We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fish and Chips but getting pricey”
Review of Hive Beach Cafe

Hive Beach Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$89
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We’re committed to using fresh, locally sourced seafood - when available we serve fish straight from the very shoreline you’ll be eating on. We offer a wide selection of cakes, biscuits and take away treats. All homemade by Melanie and her team at the Hive Beach Micro Bakery based in Burton Bradstock. We’re happy to accommodate large parties of diners and we’re dog friendly but we don’t take reservations so it’s advisable to arrive a little early for lunch as we do get busy! Please check our website for up to date opening hours because we do open for dinner during the spring and summer season. Whilst we do our best to reduce the risk of cross-contamination in our restaurants, we cannot guarantee that any of our dishes are free from allergens and therefore cannot accept any liability in this respect. We urge customers with any form of allergies to assess their own level of risk and consume dishes at their own risk. Please ask to speak to the chef on duty if you are in need of any assistance in this regard
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Fish and Chips but getting pricey”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have been here many times. Fish and Chips are always good. We usually go for a child's portion as the main meal is just too large. The menu is getting pricey but the location is good with plenty of parking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charaxes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    556
    238
    121
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“...been going for years won't return!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have been visiting Dorset annually for 10 years and it always includes a trip to the Hive Cafe as we have considered the food to be really good and reasonable priced.
This is a 'cafe' NOT a 'restaurant - we are talking Formica tables and tarpaulin covered walls and roof for the main part of the seating. You queue up to order and pay and a waitress will appear shouting your number and give you your food. The toilets are the public ones outside the premises.
Past popularity has now led them to justify charging £13.45 for fish and chips? Other options (the number of which have been reduced) were around the £18-20 mark. There were baked potatoes and sandwiches but even the sandwiches were £7.00!
Sorry but we don't think the prices justify the offering you can get an excellent fish and chips for £5-6 on many of the cafés around the coast and West Bay and Lyme Regis are full of them offering lovely seafood notably Rachel's Cafe at West bay much nicer food at a a third of the price.
Will not be returning next year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Top-Rate Prices, Lousy Service”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had deliberately aimed to get here for lunch on our recent trip along the south coast, as on a previous visit, we had popped in for coffee but had not eaten and had heard so many good reports - hence our repeat visit!

It was just as we remembered, fantastic location, unusual layout and simply lovely looking food with an extensive, interesting menu. What we had forgotten however were the eye-wateringly high prices! I was simply not prepared to pay £13 for a homemade fishcake on a few salad leaves in a self-service cafe environment and to add insult to injury - the queue was as long as your arm, with just one young lady taking the orders and processing the payments.

There were no trays left when we joined the back of the queue and on getting to the young lady to order, when we asked for a tray she asked for some to be brought - but they never did arrive. Annoyingly, she also asked which table we were sitting at - I had no idea at that point as just about every table was occupied! What a stupid question! A smoked salmon sandwich at £5+ and a fresh crab sandwich at £8+ finally arrived at our table. Both were very nicely presented, and tasty - particularly the crab.

Then, just to put the tin lid on our experience, the place was full of folks with dogs (at least 6 in the immediate vicinity of our table) of all shapes and sizes - with just one thing in common - they yapped and snarled at each other! I love dogs - but please let's have responsible dog owners who keep them under control in public places!

Maybe we just caught them on a bad day - but it was certainly a big disappointment to us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“As good as people say!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a great cafe, serving great food in one of the best locations in the country - get there for breakfast and be prepared to queue, it's worth it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location right on the beach. Visited on a wet and windy morning. Quick stroll on the beach, and then to the cafe for a cup of tea. The cafe was very busy, but fortunately has lots of seating. The seating is in a tent, which is a bit odd, but presumably that disappears in the summer. We only had tea (£1.60 per cup), so can't comment on the extensive menu. National Trust car park provides easy parking (£1 per hour when we visited). Would like to sample the food next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hive Beach Cafe also viewed

West Bay, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to Hive Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing