We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old Beams- charming & delightful”

Review of The Old Beams

The Old Beams
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Beams
The Main Lounge 2 The Main Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Old Beams
The Main Lounge 2
The Main Lounge
The Study (through view from the snug)
The Kitchen/Breakfast Room
The Conservatory/Dining Room
The Conservatory/Dining Room 2
Second En suite Bedroom
Master En suite-Bedroom
En suite (all have large cast-iron baths)
The Lawn
The Garden/Water Feature
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Waterhouses, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RenaG
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old Beams- charming & delightful”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just celebrated my mother's 90th birthday at The Old Beams, and it was the perfect location- centrally placed for family travelling from Bath, London, Wales & The Lake District. The property itself was very cosy but also extremely spacious, and full of character and charm.The downstairs bedroom was ideal for my elderly mother. ( Another bonus was having the off road private parking for our 5 cars. - the house is unfortunately placed on a rather busy main road)
Disappointingly, it was much too cold for my mother,to make use of the huge conservatory for dining (the rest of the house was cosy and warm , with constant heating & we enjoyed the warmth of the inviting log fire) - but the large kitchen table provided more than ample space to seat all 11 of us, comfortably & much more intimately. The kitchen was superbly equipped with anything you could possibly need. We ate in on 2 nights, then dined out at Ye Old Crown pub down the road on Sunday afternoon. (The staff there were very attentive and accommodating & provided a good selection of pub grub).
I was very impressed with all communication & dealings with the The Old Beams owners, Helen and Mark ,who made us very welcome and ensured we had a successful and enjoyable family weekend. My mother was especially touched by the birthday gifts/balloons and banner which were there to greet her arrival.
We would have no hesitation in recommending The Old Beams .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for the comments.
We are working to try to make the conservatory warmer during the winter months, a mammoth task given the size of the windows! We are installing new, larger radiators and are currently researching glass covers to try to retain the heat.
I am so glad your mother enjoyed her birthday at the Old Beams.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMurra...
Utkinton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our extended family group size was 10 adults plus our grand-daughter who is a toddler. Old Beams was probably the best accommodation we have stayed in for such a family weekend in the UK. There is ample room to spread out and it is very comfortable. There are TV's everywhere and the conservatory is a perfect room for meals. The kitchen is typically farmhouse with plenty of fridge space and a good sized cooker/oven. There is a real fire in the lounge which made our stay very homely. There is a very good cycle track 5 minutes away, and a pub in the village which was superb for Sunday lunch. Plenty of on-site parking was another advantage, and we would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: size and comfort of accomodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. It is always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gracie747...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely property”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Lovely property in a nice rural location. The house is every bit as lovely as it looks in the photos - the conservatory is a great room and there's a great kitchen. Our room (the furthest from the stairs on the first floor) was well soundproofed from the conservatory so meant our very young son didn't get woken by the noise of dinner and after dinner drinks. It's a very spacious property. Luckily we didn't need to test the safety grid on the pond but it looked sturdy and despite an active toddler I didn't feel too worried about this. There's a slide and house construction in the garden that our little boy really enjoyed (he also had a little play on the piano!!) and the whole place is reasonably child safe - we had to watch him but thats the same in any new place, there wasn't too much trouble for him to get into.

The area is nice, there are buggy friendly walks from the door (with a nice tea room with garden on the way) and pubs within a short walk. Although the pubs aren't particularly child friendly apparently there is a lovely one with a beer garden and play area a short drive up the road - we just didn't have time to check it out in the end as were only around for the weekend.

On booking I found the contract a bit daunting. Its very long and has a detailed inventory to check. I was worried that the owner was going to be troublesome and there were going to be issues getting our deposit back, but these concerns proved to be unfounded. We had a really good trip and booking and leaving were straightforward. Heartily recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thanks for your review. It's always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed not just the Old Beams, but the local area too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rtikulate
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Tag Stag '13”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We just had a stag do here and the place was fantastic. Great kitchen and large dining room in the conservatory with a table to sit 12 easily. Perfect to hang out in and cook dinner and have drinks. The whole property was great and it was very easy to organize and find. The local pub was good fun too and paint balling down the road was really well run.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large dining room and table - great for large groups
Liked least: Low ceilings
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Thanks for the review. I'm glad you all had a great time. Hope the wedding goes well too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jul 2013
Thanks for your glowing review!
I'm so glad the hot tub worked out and you had a great weekend. We look forward to welcoming you again another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
Thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

I'm sorry you found the breakage fees a bit steep - but I don't make anything on breakages! The prices are set at the actual replacement/purchase costs. In fact, they should have been £4 each but I purchased the last replacement ones in the sale! http://www.johnlewis.com/john-lewis-vino-wine-glasses-set-of-4/p230211128
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
west mids
Reviewed 4 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jun 2012
Thanks for the review.
Just to re-clarify what I mentioned in my follow-up email - the heating was on timer, the hot water was on constant. The thermostat is set to 20 degrees. If guests require constant heating they can request this on arrival and will be billed accordingly. The boiler and system is only 3 years old and is serviced annually, most recently in December 2011.
There are in total 4 extension cables in the whole house - covering a total of 15 living and sleeping spaces, excluding bathrooms! These are recommended for surge protection purposes, as in any property.
Unfortunately, fuses do blow, as do bulbs in any house. The house was entirely rewired after we purchased it, 4 years ago. We had an electric safety certification completed only a week before your arrival, although this is not something required by law for self-catering accommodation, I do take the safety of our clients very seriously. The certificate stated the electrics in the house were all safe and complied with current standards. The blip with the fuses in the conservatory has now been resolved, and I wouldn't want future guests to have the impression that there is a long standing problem!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$391
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing