We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hunters Lodge Inn

The Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Cornworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are an independent public house nestled away in the picturesque village of Cornworthy, Totnes (Devon) offering delicious food, wine and charm.
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We both love this pub and find ourselves being drawn back to it regularly to sample Bridgette's superb fayre. Andy keeps an excellent cellar too. This is a genuine village pub - friendly, comfortable and unpretentious...just the way we like it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Excellent food reasonably priced, cosy pub with friendly atmosphere. Well off the main road, but straight road from Dittisham Village.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shortbreakers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Whilst staying in Cornworthy, after reading the excellent reviews on here, decided this pub must be visited. How disappointing on arrival that the so called 'welcoming' atmosphere was more one of we will be pleasant because we want your money. We decided that perhaps the first visit was just a bad day for them, so returned for dinner a couple of days later. A very disappointing meal & my partner was very unimpressed with the drinks. This is definitely a pub for the locals or those of an older generation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“visit to Cornworthy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We had Sunday lunch there ten days ago and had the most delicious roast beef with superb roast potatoes and interesting vegetables.The owners were so welcoming and the log fire was so good on the cold, wet day. The service was great and we can only recommend the place highly for a place to visit for an excellent meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pub, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just had a weekend in Cornworthy with three friends and visited the Hunters Lodge twice. Once just for a drink and once for a meal. The pub has a nice atmosphere with open fire and exposed beams. Staff were friendly and the food was excellent, well presented and very tastey. The menu is not extensive but there is something on there to suit most.

Definately worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JCOFSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hunters Lodge Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing