We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great welcome, superb value! 'Four Marks -Travelodge diner!'”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Alresford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
UK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food, great welcome, superb value! 'Four Marks -Travelodge diner!'”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Recommended to The Ship Inn by Travelodge Four Marks' reception staff and were far from disappointed: great welcome, good food served promptly and excellent value. Other patrons were recommended from Travelodge and clearly enjoyed the menu. Worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MuchtravelledIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    22
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food - massive portions”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Recently ate at the Ship on two occasions. Traditional old style pub with traditional pub grub. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Landlord and landlady are very friendly and make you feel at home. Well worth visiting for food as you will not leave hungry and will be happy to go back for more. Chicken Curry was delicious and Gammon was cooked to perfection. Will definitely be going back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Went out of the way to help”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

A family of 6 we were recommended the country pub by the local travelodge. We were dubious at first as our children are ot the quietest however we were made to feel very at home with the la nd lady offering toys for the children too xx deffo worth a vist food was good too xx

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AshfordCarebear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
1 review
“very warm welcome”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A beautiful traditional country style pub, a very warm welcome from the landlord and landlady, large portions and very reasonable prices, well worth a vistit if in the area, i will most certainly be coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than just a pub grub.”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Friendly staff and warming locals. This pub sits at the very heart of Bishop Sutton community. The talks and the laughter of people around draws you to appreciate the quality of an English pub.

I've enjoyed the soup of the day so much that I couldn't manage to finish my generously served steak.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seigelistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Alresford, Hampshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing