We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Overpriced”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hardstoft
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Famous Shoulder
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardstoft
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely Overpriced”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

For the price of £120 per night it was very basic. We had room 1 which I believe is considered the best room. When my wife used the bathroom the door handle came off in her hand. When I used the shower water was leaking from within the unit and running down the wall. The bathroom was very poorly laid out and the shaving light wasn't above the mirror. For the price and being rated at 4 stars I would have expected a biscuit to have with my tea. On the plus side the three girls that worked behind the Bar, waited on table and cleaned the rooms were very helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. When I mentioned the problem with the room next morning we were moved to room 3 which was smaller, had a better laid out bathroom but the shaving light here didn't work. I didn't enjoy the breakfasts. They made there own sausages (pork and beef I think) and black pudding. I normally enjoy both but they were awful so we didn't have a full English on the second morning. Unfortunately there was different staff on the Sunday morning and where there had been fruit and yogurt put out Saturday there was none on Sunday so the breakfast was rather sparse. The evening meals were also disappointing and I felt their ambition was not matched by their capability. The rooms were clean but only worth about £75 per night and I would have expected a better breakfast even at that price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    19
    4
    15
    8
See reviews for
17
39
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I really dont understand this place, the reviews on here are such a mix of good and bad, but in my case I can only add more bad !!

I stayed recently and the room was fine, basic, but fine. However, the food menu for guests is "restricted" and expensive.

The food was okay, a bit cold, and the service was rubbish.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We have followed reviews on the Shoulder for some time preparing for a meeting of good friends for a weekend meet up. I despair somewhat at some people who have criticised this establishment. Our group of 8 booked out the four rooms at a very reasonable price for bed and breakfast. After a three hour drive we arrived to a VERY Friendly greeting. The rooms are adequate, yes a bit basic but fine for our stay. A vast array of ales available at competitive prices. Friendly locals in the bar. Food was EXCELLENT throughout our stay and we all agreed the cost was VERY agreeable. The staff were SUPERB, always available for a chat and a smile on their faces. Maybe we went to a differnt Famous Shoulder to others that have place negative reviews but from our stay we have nothing but good comments to place on this site and we will be returning. Visited Chatsworth House during our two night stay.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which is fine, room 2 is bigger and has a bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackpoolWillows2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I would just like to say that i have left my details with the staff numerous times for them to get back to me about having my wedding party here next year! There was no attempt to contact me what so ever and after reading the other reviews i am so pleased to say i have booked somewhere else with brilliant food and service! What a shame that this once welcoming nice country pub has turned into something that should be on ramsay's kitchen nightmares! Dont waste your time or money!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjwmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We haven't been here for a meal for a few months apart from visiting for the odd drink so we decided to go again after enjoying the last meal back in January. I have read some of the more recent negative reviews and I have to say I disagree with them whole-heartedly. We were greeted with a smile and shown straight to our table. The menu is in the process of being changed but there was a good selection available.

The starters we chose were presented wonderfully and the tastes were superb. The main course which followed was also up to an excellent standard. Although there doesn't seem like there is a lot on the plates they are suprisingly filling and I am no stick man :)

We had a lovely evening there and would certainly recommend it. Our Waitress that started serving us was very pleasent and cheery and later our table was cleared by a guy that works behind the bar and he was also very nice and cheerful.

They are serving a Strawberry beer at the moment and it is amazing.

We cannot say a bad word about this place. Give it a try, we're glad we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We dined here last week with a few friends and really cannot fault it.

The girl serving us was very attentive, the sofas where we had a drink to start off with were that comfortable we could of stayed there all night, the food was TO DIE FOR!!! The selection of beers were interesting and very good and we loved the wines!

The only thing I could say about this place is it could do with being a little busier, I can understand it is slightly out the way, but it really is worth the trip! A taxi for us wasn't that much or stop in the hotel!

Very pleased with our experience here

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for my girlfriend's birthday after visiting nearby Hardwick Hall.

The food was excellent. There was a good choice, and some very innovative dishes. The 12 hour pork that some reviewers have mentioned is now 36 hour pork and was so tender I could have eaten it with just a spoon. Some of the best pork I have ever tasted. My girlfriend loved her salmon too.

Given the standard of the food, it was surprising that there weren't many people in for a Saturday night (only us and two other tables), and that meant it had quite a subdued atmosphere. That would be my only criticism though. The staff were friendly and the bar had a good selection of ales.

We stayed in one of the rooms which was very comfortable. We weren't disturbed at all by the drinkers downstairs, as some reviewers have said.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChappyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hardstoft
6.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
2.7 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
216 reviews
7.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
247 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,540 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Famous Shoulder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Famous Shoulder

Property: The Famous Shoulder
Address: Deep Lane, Hardstoft, Chesterfield S45 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Hardstoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardstoft
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Famous Shoulder Hotel Hardstoft
The Famous Shoulder Hardstoft, Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing