We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, quirky and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Ranked #1 of 2 Beeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights for a Golden Wedding celebration. There were 17 of us for the second night and everyone commented on what a fab little hotel it was. Every room has its own personality and is individually decorated. Some of us were in a cottage and some in the main building above the bar and restaurant. We ate there both evenings and although the menu was a little limited the food and service were excellent. Whatever we asked for the answer was always 'yes' and we were made to feel very welcome. I am sure we shall be going back.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in separate cottages with other guests (although the rooms are private and have their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backtofebruaryrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Super review thanks we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit!

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have eaten here many times and while the food has always been good the service over the last few years has become indifferent at best. We had the monk fish and burger which were both delicious. We did notice that while other burgers arrived after ours had salad garnish and a tub of chips our had a pile of chips on a board and no greenery! We could hear staff discussing how short staffed they were and how awful it all was which echoes some of the previous reviews. I suggest the manager invests in his/her staff with some proper training and maybe looks at how many staff are on duty and evaluates whether it really is enough to maintain a high standard for a busy weekend lunchtime service. It's a lovely pub in an idyllic setting with excellent just marred by the service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for the comments,I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed the food although disappointed with the service I will be sure to speak to Stuart about your comments!

Thanks again.
Regards

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We've just spent 3 nights in the Celandine suite in Dove Cottage. The suite is beautifully decorated however one window had a blind missing which meant one had to be careful when crossing in front of it. Also one light bulb didn't work and despite reporting it was still not working when we left. only real down side is the bath room where to be fair the planner worked a small miracle it getting everything in. The sink was beautifully placed so that if you went to sleep on the toilet your head would naturally rest on it. The food was excellent in the restaurant if not somewhat expensive. Although we ate in on the first 2 nights we had to go elsewhere after that as we felt that the menu was lacking in variety in fact we never saw anyone order from the starters which didn't even include a soup. One non resident even had steak every night because of the lack of choice. The service was excellent and the bar really nice. We will certainly be trying one of the other pubs in the group.

Room Tip: If you are over 5' 6'' don't stay in this particular suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshireTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for the Review,we were really pleased to read that enjoyed your stay with us.I will pass your comments on to the Chef about the menu,maybe we need to do a few more specials!
Thanks Again for the comments.
Regards

Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I have staye here several times now and standards are being maintained - or perhaps even improved!
We stayed in the relatively new Dove Cottage rooms and they are quite delightful. We often used to view these cottages whilst eating in the brasserie and now we've been able to stay in one.
Service and food are top class although there were technical issues affecting the refrigeration and the oven meaning we didn't get chilled champagne on arrival and the menu was unusually reduced but still was excellent (lost a point for that I'm afraid). And don't forget the breakfast with all the local produce. We didn't eat till the evening after that.
The package offered by the estate and the Devonshire Arms is really good. Keeps us going back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kalamaki-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Great to read you enjoyed your stay,we will certainly aim to get that other point back back when you visit again!
Hope to see you in the near future.

Regards

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The last time we had lunch at the Devonshire Arms was May 2013 when I reviewed the service and vegetarian food as poor. We had recently heard that the menu had changed and were keen to give our one time favourite pub another try. Today, our vegetarian food was excellent, there were interesting choices on the menu and not a Mediterranean vegetable in sight. Well done Chef!
It was warm enough to sit outside to eat and the service by the waitress was friendly and efficient. We will be back to eat soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mirador40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for a fantastic review,its great that our new Head Chef is delivering quality food for all tastes,I will make sure to pass on your comments.
Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a great stay, the staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us welcome. Our room was possibly a little small but well appointed. Dinner was great in terms of flavour, quality and serving. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this establishment. Thanks to all the staff for making it such a great visit

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thanks for a great review,I will be sure to pass your comments onto all the team!

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had lunch here on Saturday and enjoyed the food very much. My burger was excellent. Really very well cooked and tasted superb. Ploughmans was also good, maybe a bit pricey for what was actually delivered. Service was good, maybe front of house was a little brusque but no issues really.
Good value? Perhaps.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefPatron, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Great to read you enjoyed your Burger and Ploughmans,thanks for a super review.
Hope to see you soon.

Regards

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beeley
3.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
498 reviews
4.5 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms at Beeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Address: Chatsworth Estate, Beeley, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE4 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Beeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beeley
Price Range: £133 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms at Beeley 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Chatsworth Estate, Beeley is one of those picturesque unspoilt country villages. And The Devonshire Arms is one of those picturesque country inn at the heart of village life. But with a difference! It offers the charm and character of an historic inn with a warm and comfortable interior full of oak beams and stone crannies. Make your way through to the brasserie and be amazed at the contrast of the startlingly different décor with panoramic windows overlooking the village, the contemporary bar, the glass fronted wine store and colourful furnishings. And for the ultimate escape, why not stay in one of our eight stylish cottage bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Devonshire Arms at Beeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms At Beeley Hotel Beeley
The Devonshire Arms At Beeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing