We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nesfield Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Barlow B&B and Inns
Boston lincs
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here 8th and 9th august. What should have taken us 1 1/2 hours to get there took 3 due to terrible weather conditions. So you think that the nightmare will carry on when you get to your destination. We phoned Tom and Jane to let them know we were going to be late, not a problem. We arrived late and they greeted us at the door and then showed us to our room. As soon as we were shown to our room we felt at home straight away. Jane offered us some home made fruit cake which went down very well. The room we stayed in was skylark and what a lovely room it was. A massive bed, TV, kettle with tea,coffee,sugar and chocolate and fresh milk that they give you in a canister to keep cool. A big wardrobe with hangers so no need to take your own a hair drier and some games in a draw that we see the morning we left. A nice big bathroom with a shower, fluffy white towels ,soap and hand cream. They give you a menu for breakfast and you pick 6 items off it and you leave it downstairs before 9pm. We had a cooked breakfast both mornings and very good it was. Coffee was free flowing. There was also cereal,toast, yogurts fresh fruit salad and they do a cinnamon toast as well which we tried. The dining room is situated looking over the garden and bird feeder. There is a pub about a 10minute walk away and if you stay at nestfield you get 10% off your meal. The food here was very good. This b&b
Ticked all the right boxes for us it was so relaxing, quiet and homely. And would we stay here again, yes without hesitation. Already planning a short break next year and hoping to take friends with us

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dingding69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and that the weather didn't spoil it, we did have some rain that night I seem to remember!
Hope to see you again next year.
Best regards,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
65
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have stayed with Jane and Tom several times now. There is always a friendly welcome and a few jokes.
I agree with some of your other reviewers with the high standard of cleanliness and special touches. The provision of 'proper' milk is brilliant - I hate the tiny cartons of long life stuff.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit.
It's conveniently situated just off the motorway on the road to Sheffield from Chesterfield.

Room Tip: There are only 3 I think, all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyElizabethAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thankyou for your comments, glad you liked the proper milk, we don't like the cartons either!
Hope you'll pay us another visit if you're in the area.

Best regards,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to Nesfield Cottage, a year after our first. Standards remain high, with very clean rooms, great food at breakfast and the personal touches, such as home made fruit loaf on arrival. Having noticed that we had a bottle of wine with us, two wine glasses appeared in our room when we were out and it is touches such as this that really help to make a pleasant stay. The hosts, Jane and Tom are very relaxed, easy to get along with and they make you feel at home.This feeling was echoed by the other guests who were staying at the same time as us. If we were visiting this area, we wouldn't bother looking anywhere else! We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay so much.
Hope everyone enjoyed the festival, our daughter and partner did!
Hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at Nesfield B&B for 2 nights in July and I we clouldn't have asked for anything more! The B&B is situated in a lovely area with a great pub within 5 minutes walk (The Old Pump) which serves good food and beer! The B&B is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed and the rooms are equipped with everything you could possibily need during your stay (including fresh milk everyday for tea and coffees). Jane and Tom are excellent hosts - they are very welcoming and will do their best to cater for everyone's needs. Jane even welcomed us with home-made ginger biscuits when we arrived! The breakfast choice is great, you can choose from a large english breakfast, cereals, toast (with home-made bread!), fruit and porridge (made to your own liking!). We had an excellent time at the Nesfield B&B and will definitely be returning next year when we come to stay in Derbyshire again. Thanks Jane and Tom for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks so much, it's kind of you to post a review and thanks for the feedback, we do appreciate your comments. Look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As soon as you arrive at Nesfield, you are made very welcome by Jane and Tom, and this welcome extends throughout your stay.
The accommodation is very well presented, with some thoughtful touches such as provision of proper milk in a flask for tea/coffee in your room, toiletries and "ladies products" in the bathroom.
The breakfast choice is very comprehensive and includes cereal, fruit, full english and toast. The owners even find time to make their own bread, which is very tasty.
In the dining room is a wide array of local maps and guides to help make the most of your stay.
Free wifi and plenty of parking.
There are a number of local pubs, one within walking distance of Nesfield Cottage, that I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks Sue, glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip, you were a great guest and we hope to see you again at some point.

Thanks again,

Jane and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Mum and I really enjoyed our stay and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Jane and Tom were excellent hosts. The cottage is in a great spot for watching the birds and the deer. There was a great choice for breakfast and the food was very good.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona123trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks, your time and trouble in writing the review is much appreciated. Hope the outcome of your visit was a good one, all best wishes,

Jane and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nesfield Cottage - What a great place to stay.
We've just spent three nights at the best B & B we have ever been to.
Jane & Tom are lovely people and excellent hosts, really friendly and welcoming and nothing is left to chance that might spoil your stay. ( We were greeted with slices of cake when we arrived! - can't be bad!)
Our room and en suite (Lapwing) were just huge and included everything you could possibly want. Everything everywhere is spotlessly clean and in wonderful order.
Choosing from the very comprehensive menu eventually leads on to sampling Tom's speciality, his magnificent breakfast. Everything is local and freshly cooked so couldn't be better.
There's a local pub, 'The Old Pump', just 10 mins walk away which does a decent pint and good pub grub, what more do you need.
Thank you both for a lovely three days in beautiful Derbyshire.
We will go back, we have to, just to prove we weren't dreaming!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBinZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Nesfield Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
It's so lovely when people appreciate the effort that goes into running a B&B, and great to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We're always looking for ways to improve so, if you think of anything, please let us know.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Jane and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlow
6.8 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#8 of 15 in Chesterfield
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
222 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
598 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nesfield Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesfield Cottage B&B

Property: Nesfield Cottage B&B
Address: Nesfield | Barlow, Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Barlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nesfield Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in peaceful, traditional well-dressing village of Barlow in Derbyshire, at end of quiet lane yet with easy access to Chesterfield, Sheffield and Nottingham. The cottage is surrounded by deer farmland and wildlife with lovely views of deer from the windows and onto a wooded bank. You can also sit and watch the birds from the dining room as you eat breakfast - we've recorded over 80 species so far!Nesfield has spacious rooms, all en-suite with large showers and all available with double or twin superking-size beds.We have lots of home-made goodies to tempt you, including home-made bread and cakes and healthy options too. It's good to know you can still get your 5 a day when you're travelling!Other facilities include secure off-road parking, a drying room for wet gear and free wi-fi. See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nesfield Cottage B&B Barlow, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing