We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant weekend!!”
Review of Norburton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton Bradstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norburton Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at the Gardener's Cottage at the beginning of June for a surprise family birthday get together. The location was first class as was the help offered by the owners and the kindness they showed in leaving my Mum a birthday card! The grounds were fantastic for laying out in the sun.....the dog especially enjoyed the garden! The only two very slight criticism's would be that the pans in the kitchen weren't stainless steal so were a bit tricky to clean. Also the internet, although offered, isn't all that reliable however I appreciate that wouldn't be a concern for most people. The beds were very comfy, the lounge great for socialising or just watching tv......I'm just hoping there's another reason to go and stay again!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexmcneillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We decided to stay at Norburton Hall because it was "dog friendly” and the reviews were great We were certainly not disappointed. We stayed in the Hayloft – it’s light and airy with plenty of space to relax in the open plan accommodation. There is a fully fitted kitchen, a large modern bathroom and a delightful bedroom with very comfortable bed, all of which was spotlessly clean. We particularly liked the wooden flooring, the stable door and the small patio outside. The grounds of Norburton Hall are lovely too and very peaceful to relax in.
There is a pleasant walk through the picturesque village of Burton Bradstock to Hive Beach and the amazing Hive Cafe, where the food is outstanding – Eggs Benedict with Smoked Haddock for breakfast and Lobster for lunch – definitely not to be missed !. It’s a perfect holiday spot with easy access to all the other wonderful parts of Dorset.
Best of all was Karen - she is absolutely charming, nothing was too much trouble and she made us feel so welcome that we really didn’t want to leave. This is truly a really wonderful place we adored it and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: While we were there we looked at all the accommodation - some is dog-friendly and some not, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sues84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Had a fantastic week's stay in The Stables which is one of the holiday properties in the grounds of Norburton Hall. Norburton Hall is a great base for exploring the Dorset coast and countryside with a number of locations within walking distance, including the beach which has a great seafood cafe, and the village of Burton Bradstock where there are a couple of pubs serving great food. For the days when you don't feel like venturing far, the extensive grounds are great for just relaxing and having a BBQ. Karen was a great host and made us feel at home. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smeadows2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just back from a week in the Shippen with my husband and 2 year old daughter, Ava. The Shippen was ideal - all on one level so no stairgates to worry about and travel cot would fit in either bedroom so perfect for those on holiday with a little one. Burton Bradstock itself is a lovely village situated between Weymouth and Lyme Regis so it is easy to visit both. Nearby Abbotsbury is also very pleasant. On Karen's advice we visited the Children's Farm (where Ava enjoyed her first pony ride), the Swannery and the Gardens. Ideal for families and couples alike (unfortunately with a 2 year old we were unable to take full advantage of the local pub) I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slancaster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We're just back from a great week away staying in the Shippen at the wonderful Norburton Hall. The Shippen was converted into holiday accommodation a few years ago and whilst showing a few signs of wear and tear is still up there amongst the best rental accommodation we've stayed in. Add to this the perfect peace and quiet of the grounds of Norburton Hall, the ease of access to the South West Coastal path (if you can tear yourself away from the Hive Beach Cafe), and the links to other fantastic parts of west Dorset, and you have the ideal recipe for a great holiday.
Karen's local knowledge encouraged us to do some great walks and en route visit some wonderful places for lunch or snacks.
We even managed two quick sightings of the resident Woodpecker in the grounds - remember to take your binoculars.

We're already planning a two week stay in 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed as a family party and enjoyed it immensley: in particular the Hay Loft is highly recommended. It is a beautiful place, very peaceful and well located for the area's activities. I would cetainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haygroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in the Shippen May 2013 with my mother and her Guide Dog. Karen made us all so welcome it felt like home. Beautiful grounds to walk in and listen to the birds singing. The cleanest holiday home we have ever rented with the most comfortable beds. The breakfast box is a must - make sure you order one. The surrounding area is beautiful with a pleasant walk to the hive cafe through the village that my 80 year mother did effortlessly even managing the hill back to the cottage. Karen happily allowed us to entertain relatives at The Shippen it felt just like the cottage was ours. Will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton Bradstock
6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Seaside Boarding House
The Seaside Boarding House
#2 of 5 in Burton Bradstock
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Burton Bradstock
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Graston Copse Holiday Park
Graston Copse Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Burton Bradstock
71 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Norburton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norburton Hall

Address: Norburton Hall Shipton Lane, Burton Bradstock, Bridport DT6 4NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Burton Bradstock
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burton Bradstock
Hotel Class:4 star — Norburton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 and 5 star gold award cottages in the grounds of a country house retreat within walking distance of the beach. All set in 6 acres of tranquil grounds - beautiful surroundings, no noise from road traffic and easy parking - all within a picturesque setting. An ideal peaceful retreat to escape to. Take your favourite book and relax in the shade of mature trees or enjoy an outdoor feast using the barbecues provided for guest use.Norburton Hall gives you the best of all worlds with its secluded position away from roads yet conveniently placed for all village facilities. Cosy pubs with thatched roofs, open fires, real ale and superb local food are all within 5 minutes walking distance along footpaths or quiet lanes and the beach is just an easy 20 minute walk with a shortcut that takes you past the Church and village school. A good base for exploring the South West Coast Path and Jurassic Coast. Cottages accommodate from 2 to 19 people in total. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norburton Hall Hotel Burton Bradstock
Norburton Hall Burton Bradstock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing