We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage in a Stunning Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankside Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
trippytri...
trippytriptrip
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our first stay at this but definitely won't be our last! This pet friendly Cottage is sufficiently remote but has fantastic walks right on the doorstep. The owners have tastefully decorated and accessorised to make the cottage feel very special and homely. The open log fire topped it off. Would highly recommend and definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay in this special place. Thank you for the great review. Hope to hear from you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillianpi...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just lovely !”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Bankside Cottage was perfect in every way for our short 3 night booking. Very comfortable and cosy and had everything we needed. It's obviously well looked after and maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlena84
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage, perfect for a quiet break”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We went for a long weekend break in February. The cottage is fantastic, very spacious. We were convinced that it's a semi-detached cottage, but you actually get the whole cottage shown in the photo. Vicki was very helpful and informative. Everything what you need is in the cottage. It was quite a cold weekend, so we were a little bit cold on the first night, but we used the fireplace more and switched on the heating for a little bit longer on the following days and it was much better. The Dovedale walk which is just round the corner from the cottage is very picturesque. The walk to the George pub was also very enjoyable and its destination even better!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thank you for the great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairesod...
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect way to spend the beginning of 2017. A fabulous find.”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We booked the cottage just before Christmas so we had something to look forward to after New Year. The communication from Vicki The owner of the cottage was excellent. The Cottage is idyllic, welcoming, tastefully decorated, warm and cosy. The real fire in the lounge is an added bonus especially at this time of year. The bed in the Master bedroom is probably one of comfiest beds I have ever slept in. The location of the cottage is perfect with good walks close by. We embarked on the walk to Alstonefield and had lunch at the The George which was excellent. We will definitely stay at Bankside cottage again. We were loathed to leave and I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone. A big thank you to Vicki and very much look forward to staying with you again soon. We loved it. With kindest regards, Jeremy, Claire and William Soden and George The dog.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and please come and visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A K
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really cosy cottage in beautiful Peak District location”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent Christmas and New Year in Bankside Cottage and it couldn't have been better. The cottage felt really cosy with the real fire and tasteful mix of modern/traditional decor, especially the amazing master bedroom (that king size bed is hard to get out off once you are in it!). It's really well equipped so we didn't want for anything. The owner, Vicki, was brilliant to make arrangements with and even decorated the cottage for us for Christmas, which was so thoughtful. It's ideally located just 2 minutes from the Dovedale river walk and has lots of walking/biking routes all around the immediate area. There are some good local country pubs and Ashbourne is only a 20 minute drive, which has supermarkets as well some lovely local shops to choose from. If you want to get away into the country with lots of outdoors and cosy indoors, you couldn't find anywhere better to stay than Bankside Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you for the lovely review. So pleased you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart b
1 review
“Perfect birthday weekend getaway”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely weekend staying at Bankside Cottage. The communication from Vicki was excellent, and the cottage was immaculate on arrival. We particularly loved the open fire which we used every night! There are several walks straight from the front door - the walk along Dovedale to Ilam is stunning. There are 2 pubs nearby (both within a mile). The George in Alstonfield is well worth a visit and does excellent food.

We will definitely be returning.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thank you for the lovely review and glad you had a great weekend. Look forward to you returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelbs...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful location.”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Ideally located cottage allowing numerous, excellent walks from the door.
The cottage has been refurbished to a high standard with all amenities you will need.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Glad you had a great stay thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing