We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A twinkling gem of luxury overlooking New Mills”
Review of Pack Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pack Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 New Mills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A twinkling gem of luxury overlooking New Mills”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A really nice inn clean, friendly and excellent pub food. This is probably one of the best places to stay for miles around. Easy access to the airport but in a beautiful rural location. It couldn't have been better - very friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally fantastic, upgrade yourself for a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaellaCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    59
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
190
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at this inn Room 12 last night.
What a stunning room, they have thought of everything. A bowl of fresh fruit, massive selection of drinks. The bed was amazingly comfortable and really peaceful nights sleep.
On arriving the staff where really friendly. The only thing i would say, would be breakfast could have been served a little later, may up to 10.30

Thanks again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netty67scouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here for one night after searching internet for country pubs.Our room was over the kitchen lovely and big bathroom all the toiletries you could want also fruit in the room .The bar was very busy as there were parties there a lovely atmosphere the staff very friendly we ate at night the lamb Henry to die for and my hubby's steak excellent in the morning breakfast all you could eat .The outside areas were lovely and lovely views what more could you want for a perfect weekend Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnyStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Met up with my sister whom I hadn't seen for some years. We stayed overnight & were made very welcome. Rooms opposite each other at the end of the corridor were both excellent. Mine had the view, But my sister who lives in Spain appreciated the extra warmth of the room over the kitchen. We had an excellent dinner, which we chose to eat in the bar, having got comfortable there. A good range of wine & several real ales of varying strength on hand pumps. Very good tray of a range of teas & coffers in the rooms, as well as some quality biscuits. Comfortable beds, good shower & spotlessly clean, all for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Staying out with work a lot you get to stay in a variety of places. The Pack Horse has out shone them all! The place was spotlessly clean, my room comfortable with proper milk and a tea pot as well as fresh fruit and free internet.
The bar had two open fires which were roaring away, great pub food and 4 real ales on tap. I tried two which were well kept. My evening meal was excellent and breakfast was too. Staff where friendly and it was all good value as well. I could not fault the place, it really was first rate.
I have stayed in some up market hotels that could learn a lot from the Pack Horse- It was just so clean!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etna, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I were looking for someplace to stay while visiting the Peak District and came across this place while searching on-line. I must say I was completely impressed...lovely, comfortable accommodations with some of the best views around. A delightful selection of teas and biscuits in the room...and the complementary fruit bowl was a nice touch. We didn't get the chance to eat Dinner at the Inn, but the breakfast the next morning was fabulous, with locally sourced meats. The friendliness of the staff was incredible--these folks know what customer service is all about. We're already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: Book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Yorks, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Nice bar and restaurant with 4 real ales - all superb.
Comfortable rooms with bright, modern bathroom. Very clean. Free internet.
Bowl of fruit and flask of milk in room - nice touches.
Staff made me a take-out sandwich as we had to leave before the morning fry up - excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardNYorks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Mills
8.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
17.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
3.9 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#8 of 160 in Peak District National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
11.2 mi away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pack Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pack Horse Inn

Property: Pack Horse Inn
Address: Mellor Road | High Peak, Peak District National Park, New Mills SK22 4QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > New Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pack Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn , family owned for over thirty years. Located on the edge of the Peak district yet convenient for Manchester, Stockport and Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Pack Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pack Horse Hotel New Mills
Pack Horse Inn New Mills, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing