We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, tasty food and comfy rooms! ”
Review of Pack Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pack Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 New Mills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We have just been in the Peak District visiting our grandma in disley. We chose to stay at the pack horse inn because we had stopped here for lunch on a previous visit and as well as having the best roast lamb ever the views were beautiful. We stayed for two nights and it was lovely. The breakfast was great and the rooms very cosy and comfortable. We had some issues with hiring a car but the staff were super helpful and organised taxis for us when needed and one time the chef even drove us into town. We also went on some lovely local walks. Really recommend the pack horse inn if you're visiting the Peak District, if not for an overnight stay then at least for a meal or drink.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sofie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Pack Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked this hotel for a night away for our anniversary and really enjoyed it.
The beer garden was landscaped really nice and they had a good choice of hand pulled ales.
the room was really clean and nice - if the bath had been a spa bath it would have been the icing on the cake.
what i thought was great was that it wasn't noisy in the room - nothing from the pub downstairs or clatter of the kitchen at breakfast time :-)
the pub food was great including home made banoffee pie! prices were reasonable for the quality of the food and wine wasn't too expensive - we phoned ahead for reservations which i would recommend as its a small restaurant and very popular.
i cant comment on the surroundings as we didnt explore - instead driving to castleton en route home, which was about 20 mins away.
the breakfast the next day was really good - you get to choose your own cereals and fruit etc and then to select something cooked off the menu. the staff were really nice and offered to fetch more juice/coffees etc when needed.
if you want a chilled, quiet evening away i cant recommend highly enough!!!

Room Tip: make reservations in restaurant beforehand
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bladette1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I eat and drink here a few times a year, and never have any complaints.

Great, honest pub food at a reasonable price. A good selection of ales. Friendly staff. The pub has traditional decor and a good atmosphere. The pub is situated in a nice location with great views from the front of the pub.

This is how a public house should be, if I was a traveler I would be very happy to spend a night here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

........ in common with local councils here in N. Ireland, Derbyshire Co Council really needs to get its act together vis-a-vis obscured road signs: and I'm not joking about the satnav. One day we drove the same circle 4 times trying to find our turn. The lady on the gps is "named" Serena & the robotic voice was getting louder & louder! Strange how a robot can do that!!! Rant over.
We loved the Packhorse Inn A warm welcome, super staff, lovely rooms. Daughter was upstairs in the prettiest room I've seen in a long time. Jim & i were on the g/f with walk-in shower. very clean, comfortable & well-equipped. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, bottles of Buxton water & scrummy biscuits, together with fresh fruit & boiled sweets. There was also a small thermos for those active souls who walked the high peaks. Breakfast was great. I can heartily recommend the croissants! Dinner was excellent--fresh fish every day plus beef, chicken, curries. The chocolate orange torte is to die for. greedy pig that i am, i had it every time I wanted a pud!!!

Room Tip: upper room had more light, but the g/f is disabled friendly
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary_craig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having struggled to find somewhere other than a chain pub open for food at 3pm on a Monday, we called the Pack Horse and were pleasantly surprised to learn that they serve right through the day. We weren't disappointed with our choice. Starters were all very tasty and good portion sizes. The mains were also of a good quality, and accomodation was made for our request for variation on the sides. Very happy, already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Went Saturday evening for a meal it was very nice. Been a few times always very nice. The food is very good quality . one thing l would say needs altering is the seating in the dining room chairs not comfortable. Not the only one said so couple next too us was saying the same.

Room Tip: Did not stay the night
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The inn is in a beautiful location. The staff were all lovely and the service we received whether it be checking in, in the bar or at breakfast was first rate.
The bar has a nice selection of drinks. The food served was a very high standard. Vegetarian options weren't great with no vegetarian specials available while we stayed. However the inn redeemed themselves with an excellent veggie cooked breakfast every morning.
The room had everything we needed. There was a wide variety of teas and other hot drinks. Fruit was provided daily (some of it past it's best unfortunately) as well as sweets and biscuits. Good selection of toiletries.
Sadly I found the room a bit tired and it would benefit from a refurb given that there is visible water damage on some walls and the ceilings of the bedroom and shower room as well as questionable stains around the toilet. I also found the noise from the above rooms very loud.
Despite this we had a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend this inn to others. I'd be very happy to stay here again though I would stay in one of the superior or executive rooms rather than the standard rooms.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the superior or executive rooms. Choose an upstairs room if you're a light sleeper...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkslass69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Mills
8.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
5.8 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
24.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#8 of 160 in Peak District National Park
316 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
2.2 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pack Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pack Horse Inn

Address: Mellor Road | High Peak, Peak District National Park, New Mills SK22 4QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > New Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Mills
Price Range: £67 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pack Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional inn , family owned for over thirty years. Located on the edge of the Peak district yet convenient for Manchester, Stockport and Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Pack Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pack Horse Hotel New Mills
Pack Horse Inn New Mills, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing