We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Alstonefield

The George Alstonefield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional village pub serving excellent British food. Open fires, real ales and fantastic selection of wines.
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A pub-restuarant that never disappoints whether it is a simple pop-in meal or occasion to remember. The food is always excellent, imaginative and locally sourced. The service is an elusive blend of personal and discreet which always suits the event. No surprise I chose to have my wedding reception at the restaurant. It surpassed even my high my expectations. I cannot overstate how good The George is and how lucky the Peak District is to have a pub of its calibre.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafiki522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    138
    51
    47
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have been eating at the George for the thick end of 20 years and the food and service is just perfect, Old fashioned bar which caters for drinkers and excellent dining areas just off the bar or in a separate restaurant. The food is always imaginative and the service is attentive but discreet. A must visit establishment if you are in the Peak district.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank semileht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, utterly fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We visited for dinner after friends highly recommend it. I am glad to say we were not disappointed. The landlady Emily was so welcoming and could not do enough for us, the service overall was attentive yet comfortably discreet which I liked.

Food wise, a cracking selection of seasonal local produce, cooked outstandingly and offering good value for money when you take into account the quality of the ingredients. Great selection of ales and wine, and nice attention to detail for example freshly cut flowers.

Highly recommended and we look forward to returning this month!

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Flatters to deceive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our first visit here. We were accompanied by friends who had last been about a year ago. They later reported that the standard of food had deteriorated considerably since their last visit. Recent reviews on trip advisor have not all been positive by any means. I paid £23 for a minuscule piece of Sea Bass, some tiny diced roast potato and no vegetables. There was a big leap in price between what might be described as pub food (my wife had excellent sausages and paid £12) and restaurant food. If this establishment wishes to charge high prices it will have to return to providing high quality food and acceptable portions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this wonderful pub first in 2013 and loved the food so much that we returned this year when staying again in the Peaks. The staff and the food are just as good as we remember but booking in advance is a must. Thank you all once again, we will be back and hopefully before 2015!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Alstonefield also viewed

Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
Hartington, Peak District National Park
 
Wetton, Peak District National Park
Thorpe, Ashbourne
 
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The George Alstonefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing