We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch stop”
Review of The Bell

The Bell
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Alresford
Price range: US$13 - US$24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Delicious interesting food using fresh local ingredients wherever possible and always the famous local Watercress on the menu, good fresh fish on Fridays & Saturdays. Organic filled baguettes available lunchtimes. Excellent value and international well priced Wine List. Former Georgian coaching inn in centre of delightful Georgian town. Wonderful atmosphere, candlelit tables throughout. Courtyard at the rear.
Cornwall,UK
Level Contributor
314 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Lunch stop”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We popped into the Bell for lunch whilst passing thru the area. Having had a look around Alresford and at the dining options, chose the Bell. Very friendly bar staff who told us the options and showed us the outside area at the back. As it was a hot day we ate outside. Good range of local real ales and a reasonably priced menu a touch above average pub grub. Service was good and the food was nicely presented and tasted lovely.
Recommended for a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Badcat110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    110
    26
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

You don't expect to find a restaurant in a pub crowded on a Monday lunchtime. The Bell was and why?? A truly great fixed price menu £10 for two courses. There were six of us and all enjoyed the meal. My only niggle - I hate being asked what desert I want when ordering my main course. I think your appetite and taste can change after eating your main

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great traditional pub!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I love The Bell! It is a great pub with good food and very friendly staff. Their little terrace at the back is great for summer drinks and in the winter I like to sit by the fireplace. The backed camembert is excellent, it's a must have!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and price ”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I wanted to somewhere to grab some food as we were staying locally at two hoots. We decided on the bell due to its Gorgeous decor. We didn't book and we're seated in a few minutes. Food and drink were reasonably priced. There seemed to be a miss communication with the bar as cokes ordered were not brought to the table until we reminded the staff. It also took a while for the staff to allow us to pay even though they saw our card down. Still nice evening

Helpful?
1 Thank Karlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Four of us went for Sunday lunch. Between us we had the watercress soup, smoked salmon and soufflé for starters; roast lamb, pork or beef for the main course and everything washed down with a South African Pinotage. Including 2 beers and 2 glasses of wine to start the meals were less than £30 a head (with tip). The food was really excellent, the service good and the atmosphere brilliant.

What more could you ask for in a pub Sunday lunch? I will definitely go again. Cannot wait!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell also viewed

Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Alresford, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing