We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Winchester

The Lodges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodges
View from Ropley Station Historical Ropley Station
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The Lodges
View from Ropley Station
Historical Ropley Station
Kitchen is modern with granite work surfaces
FULLY FITTED KITCHENS
Kitchen
Kitchen
THE BATHROOM
Shower
THE LIVING ROOM
THE TWIN BEDROOM
THE DOUBLE BEDROOM
The Lodges
The Winchester Lodge
Lodges
The Alton
Welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alresford, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debra W
Kuala lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect setting”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed at the lodges with my sons during their recent half term. The lodge was perfect, quiet and secluded enough for revision, but only a short distance from several towns.

The owners have put a huge amount of thought into the lodges, from the comfortable furnishings and well equipped kitchen, to the board games and information on local walks and amenities.

I would not hesitate to recommend the lodges, whether you are a couple, family or group of friends, there is something for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully peaceful at Watercress Lodge”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed with a group of old school friends and the Watercress Lodges at Ropley. The surrounding area is beautiful countryside and the lodges face directly onto the steam railway station. The insides of the lodges (we had two of them for our group) were decorated and furnished to a very high standard, with modern and well equipped kitchen; all spotlessly clean. It seems like the owners have put a lot of thought into the lodges and have included some nice touches such as racks for muddy boots, key safes (so you don't have to walk round with the key all day) and outdoor picnic benches for each lodge.
I cannot praise the lodges enough, they were comfortable, warm and perfect for our needs. I definitely recommend to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped, clean and comfortable lodge.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger M
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mid Hants Railway - Spring Gala”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We initially intended to visit the Mid Hants Railway for one day during the three day Spring Gala. However, we had spotted the Watercress Lodges at Ropley last autumn and decided to book one for the whole three day event. I am so glad that we made the decision to do so as the whole stay was top rate.
We found the lodge to be comfortable, clean and extremely well equipped. Obviously its position relative to the railway was just what we were looking for and we were not disappointed in any way and our expectations were exceeded in all respects.
We would certainly recommend the property to anyone who likes self-catering holidays with all the comforts of home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chance to hop on the Watercress line
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing