We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Pack Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pack Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 New Mills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights 29th and 30th of March, we had a brilliant time the food was great, all the staff were extremely friendly. The room was brilliant. Beautiful surrounding. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Inn to others. Cath and Steve from Coventry.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the executive suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

The room (room 6) was reasonably large and quite pleasant and well equipped. The bed was good (not so sure about pillows!) and the bathroom excellent. Pity that we looked out on builders' huts which were not very attractive!
Staff try hard to make the stay enjoyable and are very helpful. Breakfast was good - but ends at 9.30 which was a problem on Sunday morning for us when the clocks went forward an hour. But the staff were very good and we still ate.
Wi-fi was a problem in our room at first but that seemed to be resolved by the time we left. Had a good meal in the restaurant at reasonable prices.
We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked here because we had read the good reviews on Trip Advisor, and it didn't disappoint.
Spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, friendly staff, very good food - perfect for a short stay in this part of the country. It's very traditional in terms of its style and food menu, so not for the ultra-trendy, but anyone wanting a good old-fashioned pub/bed&breakfast experience will enjoy this place. Certainly the best B&B we have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are very quiet, and have a nice view out onto the garden/patio - although may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at this Inn, and we were so pleased we chose it for our anniversary.
We booked in at the bar and were shown immediately to our room which was in a suite of rooms that resulted from a barn conversion to the Inn. The room was well furnished, very clean and bright. These was a bowl of fresh fruit, bottled water, a selection of coffees and teas, and a flask of cold milk. There was also a very adequate supply of toiletries.
We managed to get a table in the restaurant although this was due to a previous customer cancelling so I do suggest that a telepohone booking is made before arrival.
The Inn is open all through the day so we spent a leisurely afternoon in front of one of the fires in the bars.
The bars are just what you would expect in a countryside inn; warm and welcoming.
All of the staff were so friendly, and also sincere in their readiness to help and understand your needs.
The meal in the restaurant was excellent and could not be faulted. The breakfast had a very full choice - Fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurts, porridge, and the main breakfast was well provided and had a good selection on the menu.
To conclude, we had a very restful day and overnight stay and look forward to a return visit. Oh one last thing, the views were tremendous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottinghamJohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great for informal atmosphere and pub style good food by the fire. Real ales available. The older rooms are now feeling a bit dated and could do with a refurb. Excellent breakfast and we enjoyed walking from the door.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Pack Horse Inn is situated near enough to Stockport to be a business hotel but situated high up in the Peak District and as I woke up in daylight it is in a beautiful setting. What it is, is a warm and welcoming Inn. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bar is CAMRA listed and therefore the beer is good. The food choices are extensive with local ingredients where possible. The breakfast service starts at 07:30 but at my request was ready at 07:30 as I had an early start. The room was cozy, with en suite. My only two minor gripes were that the pillows were lumpy and need replacing and ideally there should be a power shower rather then the bath mixer tap one that is currently there. Overall a very good stay and so much nicer then a faceless corporate hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamo6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A really nice inn clean, friendly and excellent pub food. This is probably one of the best places to stay for miles around. Easy access to the airport but in a beautiful rural location. It couldn't have been better - very friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally fantastic, upgrade yourself for a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaellaCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Mills
8.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
5.8 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,155 reviews
3.9 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#7 of 160 in Peak District National Park
327 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pack Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pack Horse Inn

Address: Mellor Road | High Peak, Peak District National Park, New Mills SK22 4QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > New Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Mills
Price Range: £73 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pack Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn , family owned for over thirty years. Located on the edge of the Peak district yet convenient for Manchester, Stockport and Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Pack Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pack Horse Hotel New Mills
Pack Horse Inn New Mills, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing