We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful farm stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The entrance
The cottage, garden and view Door to private garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The entrance
The cottage, garden and view
Door to private garden
Rear of Cottage
Kitchen diner
Dining room with TV and sofa
TV room
Ground floor double bedroom
First floor master bedroom with ensuite
Ground floor twin bedroom
Ground floor family bathroom
Home comforts
Side view
The entrance
Views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
New Mills, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Correa51
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful farm stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Brow Farm Cottage was the perfect place to stay with our son, daughter-in-law and 21 month-old grandson. Set on a hill on the outskirts of New Mills, with views of lush green paddocks and the valley and township below, the cottage has 3 bedrooms, two bathrooms, a sizable kitchen/ laundry and a living area. The kitchen was very well eqipped, which was important for us with a toddler. We used the bbq several times and were able to eat outside at a table when the weather permitted.
Cath and Dave were next door if we needed anything and Cath baked a cake for us on arrival! They provided a cot and high chair for our grandson too.
New Mills is well located for exploring the Peak District and we found plenty of things to do including a visit to Lyme Park, local villages, the Science and Technology Museum in Manchester. Our grandson loved visiting the animals, every day- chickens, roosters, rabbits, guinea pigs, goats, sheep and horses.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope that you and the family will come and stay with us again the next time that you want to visit this part of the world
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsteels
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is High Brow”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is High Brow
What a great name! It says it all... geographically hills, brows and peaks but from an accommodation point of view too it is “well high brow”. The location and position offer easy access to both New Mills and the Peaks and there are magnificent views of this unique landscape.
We have never walked so much and this location means to are able to tailor the length of hike to suit you. You can choose urban or rural or a mix of both. The other good news for me was some great pubs there are along the local walking routes
The accommodation comprises a sympathetically refurbished cottage this has been completed to a very high standard. It provides great living spaces, three bedrooms and two bathrooms. We stayed with a couple of old friends choosing to eat and cook breakfast together in the amazing kitchen diner overlooking the Goyt valley. There’s everything you could want or need including a washing machine and dishwasher as well as both a casual kitchen bar and a family-friendly farmhouse dining table. There’s also a separate lounge area with sofas and a TV.
What we appreciated was the soft touch anonymity offered by the brilliant owners Cath and Dave yet they somehow combined this with their potential availability to help when needed. So many other places do get this wrong either too isolated with no help or owners being far too present!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope that you will choose to stay at Brow Farm again the next time that you tour the North
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSteels
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect escape for all ages”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Brow Farm is the perfect retreat and situated ideally for exploring the surrounding areas. The cottage is beautifully decorated and fully equipped for every need imaginable. The views are stunning and there are so many walking route options, most of which happily involve a stop at a pub. The farm animals and safe environment are a real bonus for all visitors, and especially those with children. The owners, David and Cath, were so warm and welcoming and on hand when needed to offer advice. A great break in an amazing cottage which I do not hesitate to recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope to welcome you again to Brow Farm Cottage the next time that you visit the Peak District
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
1 review
“Excellent pet friendly accomodation”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Clean and well provisioned accomodation. Doggy welcome pack on arrival with fresh homemade cake and farm eggs for the humans. Owners friendly and helpful but didn't intrude. Excellent spot for exploring New Mills and the surrounding area. Highly recommended

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the weather! We do hope that you will stay with us again the next time that you visit the High Peak
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley S
East Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Brow Farm. We have two young children and they were in their element being able to run around the farm and play with the animals.
The cottage is beautiful throughout and has everything you need to feel at home. We arrived to homemade cake and fresh eggs, which were lovely!
Cath and Dave were very welcoming and although we were left to do our thing, it was nice to know that they are just next door if you need anything.

The location is ideal, with beautiful views. The local areas are easily reached by walking, and there is a lovely park very close by which Is great for the children.
Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope that you and your family will come and stay with us again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H
1 review
“Incredible, clean, well appointed rental property for our family of 6”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in the connected farmhouse a few years ago and were excited to see that the barn was completed. It's a beautiful property perched on the brow of of a hill with a private drive and a small pen of animals and stables and fields with horses.

The bedrooms were perfect for us, our 2 x 6 year olds and our 2 x2 year old boys but we brought our own gate and bed rails for the single beds.

We lived in the kitchen when we were there with it's 6 seat kitchen table, a sofa and an island with stools to congregate. It was the first room we saw and a pleasant surprise greeted us since Cath had made us a sponge cake and left us half a dozen eggs from the chickens. The canisters in the kitchen had tea bags and sugar and cupboards had all the tools we needed to cook dinners.

Heated floors were a nice surprise too - from the photos of the tiles I ended up bringing my slippers but had no cause to wear them since the floors downstairs were so warm, as were the rooms in general so no need for wearing a sweater in the house.

The fenced garden off the kitchen door was great too for the 2 year old boys to charge around in a safe grassy area before walking over to animals to look for eggs.

Can't recommend the farm enough! We'll be back...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope that you and the family will stay with us again the next time that you come to England. Hopefully we will have many more animals then for the children to enjoy watching
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryg2015...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Countryside bliss with 5 star accommodation”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend at Brow Farm. We cannot recommend this holiday rental highly enough. Brow Farm sits high up on the valley with incredible views but is near enough to great pubs and shops to be convenient to all. The accommodation is really five star - modern, very clean, tastefully furnished and so comfortable. It is connected to the owner's home but completely private. Brow Farm's owners, Cath and Dave, were extremely warm and welcoming and recommended some great walks for us to take with our dog over the weekend. If you are looking for a little haven of luxury at the edge of the Peak District, this is the place to go. I would have paid more for such a great stay - it was that good!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope that you will stay with us again the next time that you visit the Peak District
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing