We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are first class ++++++”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alresford
Certificate of Excellence
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Staff are first class ++++++”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had a short stay at the Swan hotel after a very busy weekend at local festival Boomtown... The staff were first class, hotel was spotless and very well presented plus the food was fantastic.. Definitely would recommend!! See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    65
    21
    14
    14
See reviews for
38
84
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
faringdon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel last year for friend's 60th birthday and were very impressed! So this year, as it was our group of friends 40th wedding anniversaries, we decided to try it again for an overnight stay with evening meal, bed & breakfast. There were 5 couples and we were greeted by some members of staff who remembered us from last year!!! The rooms were spotless, the food was excellent (nobody had any complaints) and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy with everything without being too "in your face". We were provided with a room for our private meal in the evening and it was set up for our breakfast the next day. All members of our group said that it was excellent value for money and we are up to making this an annual event. Would have no problem recommending this hotel to friends and family and already have done so!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breakawayFaringdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The staff are helpful and friendly, the room was a good standard and clean and tidy. I asked if they would print off my boarding card and bless them it was done for me.
The restaurant is great, I had the haddock and chips on a Wednesday evening and at £5.50 it was excellent, both in taste and value for money.
I would highly recommend them for both a stay and to eat.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gladys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here whilst walking the South Downs Way and really enjoyed our stay. The room was a great size, very clean, and had a really good powerful shower! The staff were friendly and polite and the breakfast was excellent quality and included in our rate. The swan is perfectly positioned in the town and would certainly stay here again! The only reservation we had was that you can hear a fair amount noise from the room above such as walking about, talking and loo flushing but this wasn't too big a deal for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long eaton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for the last 3weeks and i must say this is a lovely clean hotel.room was very nice and spotless.all the staff are polite and are always willing to help.thank you the white swan for a great stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Were glamping nearby and so went into alresford to find somewhere to eat. There's a good choice of places to go but we decided to try the swan as it offered a 3 course meal for £12.95 on a Tuesday. As we weren't dressed for the restaurant (in our opinion), we were pleased to be able to sit in the bar which is nicely decorated with a welcoming atmosphere. Watercress soup to start (what else in alresford!) then sausage and mash, followed by cheesecake. All the food was tasty and the staff were friendly and efficient. Hope to return when next in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JCMHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed a number of times at the Swan and always found it satisfactory and worth paying for. Location is excellent, rooms always clean and staff very friendly. If there was one thing I would improve is the showers, they are either too small, difficult to use or sometimes non existent (I.e just part of a bath set). Expect better these days for hotel rather than b&b establishment. Breakfast ia excellent too though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alresford
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
986 reviews
9.0 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
460 reviews
6.9 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
9.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 11 West Street | Alresford, Alresford SO24 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alresford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alresford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Alresford, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing