We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday cottage”
Review of Norburton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton Bradstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norburton Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We chose to stay in the Dairy Cottage based on the numerous good reviews left by previous visitors. It was everything promised and more. The cottage is authentic, comfortable and well equipped. The combination of Norburton Hall, Burton Bradstock and the Dorset Coast allowed us to relax and chill out.

The owners make great hosts and go out of their way to make you feel at home. We are so glad we ignored the very few minor criticisms posted by some reviewers, as these are completely out of kilter with vast majority of reviews.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Norburton Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Lovely, friendly owners. A delightful cottage in secluded and peaceful location, breathtakingly beautiful area of Dorset.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank hethmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed in Stables 2. Very comfortable one bedroom conversion, with great power shower & facilities. Karen is a g8 hostess. Would v much like to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimpchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We were looking for a short country break and happened across Norburton Hall in the quiet village of Burton Bradstock. It turned out to be perfect accommodation in an ideal location. We stayed in the Stables 1, which was ideal for our purposes having plenty of space, a big kitchen and a luxurious bedroom, that was ultra-comfortable. Karen (the owner) was incredibly friendly and gave us a tour of the other rooms and accommodation on leaving. The B&B rooms in the Hall itself are stunning with tasteful, but grand styling. The self catering apartments were all neatly done out. None would disappoint, but we felt that probably the upstairs Stables provided the best value if you're just a couple.

The village is very quiet and doesn't have a particular centre, but does have two pubs and post office that sells local produce. We found the food at the Anchor was outstanding and great for seafood lovers. It's also a short walk to Hive Beach and the, now famous, cafe didn't disappoint. Look out for the enormous crabs on the menu. It was, however, extremely busy when we were there.

Beyond is a stunning beach with cliff backdrop and a short walk will always reward you with a quiet spot to relax by the sea. There is, of course, stunning scenery on the cliff-top walks, a great golf course (on said-same cliffs) and some great restaurants nearby – River Cottage Canteen is well worth a lunchtime visit in Axminster, but get there early.

We wouldn't have any hesitation in returning to Norburton Hall for a longer visit as there's so much to do and see nearby and the accommodation, grounds and village are just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Our first stay in The Shippen was very enjoyable. Karen, the owner, was extremely helpful and lovely. The Shippen was very comfortable (the bed especially for a great night's sleep) and of a very high standard with all the mod cons for self catering. I would not hesitate in recommending this to family, friends or anyone else. The surrounding grounds are quiet and lovely which made for an even more relaxing stay.

For an evening meal, I recommend The Three Horseshoes and The Anchor both in Burton Bradstock for extremely good food and drink. The Anchor is more expensive than The Three Horsehoes but well worth the extra expense. Both serve big portions of food and I don't know how anybody could manage a three course meal. I could not fault the service in both pubs. My husband, myself and mother-in-law did not dress up for each meal as we did not feel the need as they were pubs and on our way out of the Anchor a snotty cow commented "I didn't know it was dress down tonight" so the customers of the Anchor have the potential to be snobs (and I am not referring to all customers) but the landlord had no problem with us in any event.

Whilst out and about on our travels we visited Compton Acres Garden in Poole. I recommend a visit just for the Japanese garden alone. We visited in May 2011 and it was full of bright flowers (mostly azaleas). Monkey World is a great place to visit and you also know your money is going to a good cause as Monkey World is a charity who rescue ill-treated monkeys around the world. A visit to Lyme Regis sitting on the beach with a bag of chips never goes amiss and I would also recommend a visit to The Anchor Inn pub in Seatown, Bridport where you can sit and enjoy a pint on the cliff edge looking down over the pebble beach.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed in one of the holiday cottages for a week with our family (2 children aged 12 and 9). Had a great stay - cottage was clean and comfortable. Lovely setting - walk to the shingle beach, within easy reach of all attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

So pleasantly surprised by our all too short recent visit.
The room we had was fantastic and Karen is a great host.
My only probelm is if I recommend it to too many people, others will want to visit, and I won`t have all to myself.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank zac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton Bradstock
1.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
827 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
173 reviews
10.4 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norburton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norburton Hall

Address: Norburton Hall Shipton Lane, Burton Bradstock, Bridport DT6 4NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Burton Bradstock
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burton Bradstock
Hotel Class:4 star — Norburton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 and 5 star gold award cottages in the grounds of a country house retreat within walking distance of the beach. All set in 6 acres of tranquil grounds - beautiful surroundings, no noise from road traffic and easy parking - all within a picturesque setting. An ideal peaceful retreat to escape to. Take your favourite book and relax in the shade of mature trees or enjoy an outdoor feast using the barbecues provided for guest use.Norburton Hall gives you the best of all worlds with its secluded position away from roads yet conveniently placed for all village facilities. Cosy pubs with thatched roofs, open fires, real ale and superb local food are all within 5 minutes walking distance along footpaths or quiet lanes and the beach is just an easy 20 minute walk with a shortcut that takes you past the Church and village school. A good base for exploring the South West Coast Path and Jurassic Coast. Cottages accommodate from 2 to 19 people in total. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norburton Hall Hotel Burton Bradstock
Norburton Hall Burton Bradstock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing