We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub with rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shoulder at Hardstoft
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardstoft
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great pub with rooms”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Excellent choice of ales, very good evening meal and breakfast, clean rooms. The bathroom could have been a bit better (cracking paint and only an electric shower) and curtains on the windows would have helps (overlooking car park and main road) but otherwise faultless. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LU_11584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    20
    4
    16
    8
See reviews for
17
42
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Six of us just spent a w/end at The Shoulder and had an extremely pleasant stay. Our room was large, clean and comfortable, the atmosphere in the bar was very 'puby' saturday afternoon, whilst watching the cup final, but more 'restauranty' in the evening.
Both dinner and b'fast were excellent but the thing that really stood out was the service which, from arrival to departure was first rate. The young staff were friendly, funny and efficient; they could certainly teach lots of places how it should be done.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed on a Monday evening the place was fairly quiet but the food and ale was great.
Started with Scallops in a chilli and lime butter and went for the belly pork for main,great presentation and tasted lovely washed down with a nice pint of Crazy horse.
The room was nice, spotlessly clean and in character with the pub nice view of the ewes in oppisite field with their young lambs,the only drawback was the traffic noise from the week day commuters,
Breakfast was good and the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontycarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Having read the varied reviews for The Shoulder, some negative but most positive, I thought the only way to find out what it is really like is to go. Pleasantly surprised, the service was excellent and the food was very good. It was the Sunday set menu from which you could have a two or three course meal. Beef, lamb, pork or a salmon dish were on the main course. There is a varied starter menu and if you can manage the third course, an excellent selection of desserts.

The chicken liver pate and the smoked salmon & prawn cocktail starters were fabulous. We chose beef and lamb for our main courses, the beef came with roast potatoes and a Yorkshire Pudding and the Lamb with mashed sweet potato, the dishes were well cooked and delicious. They were accompanied by brocolli, mange tout, French beans, red cabbage, roast parsnips and swede, again all cooked perfectly. The only criticism is the plates could have been warmed as the food soon became cold.

The Shoulder is beautifully decorated and comfortably furnished, it was a cold day and snowing but the log fire in the main lounge and the log burning stove in the dining area were keeping the place lovely and warm. I can't speak for the hotel side of the establishment but I would certainly recommend the restaurant and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_elaine_bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I went to the shoulder recently with friends, having had a bad experience before, I just had a drink, whilst they tucked into lunch.
I still cant believe how poor this place can be, it must be run on the flip of a coin - today we will serve good food and good service, or not...............I must go on the NOT days......
The food served was apparently dry and luke warm...........I could see the service was poor.

Interestingly the Environmental Health recently scored this place as poor, not good food safety practices and little confidence in management - worth a look on their site before you eat anywhere...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marktNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

People need to start realising how good this place actually is!

2rosette restaurant, great wine selection and local aleas in a well designed comfy restaurant or seperate bar area in the middle of the country side. However whenever I seem to go its just that little bit quiet!

I can safely say this place offers some of the best food I've ever had, especially in derbyshire. Give it a go, you really wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I've lived in the area for over 10 years and I've seen this pub change hands quite a few times in that period - sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse.
With that in mind I called in a few nights ago, and was pleased to see its definitely on the "up" again... Excellent choice of beers - some great local ones at bargain prices - try a pint of Bakwell Best for £2.50 a pint... Lovely beer, at working mens club prices!

Throw in a lovely decor, wood burning fire and you get the picture - as good a pub you would want to find yourself in on a cold winters evening!

Now the food - We went tonight after enjoying the drinks a few nights ago... And again - another enjoyable evening. Menu is not too extensive - but thats probably a good sign that someone is cooking the food in the background, rather than pressing a few microwave buttons... Anyway, tonight I had the sirloin steak burger, and my partner had the pork belly; Both fantastic. Not sure about the dodgy wooden bistro style plate mine was served on (far too London chic for my liking), but I'm being very picky now - the food was great. And I do love the beer and open fire on a cold winters evening.

If you have not been to the pub for a while I urge you to try it (again). I did and I'm glad I did.

PS> This is a pub and restaurant review - I've never seen the rooms or stayed overnight, so most of the questionaire about rooms, etc was a N/A from me.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_traveller_dw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hardstoft
2.7 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
224 reviews
6.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
776 reviews
7.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,595 reviews
6.6 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#12 of 15 in Chesterfield
247 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoulder at Hardstoft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoulder at Hardstoft

Property: The Shoulder at Hardstoft
Address: Deep Lane, Hardstoft, Chesterfield S45 8AF, England (Formerly The Famous Shoulder)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Hardstoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardstoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Shoulder at Hardstoft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Famous Shoulder Hotel Hardstoft
The Shoulder At Hardstoft Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing