We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 11 Chaungtha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Intended to only stay a night at Chaungtha Beach but ended up staying 4 more days. I did not like the accomodation i booked before so i moved here and didnt regret it despite paying 15 dollars for a twin room. The room and bathroom are absolutely spotless. They do have mozzy nets but its kind of annoying to sleep in with the fan blowing. They should have screen nets on the windows so we can open the windows at night. There is a nice balcony - not exactly facing the beach - but good enough to sit to read a book. The staffs are very friendly and would help you with everything. They would ask if you need your room cleaned everyday. Breakfast at their restaurant on the beach itself was wonderful. Overall its a nice relaxing place to chill for a while.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the beach. Some are and some are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

Shwe Ya Minn has literally two faces. Its garden restaurant in the front looks cozy, serves an enormous selection of great food at reasonable prices coming with friendly smiles and services. The accommodation in the back is a different story. $30 for a shabby tiny room in which the entire interior screams for replacement or at least renovation is way too much in SE Asia. Staff seems to agree given their mood of disinterest when moving from front to back. Bring Kyats rather than US$ to pay. I come often in Burma and am well used to the need of perfect dollar bills but this place ridiculously only accepts $ coming straight from Fort Knox.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMA1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This place was by far the best place we stayed in Myanmar. It was our first month of our 8 month journey but we're still talking about it. The staff is amazing. They will help even during their break. When my girlfriend wanted to go for a pedicure, the manager called a lot of places. To make sure that everything went o.k. she joined my girlfriend. When we went to White sand beach they made sure that we had bananas and extra water with us.

At our last night the set up a table outside, which was special decorated for us. The food, and especially the seafood was amazing! The also helped by finding a good hostel in Yangon. Because of the high season this took a while and they had to make several phone call but they didn't charge us anything.

Don't hesitate to go to this place it's really worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StanleyIpkiss008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is the best cheap place for foreigners in Chaungtha!
Receptionist is good english speaker and good take care for customer. (maybe she is manager)
Room is normal. Cost is economy incl.Breakfast.
They are not face to the beach, but can walk 3min to the beach easy.
I will go back to stay here again surely.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harup223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank rayaschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank portoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaungtha
0.0 mi away
Alliance Resort Hotel
Alliance Resort Hotel
#4 of 7 in Chaungtha
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
AZURA Beach Resort
AZURA Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Chaungtha
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hill Garden Hotel
Hill Garden Hotel
#1 of 6 in Chaungtha
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amazing Chaung Tha Resort
Amazing Chaung Tha Resort
#1 of 7 in Chaungtha
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ayeyarwady
Hotel Ayeyarwady
#3 of 11 in Chaungtha
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soe KoKo Beach House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse

Address: Mainroad A-30, Chaungtha 11111, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Chaungtha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chaungtha
Price Range: £14 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse Myanmar/Chaungtha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing