We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Beautiful and relaxing long weekend”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankside Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
54 reviews
Special Weekends away.
Spacious bathroom
Cottage View
Walking up from Milldale Village.
Walk to the Stepping Stones.
Milldale Village your journey begins here!
Winter Time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Mar 2014
Great review thank you and come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
George E
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal country getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We spent three nights in this excellent cottage but could have spent more. It is easy to get to and is great value for money. The facilities and furnishings in the cottage make for an extremely comfortable stay and the surrounding area is beautiful. The cottage also has plenty of information on things to do. There are a couple of pubs not too far away and various walks around Dovedale but the open log fire in the cottage provides an inviting alternative for the lazy man's retreat. A great stay made better by the cleanliness of the cottage and the warmth of the welcoming from Vicki.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Hi George
Many thanks for your lovely review. Hopefully you will return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whoopdeed...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A gem of a character cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We really don't want to leave, the cottage and location is absolutely idyllic and as you can see, wonderful wifi!

We booked a three day break for a small group of friends as a getaway from it all weekend and that's exactly what we've been able to do! Zero phone reception for miles, absolute bliss...

The cottage has everything you would need, literally everything... greeted with a wonderful basket complete with a bottle of wine, tea bags, coffee, fresh bread - really lovely and considerate! The cottage is like a tardis, picture postcard stuff on the outside and equally beautiful and deceptively spacious on the in.

Parking space to the side, the cottage sits on a quiet lane in Milldale and at the base of many fantastic walks. Boot room, separate dining room, amply stocked kitchen, lovely log fire...seriously perfect!

There is nothing you need to bring with you but yourselves and your walking boots and slippers, we've loved every minute of being here, it's excellent value for money at the same time.

I loved the log fire, extra deep bath tub filled with bubbles, power shower, king size bed in the master room, I could go on and on and on! Highly recommend the cottage and equally, Vicki was in contact promptly with full instructions prior to stay. We will definitely be back (that's if we actually leave this time).... We don't want to go :-(

Without a moments hesitation, book this cottage!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Loved it all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2014
Thank you for the great review we think it is a unique place too. Please come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samcarms
Ammanford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy & Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013

After spending 2 weeks in a cottage in the highlands of Scotland in September we had very high expectations of the type of cottage we wanted. Cosy with bags of character was a must, as was an open fire. Peaceful was our next criteria, in the countryside with access to walks and wildlife (and a pub or two nearby). Bankside Cottage ticked all the boxes. It was clean on arrival and once the heating was on, fire lit and darkness had descended on the valley, we settled in with a glass of wine and tried desperately not to think of how we were going to prize ourselves away. There is plenty to see and do even in winter. We have family nearby so knew the area fairly well. Chatsworth is always a good shout and we were lucky enough to shop around their Christmas Market, picking up some treats for our stay. Buxton and Bakewell are full of Character (and puddings). The George Pub is a 2 minute drive or a pleasant walk away and has some great food, a step up from your normal pub grub but not pricey (book in advance on weekends). After all the food, the 6 mile river walk to Hartington helped burn off some calories while providing us with plenty of changing scenery. We cheated a bit as we had a lift back with family who met us in the local pub after an afternoon of shopping in Buxton. The cottage is well equipped with some fuel for the fire to get you going. There are plenty of garages, shops and super markets that sell solid fuel. We found the long burning high heat coal and formulated Power Logs from Sainsburys garage great value and topped them up with a couple of bags of regular logs from a local garage (£2.50 per bag). The Master bedroom is unusually large as is the bed but the other 2 rooms are typical of a cottage of that style and age. That said you are only sleeping in them and its all part of the charm. If I had a criticism it would be that there are no wardrobes. There was only the two of us there and we utilised the hanging rack on the landing so it wasn't really a problem for us and the drawer space was fine. But for a family this may prove challenging. The master bedroom could house a double wardrobe or even 2 doubles for all guests to share which would be a workable solution. Having said that we would fully recommend a stay here and we would love to come back again and again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The seclusion, character and open fire
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and very pleased you had a lovely time. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Vicki Bradbury
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaxLondon
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here the first week of October and we're pleasantly surprised at how nice the cottage was. Very cosy and warm and the beds are very comfortable.

It's in a great base location for all the Peak District with loads of walks on the doorstep. There is no mobile signal for miles around here but the wif-fi was great and could therefore Skype / FaceTime with ease.

There is lots of information and leaflets to refer to at the cottage and the manual is clear and concise.

Great value for money and we will probably return next year.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Really lovely cottage
Liked least: Only one bathroom and no dishwasher but very minor points given the price and everything else this place has going for it.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2013
Thank you for the review with useful comments. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to you visiting again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie T
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect British Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Booked a few days to escape from London life in The Peaks, and was not disappointed. The cottage is beautiful, and could not be in a prettier setting.

Stayed with my husband for a few days, and explored the area. The cottage is perfectly equipped and in a gorgeous little village, close to all amenities. Amazing butchers in the car park in Ashbourne and don't forget Bakewell, for a slice!

I would highly recommend this cottage to families, and couples who want to explore the beautiful surroundings. We can't wait to visit again soon.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peacefulness
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and very pleased you has a relaxing time. Come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne S
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

what a clean, comfortable and well equiped cottage!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and walking the Dales.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: cosiness and cleanliness
Liked least: no telephone
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and very glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing