We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular - Maison de la Paix far exceeded our...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Issigeac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Carolyn S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular - Maison de la Paix far exceeded our expectations.”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed this beautiful home so very much that is was truly difficult to leave. It is even more amazing than it is described. Living in a stone-walled, wood-beamed 13th century mansion was very special, and we will visit again. We spent a glorious 8 nights here, and we found it to be beautifully restored and very clean with excellently stocked kitchen and clear Wi-Fi and cell service. I don't know how better to say it, except that we fell in love with Maison de la Paix and we miss it terribly. The town of Issigeac was a perfect location from which we were able to ride our road bicycles and take day trips to truly amazing places in every direction: chateaux, historic sites, beautiful vineyards, lovely towns. We took full advantage of the Thursday night summer activity when the town puts out tables and everyone comes to eat together in the city square, choosing from the offerings of local vendors who set up food stations. The moules et frites (mussels and French fries) were the best that we have ever eaten. And, we so enjoyed the Sunday market; you can see the results of our purchases in the photo. The gourmet kitchen was perfect for making great use of the abundant local food to create some amazing meals. We also enjoyed the local restaurants. The town is beautiful, and we felt like we were taking a stroll back in time. Although just two of us visited this time, the home is quite spacious with four bedrooms and 3.5 baths that a larger group would be plenty comfortable. Each bedroom was absolutely beautiful. The people in the town were very gracious and lovely. Thank you John and Louise for a spectacular time.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it. The beauty of this home is fabulous.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you Carolyn and Todd. So glad that you enjoyed Maison de la Paix and Issigeac village life to the fullest. Those Issigeac communal dinners are a whole load of fun and a great way to enjoy the local French culture and cuisine - first hand. I'm sure the medieval setting goes a long way to making them so memorable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillianca...
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loveliest place in Dordgone”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

John and Louise offer guests the most beautifully restored medieval house imaginable. It is complete with lovely, private garden; elegant and comfortable furnishings, along with some furnishings that highlight the medieval nature of the house; yet all the modern appliances of convenience are at your finger tips. John and Louise have been the perfect hosts. Their written instructions for the house as well as a summary of the history and of so many of the activities and viewings in the surrounding areas is wonderfully complete and makes interesting reading. The house is in the tiny bastide of Issigeac, in which one can forget about all the troubles of the outside world and enjoy day trips to other bastides, shop at the varied and festive daily markets, bicycle rides through the little lanes, and view ancient castles and prehistoric paintings in nearby villages. We feel very lucky to be staying here and look forward to returning. Thank you John and Louise.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything--the house, the town, the ambiance, all wonderful
Liked least: Loved it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
It really is a special place and it is an honour and makes us extremely proud to be able to share it with people who appreciate it as much as you have. Having only recently made it available for rentals, the response and feedback from those that have already experienced Maison de la Paix, Issigeac and the whole Perigord experience, is most gratifying. Thank you Gillian and David for the lovely little snippets and photos that you shared with us during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.