We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time customer - will be back!”
Review of The Bengal Forest

The Bengal Forest
Ranked #69 of 78 Restaurants in Waterlooville
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 796 helpful votes
“First time customer - will be back!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Despite living in the area for a number of years we only tried this place for the first time the other day. We ordered to take-away and were not disappointed. We ordered a Korma to share however the only downside was that although there was enough rice and source to split between two; there was not enough meat for two people in our opinion. They only deliver if you have spent £15+ The food tasted nice and the service we received was very good. The restaurant itself is very small and cosy located upstairs of an old cottage type public house building. It is worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walshyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    3
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A good local find.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There were 4 of us visited Sat 28 Sept. The restaurant appeared clean and tidy, pleasant surroundings and good ambience. The service was excellent as was the food. Reasonably priced too. The Manager and staff were attentive and did their best to ensure we enjoyed the experience which we did. It transpires the restaurant has been opened 4 years and we have only just been there, wish we'd tried it sooner as it is an excellent local asset. Would i go again? Definitely yes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martyncooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely small restaurant brilliant service”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here, service was brilliant and good really nice. Would defiantly recommend and visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaRob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmead
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food & service - looking forward to the next visit already!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have lived in the village for just over 3 and a half years now which leaves me wondering why we haven’t eaten here more. We’ve probably eaten in 3 or 4 times and had a few takeaways from there as well.
I’ll try to keep this short and just go through the essentials. The food is excellent – cooked to perfection and full of flavour. I particularly recommend the Chef’s Naga Chicken. They do their own Bengal sauce for dipping poppadoms in which is delicious! The staff are so friendly, polite and efficient. Its very clean inside and nicely decorated. As for price, its so reasonable considering the high quality of the food. Its just a lovely dining experience from start to finish. My wife and I went in there Saturday and although we both love trying different places, we both agreed that we really need to eat there more. We’re really looking forward to our next visit and will be taking friends and family there so they can experience it as well. My advice is go – you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denmead32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant - Great Staff”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Been going to this Restaurant about 6 months since moving to the area, nice atmosphere, staff are great, very friendly, food is very good and although the restaurant is small its quite unique being above pub in a lovely country area, I would definately recommend booking, especially at weekends. highly recommended for a small intermitt restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parklands_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bengal Forest also viewed

Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bengal Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing