ”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Went here a while ago with my husband and we had 2 different burgers both of which were really nice, fresh and tasty.
My husband enjoyed all of his meal but I wasn't keen on my chips, they were chunky which I don't mind but they weren't crispy so it was just like wedges if boiled potato! Coleslaw also wasn't for me.
As I say... A mixed opinion.
Service was good and food wasn't too expensive.
Think it would be fair to say we will give it another go and see how we get on second time around.

Helpful?
Thank Bumblebee1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went here Saturday evening for a family meal. The food was very tasty and came nice and hot in sensible sized portions that left us nicely full. My husband had the 'best ribs ever' and my only disappointment was the size of the vegetarian wellington-I could have eaten more! It was busy and so there was background noise but it made for a good atmosphere.
The staff were all quite 'young' but every one of them was friendly and attentive and the service was very good indeed. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lounge - Cowplain also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Cowplain, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Lounge - Cowplain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing