We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed by new management”
Review of The Bush Inn

The Bush Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Restaurants in Alresford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A lovely traditional pub on the banks of the beaiutiful River Itchen serving a selection of freshly cooked dishes including pub classics, fish and seafood and locally sourced meat, game and poultry.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed by new management”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have been visiting this lovely pub for years and always impressed by the quality of food. However today my salmon with risotto was not much bigger than a starter and the risotto was completely tasteless. My companion's steak was well done instead of rare as asked for, and the management's riposte was that they preferred it that way (probably a clumsy attempt at a joke); they seemed completely unaware that this wasn't very good customer relations. The desserts were all heavy for a summer's day and not very imaginative so we passed on that. Assume the chef has changed and while it was quite expensive in the past it was worth it then. Now it isn't. I also question whether you need waiter service in a pub garden. It seems a touch pretentious for what is essentially a gem of an English pub. Good service from waiters, bad from management.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    103
    52
    39
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We found this little gem by accident , decided to have lunch here , we had ploughmans and prawn sandwiches, lovely fresh food and not too expensive, staff were friendly and service was good,
Will visit again, beer garden was packed which i think is always a good sign

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in a charming English pub”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Between us we had a wide selection of starters, main and sweet and every one was of excellent quality with substantial portions. When I enquired about the beers I was given sound advice by a man who knew what he was talking about and then enjoyed good, friendly service as we ate our lunch. Superb location. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AOB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stumbled upon this hidden gem on a dash to Farnham from the Isle of Wight. We arrived about half eight and we were pleased that food was available to order. The staff were absolutely fantastic and showed us to a table, and given menus, within 5 minutes another member of staff came to take our order. We choose the Sausages on a bed of mash and vegetables. The food was cooked to order. We cannot fault the food, service or presentation of this inn. And we have vowed to make it a regular stop on our journeys to and from the Island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food, service and location”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely table booked in the window this evening. The waiter was very friendly, did not rush us at all and was happy to make recommendations. We had the smoked salmon and chicken pate for starters and the pork special and salmon risotto for mains. The food was lovely, couldn't fault it. The waiting time between courses was perfect and the food came beautifully presented with lovely unexpected salad garnishes. We were too full to try the puddings but there's always next time! Would definitely recommend this place, I'm sure it's gorgeous in the garden on a nice sunny weekend but don't forget it on a nice quiet evening when you get specially looked after!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlexG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bush Inn also viewed

Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing