We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nesfield Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Barlow B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night for our 1st wedding anniversary. We couldn't find fault. Jane and Tom were so welcoming and made us feel at ease. Our room was lovely and the ensuite was spacious with a fantastic shower. The bed was comfy and our breakfast was spot on.
We only stayed for the one night - but would lovey to go back to see more of the area. It was so peaceful.
We highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FaffaInky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks so much for the lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, come back and see us when you can.

Best regards,

Jane and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
65
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Thanks to Tom and Jane for a wonderful stay. They were very welcoming, the room was very comfortable, very clean and breakfast was excellent. The cottage is in an excellent location for local attractions, such as Chatsworth, or access to the Peak, which is what we were looking for. We would love to stay here again and absolutely would not hesitate to recommend this charming location to others. Thanks again, John & Rosie

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Great feedback, it really helps us to keep looking for new ideas and keep reviewing our service so thanks for taking the time and trouble to send in your thoughts.

Best regards,
Jane and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

we have just returned from our two nights at nesfield cottage and wish it had been longer,everything far exceeded our expectations, very clean, comfortable,and peaceful. lovely breakfasts.nothing to much trouble Tom and Jane are excellent hosts did not know b&bs could be this good!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks so much, your comments mean a lot to us, please come again if you're in the area.
Best regards,
Jane and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have a Special feeling for Nesfield as it was my family home before becoming a B&B - rooms are comfortable and clean - the location is tranquil - above all Tom and Jane are welcoming, helpful and very friendly. I thoroughly enjoyed re-aquanting myself with that lovely part of Derbyshire.Without hesitation I would recomend it

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, there is a room on the groung floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
It was lovely to see you and hear all about your history with this place and with your friends.
You made it a great week and we enjoyed sharing it with you. Come again if you can.
Best regards,
Jane and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a lovely experience our 6 night stay was. Spotless en suite, great food and both Tom and Jane could not have been more helpful.
The location was ideal for exploring Chatsworth House, Bakewell and of course Chesterfields famous crooked spire.
As I had stayed there before it was a B and B over 50 years ago made it even more special
I hope I get a chance to return.
Pam

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammcdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, it was great to have you and your friends here for a week, hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and the cool weather! It would be lovely to see you again, your laughter was infectious!
Best regards,
Jane and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, East Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Lovely stay. A really good location, quiet and away from the main road. The room was large and very well furnished. The bathroom, again large and like the rest of the property well decorated and lovely and clean. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice.. Jane and Tom were really friendly without being over the top. An added bonus is their obvious love of the local wildlife, we found the birds visiting their bird feeders in the garden fascinating. Overall an excellent place to stay with so much attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We do love our birds and enjoy watching them with our guests, we've counted over 80 species in or over our garden while we've been here. Glad you enjoyed them too, come and see us again at some point if you can.
Best regards,
Jane and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Jane and Tom are excellent hosts, even phoned me to confirm what sleeping arrangements we required as the booking was not clear. accommodation, food, and hospitality were all excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Just a pity we were only there for two nights but we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrosharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks, it was lovely to read your review and to know that you'd enjoyed your stay here. Come and see us again if you're in the area and take advantage of one of our offers on 3 or 4 nights.
Best regards,
Jane and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlow
6.8 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,401 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abbeydale Hotel
Abbeydale Hotel
#11 of 15 in Chesterfield
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#12 of 15 in Chesterfield
247 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,018 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nesfield Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesfield Cottage B&B

Property: Nesfield Cottage B&B
Address: Nesfield | Barlow, Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Barlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nesfield Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in peaceful, traditional well-dressing village of Barlow in Derbyshire, at end of quiet lane yet with easy access to Chesterfield, Sheffield and Nottingham. The cottage is surrounded by deer farmland and wildlife with lovely views of deer from the windows and onto a wooded bank. You can also sit and watch the birds from the dining room as you eat breakfast - we've recorded over 80 species so far!Nesfield has spacious rooms, all en-suite with large showers and all available with double or twin superking-size beds.We have lots of home-made goodies to tempt you, including home-made bread and cakes and healthy options too. It's good to know you can still get your 5 a day when you're travelling!Other facilities include secure off-road parking, a drying room for wet gear and free wi-fi. See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nesfield Cottage B&B Barlow, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing