We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Norburton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton Bradstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norburton Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I can't praise Karen and the accommodation at Norburton Hall enough. We stayed - 2 adults, 1 child - at the Stables. It was perfect, from the facilities, to the ambience, to the guidebooks on the table, to the roses on the wall and the blackbird on the lawn as seen from the kitchen window while doing the washing-up. It was also wonderfully quiet. It is a 20 minute walk to the beach but don't be put off. It's a delightful stroll, down through the stunning village of Burton Bradstock (prepare to fall in love with Grove House which you pass on the way) and across a meadow. We went to the beach in the evening when the light was beautiful, bathing everything in a magical orangey-golden glow. I never wanted to leave. One further service to mention; I left my shirt behind in a wardrobe. Karen posted it back to me free of charge - I live in Bangkok.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had such a warm and hospitable welcome from Karen who was happy to take her time showing us around the property and advising us about the village. Her home is beautiful both in the buildings and the grounds. We stayed in the Dairy cottage and loved every second being in our cosy and private little bubble. We will definitely be coming back here one day because we felt so at home here. Moreover, the beach and village are so close by and equally as beautiful. Thank you Karen.

Sian and Duncan xx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianelerij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Norburton Hall is a wonderful place to stay and Karen, the owner, goes out of her way to ensure you have everything you need and you're enjoying yourselves. The location is perfect being quiet yet an easy walk into the village to the pub and beach. Surrounding area beautiful. Will definitely go back and stay there and would recommend to anyone. None of us wanted to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cuttlefisherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Visited again for the 6th time I think. Still love it and come home really relaxed ready to do things again. Accommodation is wonderful, everything works well. Lovely walking nearby and Restaurants nearby are excellent. Thank you Karen for another lovely visit.
Minnie enjoys the garden as well. I hope you have got back the Chicken.

Room Tip: Bed very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenVenn, Owner at Norburton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review and lovely to see you again. So glad to hear that you're rested and relaxed - always good to know that Norburton Hall's magic is working and ticking all the boxes.

I'm also pleased to say that we now know where the chicken has been laying her eggs. I'm working on training her to prefer her des-res - so far so good! I think normality will be fully restored very shortly.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed there recently for a friends wedding and found the accommodation perfect!
The grounds were gorgeous and it was an ideal place to stay for our first visit to Dorset.
We stayed in the Shippen and Karen the owner was incredibly accommodating - including offering free range eggs laid by hens in the grounds and being woken up when the bride and groom lost their keys. The accommodation was modern but still felt it was in keeping with its surroundings. There was everything there that we could of thought of, and we were impressed with the facilities. Also the beds are amazing! We couldn't of asked for a better weekend!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarboroughgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenVenn, Owner at Norburton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. We feel very privileged when Norburton Hall is chosen as a wedding venue and our accommodation is fully booked for exclusive use. We heard lots of favourable comments over the weekend and we're looking forward to welcoming many of the wedding guests back for quiet, relaxing breaks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I had our second stay in Norburton Hall's Dairy Cottage in September 2013. We stayed there for a fortnight, having previously stayed a week in June 2012. Both times we found the cottage comfortable and fully equipped, and the surroundings absolutely delightful. Everything was so quiet and peaceful, and early evening strolls through the beautiful grounds, identifying all the different trees, was a regular pleasure. My favourite feature was the chicken pen, right next to the cottage; every morning I'd step outside the cottage to be greeted by a clamour of friendly clucking from the resident chickens!

Downstairs is a single large room with living area and kitchen area. The kitchen was stocked with every implement, cutlery and crockery we could possibly need, and all appliances were good quality and worked perfectly. The furniture was attractive and comfortable, and the double patio doors opened straight onto an enclosed courtyard area with herb planters, apple trees and the aforementioned friendly chickens! The large bedroom contained a large comfortable double bed, together with a single bed which doubled nicely as a day-bed.

The only slight quibble was the flakey wifi reception, which kept appearing and disappearing seemingly at random. However, this isn't worth knocking off a star for, and Karen and David Venn were more than happy to keep resetting the router (located in the adjoining wing of the main house). Mentioning Karen and David, you couldn't ask for more friendly, helpful and cooperative hosts. They're a lovely couple who run absolutely first-class accommodation (they even sent us a card and bottle of wine when they learned it was our wedding anniversary during the fortnight!). Highly recommended indeed!

Room Tip: If you're chicken-phobic, you might prefer one of the other cottages at Norburton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Norburton Hall is a beautiful 'arts-and-crafts' style mansion. There are B&B rooms in the hall and 4 cottages in the outbuildings. The garden is beautiful, with water features and ancient trees. Local pubs are a 10 minute walk and the sea is a 20 minute walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'gardeners cottage' - it was great, with 4 bedrooms, two queen size and 4 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lawrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton Bradstock
1.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
522 reviews
6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Seaside Boarding House
The Seaside Boarding House
#2 of 5 in Burton Bradstock
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Burton Bradstock
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graston Copse Holiday Park
Graston Copse Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Burton Bradstock
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norburton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norburton Hall

Address: Norburton Hall Shipton Lane, Burton Bradstock, Bridport DT6 4NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Burton Bradstock
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burton Bradstock
Hotel Class:4 star — Norburton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 and 5 star gold award cottages in the grounds of a country house retreat within walking distance of the beach. All set in 6 acres of tranquil grounds - beautiful surroundings, no noise from road traffic and easy parking - all within a picturesque setting. An ideal peaceful retreat to escape to. Take your favourite book and relax in the shade of mature trees or enjoy an outdoor feast using the barbecues provided for guest use.Norburton Hall gives you the best of all worlds with its secluded position away from roads yet conveniently placed for all village facilities. Cosy pubs with thatched roofs, open fires, real ale and superb local food are all within 5 minutes walking distance along footpaths or quiet lanes and the beach is just an easy 20 minute walk with a shortcut that takes you past the Church and village school. A good base for exploring the South West Coast Path and Jurassic Coast. Cottages accommodate from 2 to 19 people in total. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norburton Hall Hotel Burton Bradstock
Norburton Hall Burton Bradstock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing