We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tale of Two halves”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Tale of Two halves”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We ate here twice in a week - it was nearly just the once, but we thought we would give them another chance. This is not the first time we have visited, the first was about four years ago and we loved it. This time we were staying in Burton Bradstock and took advantage of two pubs within a short walk.

The Anchor has a restaurant and a bar area. Dogs are allowed in both and it did not prove a problem. The menu in the restaurant is far larger and more elaborate than the bar and I would say that the atmosphere is better. I think a tv does distract husbands!

This place prides itself on fish, so I started with crabs claws and they were perfect: served with mayonnaise to dip into with proper implements and a finger bowl. All going swimmingly, I thought. We then had fish and were underwhelmed. I think to served overcooked fish was almost inexcusable. There were plenty of vegetables but they did not make up for the fish. My husband had the crumble and he enjoyed it.
I had the house sauvignon which was passable - just. The husband is very fond of Dorset Gold, so he was happy.

The second trip we were in the bar area and I had the crab claws as before but I had to ask for the implements and also the finger bowl. The fish I had was very well cooked and I enjoyed it.

Overall, nice place, very friendly staff, welcoming, but not quite as we remembered.
Would we come back - yes but probably we would choose a safer dish.
It is important to book here

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthiegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    148
    34
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fabulous restaurant in one of the most beautiful villages in Dorset. Menu choices extensive - brilliant if you like seafood and fish. You need to book!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“They now have Boutique Style Rooms as well”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have eaten here many times and have just returned from a 2 night stay in recently refurbished rooms (they have 3). The accommodation is to a very good standard and the location difficult to beat.

As always the food is the icing on the cake: with the breakfast only available to residents and honestly one of the best I have had anywhere - good quality and plenty of everything freshly cooked to order. Our other meals were as good as always and the service efficient and friendly. The food and drink went down even better as we did not have to travel afterwards.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sublime food with attentive service”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My Family and I ate at this excellent Hostelry twice during a recent stay in Dorset, to be honest I think we would have eaten here all week if we had discovered it earlier!!
Staff are attentive but not fussy, and could not have made us feel more welcome.
I hate reviews which fuss over cost and whether it was "worth the money" All that matters is whether the food was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the whole experience offered. Suffice to say we were all more than impressed with our meals and the service received was first class.
We highly recommend this establishment.
Very much looking forward to visiting again next time we are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crayfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“quality food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

this is my 2nd visit & we treated our teenage children. My daughter commented on having the best tasting pate & mouth-watering duck she'd ever tasted! My son was initially worried about any bones in his fish, but thankfully not one was found. My husband, not an avid fish fan, plunged for the thai fish cakes & raved about them all night, even though he had a gorgeous rib eye to follow. I had the delicious scallops, which I hastened to add are to die for! Followed by the fantastic fish trio, all meals are surved with a choice of potatoes-highly recommend the homemade chips, and salad or veg. We did pig out on the homemade deserts too! The service was excellent, in between servings was well timed and all in all a real gem, defonately will return & highly recommend, though advisable to book, though not necessary.

Helpful?
Thank wolfieuk9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
West Bay, Bridport
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing