We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Easter weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alstonefield Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alstonefield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alstonefield Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Alstonefield B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Easter weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights Alstonefield Manor over Easter 2014. It was just what we needed for a relaxing, peaceful weekend away from London. Jo and Rob were so helpful and friendly, attention to detail was second to none, and the breakfast was amazing! Typical ‘townies’ we forgot all sensible attire for walking, but Jo was happy to lend everything we needed. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here for a break away from London. The house is beautiful and situated between picturesque fields, and impressive peaks. I would recommend the walk down to River Dove, but the hosts can provide and recommend a number of walks and attractions near by.

The house itself, run by Jo and Rob, is impeccably decorated with professional style and a lot of love has gone into every nook and cranny. We felt very welcome, and our hosts were always accommodating, attentive and showed a genuine interest in every one of their guests. They helped us out smoothly and at very short notice when our car broke down and we had to stay an extra few nights.

Jo- who grew up in the village, told us how when she was little she had told the lady who lived in Alstonefield Manor how she wanted to live there when she grew up. And now she does with her family, and you can feel the heart and warmth in the house.

I strongly recommend staying here. Some people may have a problem with the lack of en suites (apart from in the master, where there is a more than adequate shower room), but if you know that when you book then there is nothing to complain about, and the two shared bathrooms are perfect.

Breakfast is candlelit, cooked to order and very satisfying, shared between all 8 guests around a large table in a beautiful Austen-esque wood panelled room. A picture hangs on the wall of the house way back when that has been passed from owner to owner. Jo provides an afternoon tea around 4-5 pm in front of a blazing log fire in the living room overlooking the garden and distant fields. A lovely touch.

Dinner has to be had at The George, which is quite quaint and very charming- much more a restaurant than a pub. The food is good, if a bit pricey. Londoners who have been spoilt for far too long by wide and varied impeccable cuisine may be a little disappointed, but it is good. The bar is very small with a lovely charm to it- and yes it is cold, as it's ancient. You will need to book.

I had a lovely experience here, with wonderful hosts full of energy and care for their business and their village, and I commend them on welcoming so many people with open arms through their doors into such a warm home.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady_Revell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We've just come back from an amazing weekend at Alstonefield Manor. Everything about the stay was perfect - from Jo's bouncy welcome with home-made cinnamon scones and sherry in the shabby-chic (more chic than shabby) lounge....,to Rob's knock out breakfasts. The room (we had the master bedroom with en-suite) was stunning with beautiful views. You need to be fairly sociable types as breakfast and afternoon tea are shared with the other guests but we all got on very well and found lots to talk about. Jo and Rob work their socks off to make your stay memorable and they are fantastic hosts. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The master bedroom has an ensuite loo and shower. The other rooms don't but that didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gledhow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for just one night, but felt like we maximised the full chilling-out potential on offer! Hosts Jo and Rob were very welcoming, and relaxing in the drawing room, fire lit and afternoon tea on the go was exactly what the doctor ordered after a busy week. The room was beautiful, with fantastic views of the landscape and impeccable interiors. Breakfast was great, plentiful, relaxed and informal and nice to be the only guests! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for peace and quiet and walks in the Derbyshire dales on their doorstep. Fantastic.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticknall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our stay in this beautiful manor house surpassed all expectations. The warm welcome and attentive hospitality made for a very special and relaxing break. It was perfect for meeting up with friends and great to have such a short walk to a fabulous pub. This was truly the best bed and breakfast experience we have ever had and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed at the Manor before, and this time we stayed at their apartment in Hambleton House in the village just a short walk from the main house. This is a real gem for anyone who wants to hide away from the world to chill, relax and recharge. It is a delightful place to stay. It is very comfortable, beautifully appointed and very cosy. The bed was possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in! There is everything that you need for a short self-catering break - Jo and Rob have thought of everything. The little treats awaiting us on our arrival were such a lovely touch.
The village is the perfect place to stay - a lovely pub and lots of beautiful walks - you could stay for a week and not have to use your car.
We can't wait to return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy13Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October and we have to agree with all the other positive reviews. This place is beautiful and the welcome from the owners is second to none. We were made to feel extremely welcome and at home and nothing was too much trouble. The village of Alstonefield was very pretty and we felt like we had stepped back in time. The pub in the village (The George) is an absolute must for and evening meal or drink. The food was delicious and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. A huge thank you to Jo, who on the particular weekend we were there, was running the Manor on her own, as she said that her husband usually plays a big part in the running of the place. She really knows how to make a stay special. Thank you and we may return one day and bring friends for a special occasion!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyHudson2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alstonefield
4.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
10.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
24.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
18.9 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alstonefield Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alstonefield Manor

Property: Alstonefield Manor
Address: Church Lane, Alstonefield, Peak District National Park DE6 2FX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alstonefield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alstonefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Alstonefield and set within an acre of walled gardens Alstonefield Manor provides a secluded setting in the hills above the Dovedale valley. With miles of walking, right from the door, it’s a perfect place to explore the White Peak area of the Peak District National Park. After a day walking the hills you can settle in beside the fire for tea and scones in the Regency sitting room. Take a stroll up the lane to the famous George Inn for an evening meal and in the morning enjoy a candle-lit English breakfast served in the oak panelled dining room. Alstonefield Manor offers a range of stylish accommodation from rooms and private suites, small romantic cottages for two or larger cottages for groups or families. The house and gardens can also be hired for functions and events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alstonefield Manor Hotel Alstonefield
Alstonefield Manor Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing