We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”
Review of Pack Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pack Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 New Mills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

What a lovely little find! We were looking for a friendly, welcoming inn & this was it. The food was good hearty food & plenty of it! Traditional decor & the warm cosy open fire was perfect. Our room was cozy, clean & plenty of thought had gone into the detail of what to offer from a bowl of fruit, a box of Twinnings Tea, Hot Chocolate & biscuits. Bed was very comfy & the shower room had plenty of space & again very clean & tidy. Only one minor issue the room above seemed to have little insulation. Breakfast was delicious, suffice to say the full English was a perfect start to our day! Owners & staff were all very friendly, we would stay here again for sure if we're back in the area!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EEE001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    59
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
193
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had a fantastic evening and stay at The Pack Horse Inn. Food, very wide and varied choice to suit all pallets. Staff very welcoming and very accommodating. Rooms very clean and more than adequate. Bathroom toiletries available and full tea and coffee making facilities. Superior room room also included a bowl of fruit!!

Room Tip: Booked both a superior and executive room and both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I went here for my anniversary of being with my boyfriend for 2 years. I was so nice when we pulled up, it is situated in beautiful countryside. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, they really went out of their way to help us settle in. We stayed for food, it was amazing in the evening and the breakfast was also to die for. Would recommend to all, and will be paying a visit there in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We came here for a Christmas meal with friends. It's nice and clean food was lovely with good portion sizes and fresh food. well worth a stop off if your passing. The views out into Derbyshire are amazing and the warm atmosphere is welcoming as are the staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Had a pre Christmas get together with friends great place rooms excellent fruit bowl and sweets in room plus flask of milk nice touch rooms very clean along with the rest of the pub nice open fires food good breakfast great lovely friendly staff would love to stay again in summer the views are wonderfull really great nights stay

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sandra s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Had a pre Christmas get together here with five other couples. The rooms are excellent, the beer is good, the food is fine and the staff friendly and efficient. Lovely fires in the bar where we spent most of the afternoon relaxing with friends. Nice touches like real milk ( in a flask) in the rom for tea making.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Amongst the rolling hillsides of the beautiful peak district you find a hidden gem of a hotel !!! Pack Horse inn. Amazingly helpful and accommodating staff and beautiful rooms and AMAZING service.
This is my second visit to this hotel and I will keep coming back time and time again. This will meet every need to a romantic location to comfortable business trip. Prices to suit everyone's budget.
I stay in alot of hotels due to the nature of my job and without a doubt this is the finest so far.
Restaurant services stunning well prepared and presented food. I give this 5*
you cant go wrong ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Mills
8.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
5.8 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
24.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#9 of 160 in Peak District National Park
299 reviews
11.2 mi away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pack Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pack Horse Inn

Property: Pack Horse Inn
Address: Mellor Road | High Peak, Peak District National Park, New Mills SK22 4QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > New Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pack Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn , family owned for over thirty years. Located on the edge of the Peak district yet convenient for Manchester, Stockport and Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Pack Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pack Horse Hotel New Mills
Pack Horse Inn New Mills, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing