We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit and won't be the last!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bulls Head

The Bulls Head
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Repton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
907 reviews
562 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
“First visit and won't be the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have heard so much about the Bulls Head from friends and family so it was great to try it out for the first time.

It was Saturday lunchtime so had made a booking as it's popular at weekends. Nice big car park and then as you approach it you appreciate you can either go into the main building or the marquee area (which is where our table was). They have done a great job giving it a different atmosphere with the artificial trees and bushes - really breaks the area up nicely.

Service was nice, friendly and efficient throughout. Menus are massive - one for pizzas and one for the rest. If you like lots of things you will spend a good while choosing from the large list. As we live in Italy we decided not to go for pizza but they did look amazing and very authentic.

3 of us chose the fish and chips and my son the belly pork. The waitress warned us the fish would be large - and it was - largest pieces we've ever seen. Came delivered in a tray with isome nice chips, mushy peas and home made tartar sauce. We all struggled to eat it all and certainly didn't have space left for a dessert! My sons belly pork was also excellent - good deep piece of pork with a good piece of cracklings on the top.

Overall this was a great lunch and we left very full and already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,401
    395
    153
    112
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always 5 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I have been here loads of times and the food and service is consistently amazing. Great quality food that's home made and sources ingredients locally. Great for a casual meal in their beer garden or a classy meal upstairs in the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Hannah123182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
169 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Outstanding !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have visited the Bulls Head a few times, both the restaurant, beer garden and bar area. It is always of a good standard, and we enjoy the atmosphere in the bar.
We visited on Sunday afternoon and managed to get a table near the bar. The food we had was some of the best 'pub' we have had anywhere - we were blown away with the quality of the presentation and taste. The pub and garden was exceptionally busy, but the service remained attentive and friendly.

We ate….

Camembert with breads (to share), The flatbreads were so light and crispy, drizzled with olive oil and scattered with Rosemary .

We had Fish and Chips, not sure why on a Sunday?! Sooo glad we did. They were presented in a wooden crate, with an individual vinegar bottle, homemade tartare sauce (really good) and mushy peas. Oh and thick chunky chips. The fish was pure white and flakey encased in a fantastic light crispy batter.

I was full half way through, but couldn't stop eating.

Well Done Bulls Head!

Cant wait to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank feebee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on trent
Level Contributor
176 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Service let it down.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Party of six on a very busy Friday evening. My first but certainly won't be last visit, great atmosphere in whole of pub. We had a really nice table in the garden room, tables set well apart.
Really good menu, with loads of choice, and good prices. beer choice was good, the homemade lemonade served in a jam jar looked interesting.
Food was well presented and extremely tasty, although parts of my wife's pizza was very burnt.
Now the reason I couldn't score higher, the service as I have said earlier it was very busy (nothing unusual there I understand). What was disappointing was that we asked for desert menus after our main course and twenty minutes later they still hadn't arrived, they must must be making a fortune if they cannot be bothered to serve desert. Thankfully they did manage to bring the bill!
Perhaps it was just because they were so busy that things went wrong, will try again to see if it's a one off.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank runningram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic! My favourite place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have been here on numerous occasions, mainly for birthday celebrations and with smaller parties. The Bulls Head is my favourite place to eat in Derbyshire! The pizza is amazing and has a proper wood oven. The prices are brilliant especially for the size of the pizza's! I love the pub menu as well, it's all brilliant local and well cooked food. The atmosphere is amazing, especially downstairs near the bar/pizza oven. I would highly recommend sitting outside on summer nights as the garden is lovely and well kept. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to help! The presentation of the food is excellent and made the food appear even more delicious (which it was). The pub is extremely popular and I would highly recommend booking before a visit with a large party. When I have gone with smaller parties it was very easy to find a table! Absolutely fantastic, a hidden gem!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank albcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bulls Head also viewed

Repton, Derbyshire
Willington, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing