We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Minnies Cottage

Minnies Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Minnies Cottage
Minnies The Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Minnies Cottage
Minnies
The Living Area
Dinning Area
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
The back of the Cottage
The Back Garden
Alfresco Dinning
Chesil Beach from the Cliffs near the Cottage
West Bay
Fossil hunting
Sunset
The Cliffs at the Beach
Beach Walks
The Jurassic Coast
Sunset over Lyme Regis
Sunrise over West Bay
Lyme Regis
Freshly caught and cooked
The Beach near the cottage
Hive Cafe from the Beach
Lots of sea
More sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burton Bradstock, Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shazia K
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Myself, my husband, our 3 year old and 10 month old stayed for 4 nights at the end of March. It was unseasonally cold but Minnies cottage was lovely and cosy. We went for walks on the beach and really enjoyed sampling the home-made cakes of the Hive cafe.
The cottage came really well equipped and the chocolates and milk in the fridge were really appreciated. Definitely would stay again although next time we may choose a warmer time of year so we can enjoy the surroundings a bit more !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosy lounge area
Liked least: the electric fire
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexjhurl...
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little cottage, in beautiful, quiet village location”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Great base for exploring. Lyne Regis, bridport, chessil beach, Weymouth and Dorchester all within east reach. Accomodation good, all major amenities provided !

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip M
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great base to explore Dorset, nice village and close to the coast.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Minnies is a cosy cottage in a very pretty village. There are two shops and two pubs just around the corner and the stunning coastline is only a few minutes away. Walking to West Bay is staightforward and well worth it too. We explored from Swanage in the East to Beer in the West and were very lucky with the weather.
Booking was very easy with great communication from the cottage owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great village location just where we wanted it to explore.
Liked least: Did bang my head a few times getting into the bathroom!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbread
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage in fabulous location”
Reviewed 30 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed at Minnies in October. It is a lovely cosy cottage and full of character. Simon, the owner , was really helpful and we cannot fault the service he provided. The cottage is small, particularly downstairs as it is effectively just one room (kitchen, dining, living space) but we did not find it a problem at all even with our 2 young kids. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you could need. The village itself is very peaceful and friendly. During our walk there and back to the beach, everyone we came across chatted or said hello. We ate at the Anchor pub twice during our week at Minnie's. The food is fab! The current owners are leaving in a week's time so fingers crossed it stays as good as the pub is 5 minute walk from the cottage and is child friendly. If you stay here you must try the Hive Beach Cafe - amazing food too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: slightly worn
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpetual...
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A gem in the midst of an idyllic location”
Reviewed 22 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures provided do not do this cottage justice. It is located on a beautiful, quiet street lined with flower covered thatched cottages in Burton Bradstock. The lower level of the cottage is small, but very well equipped with clean utensils...and even a dishwasher. The back garden is lovely, and we enjoyed many morning coffees here as well as an evening meal, when we were not eating in the nearby pubs. The bedrooms upstairs were very comfortable, and my daughter loved the Lindt chocolates left on the pillow. The welcome back of Dorset cookies, coffee, tea and milk, was also greatly appreciated. We enjoyed lovely walks directly from this cottage to the coast and around the nearby countryside. Even when it rains here, the location is beautiful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEeaton
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed 6 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage set in the most idyllic english country village. Served as a perfect long weekend destination as it gave us the location so we could visit the sights we wanted to visit, but at the same time the cottage was delightful to be in, so it didn't feel like we needed to stay away. When we were there it was very comfortable and certainly had everything we needed plus more. For me it is the little things that amount to a great rental cottage - the dishwasher tablets so you can use the dishwasher, the picnic gear for that spontaneous lunch out, a few herbs, clingfilm, tupperware containers. All those odds and ends you find yourself taking for granted whilst at home and needing when you are away. In my mind it sets this holiday rental as a huge notch above so many!

Simon the landlord couldn't have been more helpful during the booking process, and the guide they provide is great for getting to know the best local shops/amenities. They also now do have a travel cot and baby totseat feeding chair, so it means for parents of young children, its a welcome relief to have a few less things to pack in the car!

Overall a fantastic holiday cottage which we would have no reservation booking again or indeed recommending to family & friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing