We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant place. Incredible views of Lyme Bay”
other travellers have booked this property
A stunning view from your private balcony. Over looking all Lyme bay and our private beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A stunning view from your private balcony. Over looking all Lyme bay and our private beach
Cogden cottages a former Victorian coastguard station. Beach front location- any closer and your toes would get wet.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
A stunning view from your private balcony. Over looking all Lyme bay and our private beach
Cogden cottages a former Victorian coastguard station.
Beach front location- any closer and your toes would get wet.
Walk on our private beach.
Enclosed garden
Kitchen
Bathroom with lots of space.
The southwest coastal path runs through our property.
Double bedroom with quality furniture and sea view.
Second bedroom is a twin single bedroom - with sea view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Burton Bradstock, Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rhys w
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place. Incredible views of Lyme Bay”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I spent the week at this brilliant place in a comfortable cottage with the most fantastic views from a private deck.
The accommodation was well enough presented, especially considering the price, and was cleaned to a very acceptable standard. It was bigger than I expected and had all we needed.
The views are to die for and it was easy to find and get in.
There was always staff about if you needed them - not that we did.
There is loads to do in the area. Weymouth and Lyme Regis are not far away and the beach is directly in front of you. Bridport and West Bay have plenty of places to eat.
Lovely stay

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterc0rc...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent place & people & not far from beach & plenty of places to go close by. This is also a very dog friendly area with plenty of walks with or without the dog on & around the seafront.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road66555...
1 review
“Such a fabulous place”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I had the most lovely time at this beautiful place. The cottage had the most breathtaking views from a private balcony.
The accommodation was fresh and clean and more than adequate for our needs. Amazing value for such a fantastic location.
Kim was so helpful and always smiling. It it a very relaxed place and ideal for anyone hoping to get a good priced holiday in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amazing views
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: sea view
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LouiseClo...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“extremely neglected and dirty cottage”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The family stayed in Snoop cottage for 1 week.
On arrival we found the cottage in a very neglected and dirty state.
-large cobwebs and a heavy layers of dust on the curtain poles in the bedrooms.
Windows were all covered in a heavy layer of dust, including the handles.
- bin in the lounge was extremely dirty.
-all the kitchen was very dirty. ALL utensils and crockery required rewashing, even the oven gloves and tin opener!!!.
-Settee and lounge chairs were stained/dirty.
-Lounge very dark
- fittings and furnishings very cheap.
- had to walk up drive to get internet access.

We immediately spoke with the woman on duty in the office who apologised for the above and commented that the cottage had recently been let by some students who had left the cottage in a bad state. We believe this did not excuse or explain the general state of neglect and dust, which must have accumulated over many months.
As my husband left the office he commented that we would now have to spend the morning cleaning the facilities. (The cleaning took 3 hours- and no we don't have OCD/particularly high standards!)
2 days after complaining we found a small gift left in the entrance hall, apologising for the mess. The note also stated that she hoped that the cottage was now ok!! (following no intervention from herself!!)

The only positive point was the lovely view from the balcony. Good job the weather was dry as we tried to spend as much time out there as possible.
It may be completely incidental but my son is still on a course of antibiotics from a skin infection that developed during this holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the balcony
Liked least: dirty and neglected
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
With respect to your review. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. It has been our pleasure to successfully supply family holidays for more than 50 years and we are always disappointed if our one of our guests are disappointed.
Your review is unfortunate and from a purely objective perspective highly exaggerated and in some places plainly inaccurate.
I never had a conversation with you Louise about the cleanliness of the apartment at any time.. I only ever saw your husband briefly on Sunday and had a conversation about cleaning. I was under the mistaken impression that you had done additional cleaning on entry to the apartment and, having done so, there was no further cleaning necessary. With that in mind I went to see you early on Monday to discuss any further issues you may of had, however, you were out so I left a gift for you for your inconvenience with my personal contact details inviting you to contact me directly if you had any more problems. I heard nothing.
There were no students in your apartment at all, they were staying in another apartment.
We are annually and independently assessed by quality in tourism for which our apartments received a 90% rating for cleaning rating. I am happy to send you the evaluation.
Therefore, to even hint that your child received a skin infection from staying in the apartment as opposed from playing out side or on the beach or from any other place is ridiculous. It calls into question your objectivity of your evaluation in all areas and your motives for saying it.
Your review is entirely inconsistent with all the others received thus far. Therefore, future customers will have to make their own judgement weighting the accuracy of your review.
Once again I am sorry your did not enjoy your stay and feel that your needs were not met.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs. Patr...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very good position on costal path, Nice cottage plenty of pots and white goods, dishwasher broke down but was given a new one, owner came round to ask was everything alright.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiEochaid...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful weekend here with our 3 year old. Our house had an incredible sea view balcony, which was also a perfect play pen for our toddler! It was so quiet and peaceful, with just the sound of the sea at night, and incredible views over miles and miles of empty beach. The beach was right beside the park, and it was really beautiful and quiet. Nearby Westbay provided necessary ice-creams and people watching. The nearest sandy beach is Weymouth, about 30 mins drive. the nearby ones don't provide for the makings of great sand castles!

The house was really well equipped, the owner Kim was extremely helpful. The one drawback was that our house just had a shower head in the bath, with no shower screen or curtain, and nowhere to hang the shower head, so the whole bathroom tended to get a bit wet. But that was a very minor drawback for an otherwise incredible stay. I would highly recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lack of a proper shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing