We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kerswell Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kerswell Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I came with my boyfriend for a long weekend over Easter and it really couldnt have been better - it was exactly the kind of B&B I was looking for, luxurious but still rustic, friendly and cosy, amazing views and walks - also having a dog to walk was the icing on the cake! Graham and Nicola were so welcoming and it was almost like having your own beautful farmhouse for the weekend. The village is beautful and really recommend the local pub, The Maltsers. In fact, the whole weekend made me want to move to Devon and open a B&B!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 956vicjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Wow - what a find. This is truly a luxury B&B. The room we had was perfect. Comfortable bed and luxurious bedding. Bath robes in the room. Luxury hi-tech bathroom. The owners, Graham and Nichola, were delightful - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was perfect. All the rooms were full of the most beautiful art works, paintings, photography and ceramics. We took their dog for a walk in the morning down to a beautiful pond with a seating area. All the grounds are breathtaking and beautifully tranquil. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. We will be returning for the promised champagne by the pond!

Room Tip: Gosden was a delightful room. In a separate building from the main farmhouse so beautifully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazza26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We found nothing lacking for a luxury B&B in southern Devon...and I have stayed in many throughout the USA and UK. The hosts accommodated our every need. The rooms were beautifully appointed with fresh, fluffy linens. The spacious bath was a modern design with hi tech plumbing while retaining partial structure of the old farmhouse. Breakfast on all three days was yummy and plentiful, beautifully presented. A impromptu snack was provided one evening when we chose not to venture through the country lanes at night. The views are spectacular, and the owners have gone to great lengths to preserve and improve the property. We enjoyed the other guests and their tales of travel throughout the area. I could only have hoped for a little more room on the curvy, country lanes...something beyond the control of our gracious hosts. I would return again and again if I found myself in that part of the world.

Room Tip: Talk with the owners to choose the perfect one(s) for you. They are all different and offer a varie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiemame333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Rightly one of Devon's top 10 places to stay.When you get there its just 2 lovely people who have done '5 Star B&B' really really properly. But to call it 'B&B' is not doing a totally professional operation justice. They have gone above and beyond and the rooms are stunning and spellbinding views for miles.. No wonder that just after two seasons they have lots of people returning. Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife discovered Kerswell via an internet search of "good places to stay in south Devon". It is better than good, superb is more like it! The property has been sympathetically renovated to a very high standard with top quality fixtures and fittings in the rooms and an array of objets d'arts throughout. So, first impressions excellent. And over a 3 night stay this was proven to be the case again and again.
The freshly cooked cooked breakfasts were also of top quality ingredients and for a prearranged evening meal we requested a lamb based dish which was delicious. Generous in quantity too and reasonably priced.
And look at the views! Also a couple of good pubs are found nearby down on the river Dart.
Graham and Nicola are the most friendly and interesting hosts and they helped to make our stay into what I hope will be the first of many.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twentythirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The welcome was great. The room was fantastic, mirror at the dressing table with a socket nearby. The towels were large, fluffy and white. The breakfast menu was good and well cooked. We had dinner on one evening and this too was very good and we were asked previously if we had any allergies or dislikes. Ok, it was down some very narrow lanes but after all this is Devon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in Kerswell in May 2013 for the bank holiday weekend and could not have had a better experience.

We stayed in Mead and it was just beautiful, everything in the rooms is very high quality and it felt very luxurious!

On arrival Graham greeted us with wine and 'nibbles' of smoked salmon and mushrooms, whilst going out of his way to arrange somewhere for us to eat that evening, even offering us a lift, which was really appreciated.

The breakfast was delicious, I had asked for a gluten free option beforehand which they had forgotten but did profusely apologise for this and luckily I had bought my own gluten free bread with me, so was able to have the poached eggs. There was also two gluten free options on the '1st course' menu for breakfast anyway luckily. Breakfast was really enjoyable with the other guests sitting together, nice way to meet people.

We also sampled a bottle of wine from the cellar which was lovely and good value at £10.50 a bottle. There are ones up to £700 there for the more experienced wine taster!

Nicola and Graham were extremely welcoming and friendly throughout our visit and even gave us a tour of the whole house, which is absolutely fantastic.

We will definitely be back next year and have recommended to all our friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyskibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornworthy
4.0 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pig & Whistle
Pig & Whistle
#1 of 1 in Littlehempston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
#1 of 2 in Stoke Gabriel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Higher Gitcombe
Higher Gitcombe
#1 of 1 in Cornworthy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerswell Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerswell Farmhouse

Property: Kerswell Farmhouse
Address: Kerswell Farmhouse, Cornworthy, Totnes TQ9 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Cornworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cornworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kerswell Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerswell Farmhouse is a beautiful 400-year-old Devonshire longhouse and barn. Located in a secluded part of the South Hams between Totnes and Dartmouth and set in 14 acres of rolling countryside, it enjoys spectacular views towards Dartmoor. Five individually designed en-suite double bedrooms are furnished with antique and contemporary pieces and original artwork. Each room has under-floor heating, sumptuous pocket-sprung mattresses and White Company linen. Breakfasts are equally delightful with a range of choices and using home-produced and local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kerswell Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerswell Farmhouse Cornworthy, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing