We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 12 Chaungtha B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

we stayed 2 nights at the Shwe Ya Minn guesthouse and if not for booked arrangements in other parts of Myanmar, would have stayed a week. The guesthouse has very nice bungalow style accommodation with fan or if you want AC is an additional charge. The rooms are clean and a good size with bathroom inside. We stayed in the bungalows on the left side which are new. The bungalows on the right side are older but we didn't see any foreigners staying in them. Breakfast is included and is very filling. Due to the arrival of the buses from Yangon ( 3AM ) the guest house will put you in a dorm style accommodation until 10AM when your room is available. If your room is available on arrival they will just check you in without further charge. ALL of the staff are very very nice, with happy smiling faces and on hand to help you with anything you need. The restaurant at this guest house is extremely popular even with outside guests. The food is always good and priced reasonably. Portions are overwhelming. The staff in the restaurant are helpful and pleasant and are on hand from the time you sit down to the time you leave.

I would stay here again if i were to return to Chaungtha.

Room Tip: Bungalows on the left side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eIeven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
8
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Muara, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Intended to only stay a night at Chaungtha Beach but ended up staying 4 more days. I did not like the accomodation i booked before so i moved here and didnt regret it despite paying 15 dollars for a twin room. The room and bathroom are absolutely spotless. They do have mozzy nets but its kind of annoying to sleep in with the fan blowing. They should have screen nets on the windows so we can open the windows at night. There is a nice balcony - not exactly facing the beach - but good enough to sit to read a book. The staffs are very friendly and would help you with everything. They would ask if you need your room cleaned everyday. Breakfast at their restaurant on the beach itself was wonderful. Overall its a nice relaxing place to chill for a while.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the beach. Some are and some are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Shwe Ya Minn has literally two faces. Its garden restaurant in the front looks cozy, serves an enormous selection of great food at reasonable prices coming with friendly smiles and services. The accommodation in the back is a different story. $30 for a shabby tiny room in which the entire interior screams for replacement or at least renovation is way too much in SE Asia. Staff seems to agree given their mood of disinterest when moving from front to back. Bring Kyats rather than US$ to pay. I come often in Burma and am well used to the need of perfect dollar bills but this place ridiculously only accepts $ coming straight from Fort Knox.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMA1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This place was by far the best place we stayed in Myanmar. It was our first month of our 8 month journey but we're still talking about it. The staff is amazing. They will help even during their break. When my girlfriend wanted to go for a pedicure, the manager called a lot of places. To make sure that everything went o.k. she joined my girlfriend. When we went to White sand beach they made sure that we had bananas and extra water with us.

At our last night the set up a table outside, which was special decorated for us. The food, and especially the seafood was amazing! The also helped by finding a good hostel in Yangon. Because of the high season this took a while and they had to make several phone call but they didn't charge us anything.

Don't hesitate to go to this place it's really worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StanleyIpkiss008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is the best cheap place for foreigners in Chaungtha!
Receptionist is good english speaker and good take care for customer. (maybe she is manager)
Room is normal. Cost is economy incl.Breakfast.
They are not face to the beach, but can walk 3min to the beach easy.
I will go back to stay here again surely.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harup223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaungtha
0.0 mi away
Alliance Resort Hotel
Alliance Resort Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chaungtha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
AZURA Beach Resort
AZURA Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Chaungtha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Beach Resort Hotel
Golden Beach Resort Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chaungtha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hill Garden Hotel
Hill Garden Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chaungtha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ayeyarwady
Hotel Ayeyarwady
#3 of 12 in Chaungtha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream House
Dream House
#2 of 12 in Ngwe Saung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse

Property: Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse
Address: Mainroad A-30, Chaungtha 11111, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Chaungtha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chaungtha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shwe Ya Minn Guesthouse Myanmar/Chaungtha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing