We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alresford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff are helpful and friendly, the room was a good standard and clean and tidy. I asked if they would print off my boarding card and bless them it was done for me.
The restaurant is great, I had the haddock and chips on a Wednesday evening and at £5.50 it was excellent, both in taste and value for money.
I would highly recommend them for both a stay and to eat.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Gladys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here whilst walking the South Downs Way and really enjoyed our stay. The room was a great size, very clean, and had a really good powerful shower! The staff were friendly and polite and the breakfast was excellent quality and included in our rate. The swan is perfectly positioned in the town and would certainly stay here again! The only reservation we had was that you can hear a fair amount noise from the room above such as walking about, talking and loo flushing but this wasn't too big a deal for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for the last 3weeks and i must say this is a lovely clean hotel.room was very nice and spotless.all the staff are polite and are always willing to help.thank you the white swan for a great stay

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Were glamping nearby and so went into alresford to find somewhere to eat. There's a good choice of places to go but we decided to try the swan as it offered a 3 course meal for £12.95 on a Tuesday. As we weren't dressed for the restaurant (in our opinion), we were pleased to be able to sit in the bar which is nicely decorated with a welcoming atmosphere. Watercress soup to start (what else in alresford!) then sausage and mash, followed by cheesecake. All the food was tasty and the staff were friendly and efficient. Hope to return when next in the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JCMHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed a number of times at the Swan and always found it satisfactory and worth paying for. Location is excellent, rooms always clean and staff very friendly. If there was one thing I would improve is the showers, they are either too small, difficult to use or sometimes non existent (I.e just part of a bath set). Expect better these days for hotel rather than b&b establishment. Breakfast ia excellent too though.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the swan on a last minute night away and I had mixed feelings about my choice due to the mixed reviews however I have to say that it was lovely and the breakfast was the best eggs benedict ever! The photos really don't do the hotel justice. I would definitely go back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed last night in the new wing at the back of the hotel. Room was nicely furnished and with sizeable en suite. There is however only plasterboard between rooms and those in the next room decided to stay up talking and playing the radio until 2am. You could virtually hear the entire conversation.So no sleep until after that. I guess that was just bad luck as most guests should be more considerate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alresford
6.8 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,899 reviews
10.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
495 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
1,044 reviews
9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 11 West Street | Alresford, Alresford SO24 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alresford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alresford
Price Range: £114 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel is a charming 18th-century hotel located in the centre of Alresford, just 15 minutes drive from Winchester. Looking down West Street in the Historic Town of Alresford in Hampshire. The Swan Hotel is situated on the left hand side where for over two hundred and fifty years it has served the community well from the original horse drawn coaches running from London to Southampton to modern day travellers. The hotel offers 22 bedrooms with the deluxe rooms being recently refurbished to a high standard. All of our rooms are en-suite and set out for a comfy night sleep. Choose to dine in either our restaurant, less formal Watercress Room or bar food in the Tap Room Stalls. Free parking located at the rear of the hotel. You'll benefit from: Ample free car parking onsite 22 en-suite bedrooms with flat screen TV and Sky Free WiFi for guests in public areas Large function rooms Restaurant, lounge and bar Wedding receptions a specialty ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Alresford, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing