We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bulls Head

The Bulls Head
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Repton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hubby and I visited over the Easter weekend for a meal, we had booked online on advance so no concerns about getting a table, the car park was pretty full even at 12.30pm on a Saturday! Silly as it sounds, we were a little uncertain on the entrance location as we haven't visited before, but we went to the right place! Attentive service through out, without feeling overbearing, and the food? It was AMAZING! We both tried the burgers as we wanted to eat together and we were advised that if one had pizza and the other main menu items there could be a difference in service times. Great value all in really. Only minor thing which I noticed afterwards was that the £1 deposit you have to pay to book wasn't taken off the bill, but my fault for not checking I guess!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma_and_Lee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,401
    395
    153
    113
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All pubs should be like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were looking for a quick bit to eat before heading back to Nottingham for the evening and were recommended to come here. It did not disappoint and although it was all but packed to gunnels (at 6 pm on a Tuesday evening) we found a small table to fit the three of us and ordered food from both the Pizza and full menus.
Although we were told that these might have differing cooking times the food arrived within 20 minutes and was of excellent quality.
The only problem i have with this pub is that it is too far from home!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is our local so views may be biased! As a modern day pub it can't be beat. Excellent food be it from the Pizza or 'restaurant' menu - best if you're eating to book in the garden room.

Pub and beer garden (in the summer) have an excellent atmosphere and vast selection of booze. They always seem to be one step ahead of future trends! It is busy usually all of the time, but then that's because its good and who wants to go to the pub when its empty?

Don't expect restaurant standards, its always been marketed as a pub and as a pub i haven't been to anything better! - many a family member or friend will testify to the same!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeRMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This has got to be one of the best places for pizza - and good quality bar food as well. We have been here many times and based on the quality of the food and value for money, its hard to beat. Always difficult to choose what to have, and generally opt for pizza - but half with one topping, and the other half another topping. Have never been disappointed! The other menu is just as good, with the fish & chips being the largest and tastiest fish & chips we've ever had - its actually hard to finish it even for those with a larger appetite. You need to book unless there are only a couple of you when you stand a chance of getting a table in the bar if you wait long enough. The garden room (marquee) and the restaurant are equally as nice and take bookings in advance. Cant wait to go again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton Upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We go quite often not living too far away and this occasion like all others never disappoints. There were 13 of us and this number posed no problem in the service we received. The staff are excellent. Polite and efficient. Excellent food in a perfect ambiance. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew_hewitt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bulls Head also viewed

Repton, Derbyshire
Willington, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing